We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner and music!”

The Lantern Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #30 of 205 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We had the most awesome time at The Lantern! The food was incredible! The best She Crab Soup I've ever had! The Hot Cheese Dip appetizer was amazing! The fresh tuna was something I will definitely order again. The service was top notch. So friendly and efficient! I can't wait to go again. The music alone was worth the trip. David, the singer, was wonderful!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbcrowder, General Manager at The Lantern Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Thank you Jackie!! We love it when are regulars come and spend the evening with us! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Took the misses there for dinner. The gentleman singing was incredible. The service was nothing less than perfect. And the food was great.

Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbcrowder, General Manager at The Lantern Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Thank you Charlie for the review. Glad everything was to your liking, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

We visited this restaurant and bar and found a real treasure. We were welcomed by the owners and seated immediately. Service was superb and timely. My husband had a steak and I had the crab cakes; his steak was perfect and the crab tasted fresh from the coast. The wine selection is broad and top level. Must say though that I especially enjoyed the live music!
We will certainly return often!!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbcrowder, General Manager at The Lantern Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed you dinner and the music! We are looking forward to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

very poor beverage service, didn't know their wines, many on the list they did not have, classic martini was not even average, and then the food, crabcakes presented in a nasty saute pan with a pot holder on the handle, average at best with a $26 price tag, shrimp and grits had a lesser quality shrimp and i swear the grits were instant with that soupy consistency, dining room needs attention and some repair, thought we would give it a try but "Once was Enough" to bad!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DFH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbcrowder, General Manager at The Lantern Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Firstly, thank you for your feedback. We certainly regret that your experience was not per expectations; however, we believe several corrections need to be made. We take great pride in our wine list; the owners, along with management have selected, tasted and approved all wines. Staff is trained related to quality, price and presentation. There were only two wines unavailable on our list due to seasonal restrictions. On the evening in question one of our owners attended to your needs. Had any complaint been lodged at that time, it would have been met with a swift remedial response. None were forthcoming. As such, reasonable inference was made that you enjoyed your meals. It was noted based upon review of our records that both in your party enjoyed the crab cakes to completion. These cakes are made with distinct care to reflect our internal values related to quality. Our position is simple, more crab, less cake. Interestingly, that very evening of your attendance we received accolades from a fellow dinner who stated “those were the best crab cakes, ever.” The grits are certainly not instant. To the contrary, they are a milled grit which our owners selected from Charleston South Carolina; they have been very well received. With respect to the interior of the restaurant, we welcome all to view on our webpage. The restaurant is housed within a 137 year old structure once owned by a member of the infamous Jesse James gang. Careful attention to detail and preservation accompanied a strong renovation effort. For example, the mahogany doors which grace the entrance were hand made by a local master wood worker. Finally, concern arose by our owner when questions were lodged by you which were centered around a past employee of the restaurant. It appears that you have dined in our facility in the past and the perhaps some personal injection occurred with respect to our property based upon your acquaintance with a past employee. Nonetheless, we wish you well and appreciate you taking time to both visit and comment albeit we strongly disagree with your characterization.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

A previous visit here during the summer disappointed us because of the noise, inattentive wait staff, and other issues. The food, however, was basically good, just overpriced. We went again this week to give it a second chance...and because we had a gift certificate.
We arrived 10 minutes early for our reservation and the owner asked us to wait in the front parlour as she had just had 2 tables of walk-ins and did not want to overwhelm the kitchen. Two thoughts..make the walk-in customers wait,as we had reservations, or seat us, explain the situation to us and offer us a drink. Not a good start!
The decor has been improved a bit and it was a quiet evening. The wait staff was more professional.

The food...chef Casey is no longer with them, and we were told that they do not have a new permanent chef yet.
They start each person with a two bite morsel of banana bread which is outstanding, but all you get.
My husband's Caesar salad was almost all lettuce and croutons with very little cheese and dressing. His fault that he did not ask for more dressing, but their fault for serving it that way. Our friends had the shrimp and grits, which were outstanding and the pork tenderloin special, which my friend called "ok".
My husband was not overwhelmed by his blackened chicken and pasta. The most disappointing dish was the Crabcakes. They are a fraction of what is shown in the picture...actually both of them would not equal one of the ones in the photo, and they were not cooked fully.
Dessert was on them...thank you ..nice large slice of cheesecake and and a smaller pice of chocolate torte.

The meal is fairly expensive as they are placing themselves in the fine dining category, but they just did not live up to it.

Thank Tomlin2232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbcrowder, General Manager at The Lantern Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you for dinning with us a second time. Our records reflect that you and your guests arrived early; in an effort to accommodate you we extended an invitation for you to enjoy our parlor. We felt this was in your best interests and thought you would prefer to wait in comfort until your table was ready. Once your table was open we seated you at your reserved time and provided immediate and detailed service. Our server indicated that your food was served in an appropriate manner and that no complaints were voiced at any time. Our standing policy is to review service at the end of each business day in order to assure customer satisfaction and quality. Currently we are enjoying a 95% residual patronage which sends a strong message of customer satisfaction; however, we have also learned that a sector of customers cannot be pleased despite our bests efforts. We believe that is not a reflection of our service or our food quality but rather a character trait associated with general mal-contentment. It would be our wish that you refrain from future visits; nonetheless, we certainly wish you well in your endeavors to find and enjoy the perfect establishment which best suits your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lantern Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Lantern Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing