We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveller rating
295
160
42
19
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
160
42
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waffles no elevator value for the money first floor fresh fruit would stay here again hard boiled eggs room was clean breakfast sandwich the breakfast area above average very nice stay great place to stay up to date convention center staff was friendly great price
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 524 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2018

We were given a room in a separate building from the main hotel which we didn't like at first but it was a short walk to the lobby which didn't really matter. We were there 4 nights on business. The staff was very friendly. The room had been restored and was really nice. The breakfast room was nicely furnished and the food selection was far greater than most hotels that have continental breakfast.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnnC576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanel O, General Manager at Best Western Hickory, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

Thanks a lot for the great review! We are always happy to hear great things about our breakfast. Hope to see you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018

Hotel was quiet, clean, smoke free, decent mattress not too firm, friendly. Great stop over on the way to the smokies. Breakfast included omelets, nice. Definitely a 5 star for the price point (nothing glamorous but no surprises).

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanel O, General Manager at Best Western Hickory, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Thanks for the review! Though we are an older building, we take a lot of pride in how we keep up with it! We do everything we can to keep it clean and looking like home. Come back and see us for breakfast anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018

Hello, I am a long time loyal Rewards Point customer and we visit the Best Western in Hickory, NC at least twice per year. We checked into room 112 on Saturday Oct 6. When we arrived, the room had a very strong peachy potpourri smell.

I went to the front desk and spoke to a woman and explained the concern. She said, "Oh my, they must have had a heavy hand when using the room freshener. I said, "OK" thinking room freshener would go away in a day. But no....it continued. Next day I mentioned it to the front desk, John, and he showed me the room freshener used, it was a spray bottle. I smelled it and it was a clean lemon smell, not the smell of peachy potpourri, not the same.

I also had the pleasure of not taking a shower one morning because the water in the shower was brownish red. When mentioned to front desk John, they said yes, Hickory is famous for doing repair work and not letting us know but don't worry it would go away soon. I could not wait, I had a meeting to attend.

As we were leaving, a maintenance worker was coming into the room with a little square pouch that he began to open. I said "WHOA" what is that, he said it was room DEODERIZER and that it is placed inside of the AC UNIT??!! It smelled just like the 3 day smell I had endured, the peachy potpourri smell.

So to summarize, the carpet is dirty and they need to update the place. Rooms are damp and I think they put the peachy potpourri package in the AC Unit to try o cover up the wet musty smell . You do not put such a thing in the AC unit, you could burn the place down. Very unsatisfied and felt they did not give me honest answers.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen M. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanel O, General Manager at Best Western Hickory, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2018

Thank you so much for bringing your issues with your room to our attention. And, again our apologies that your stay was not what you expected from the last time. The city of Hickory was working in the area causing the brownish water at our property and also affected others along this road. As far as the humidity in the rooms, this area has been extremely humid from all the rain and storms that has come to this area. We are working hard to find a solution for this issue. We do hope that next time you are in the area you will come back and see us and give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2018

Needed a quick stop over for a night that was dog friendly and this place did the trick. Upon check in we were greeted by the friendly staff and even given a treat for the four legged guest. Our room showed a little bit of wear but and there seemed to be an issue with humidity (when we woke up in the morning my sons homework papers were very wet as was his baseball glove and our clothes). Other than that small issue the room overall was very clean. The staff goes out of their way to treat everyone (dog included) like family. Great for a quick overnight stay.

Room tip: if you have a pet, call first to ensure you get an outside access room.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nshenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanel O, General Manager at Best Western Hickory, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Thank you for your review! We love seeing all guests come check in with us, from 0-4 legs! Though we are an older property, we definitely do all we can to keep it clean and comfortable! Thank you for letting us know about the humidity problem. We have notified our maintenance department about inspecting the weathering on each of the doors to prevent this from happening again! Thanks again for your rating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2018

The only issue is that many of rooms are external doors so as long as you are comfortable with that it is a good deal. The service was outstanding, very friendly, quick to respond and do what ever they could to help. Location was very good to restaurants and central to Hickory.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank bmillikan2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanel O, General Manager at Best Western Hickory, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Thank you for reviewing us! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, we want to make sure everyone feels like they are at home the moment they check in! Hope to see you visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews