We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Can't Wait to Go Back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Laurel Rest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highlands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Laurel Rest
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to Go Back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We just returned from a perfect relaxing weekend at Mountain Laurel Rest! My husband and I felt like we were visiting friends at their luxurious mountain home - so glad we chose to stay here! Dave and Janis are wonderful hosts! They went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. We had so much fun talking with them and the other guests over wine and hors d'oeuvres each night!

The property is brand new and very nicely done! Our suite was spacious and comfortable with a perfect private balcony overlooking a stream. And the steam shower was heaven! The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and enjoying them on the patio in the morning was such a great way to start the day. The location is close to Highlands, waterfalls & hiking, and restaurants and shopping.

We highly recommend Mountain Laurel Rest! It was hard to leave - and we look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlM0rgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    1
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We had a wonderful time. The owners, Dave and Janice, made us feel at home and like family from the moment we walked in the door. We had special dietary needs and they went out of their way to accomadate us. The evenings were filled with excellent conversation, snacks and wine. It felt as if we were coming back for a visit with old friends. Conversation was lively and we have not laughed so much with "strangers" before. Dave and Janice make the stay extremely enjoyable. The other couples were fantastic company as well.

The rooms were spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. TV is a large screen wall-mount with dish network access. Wi-fi internet is available at no extra charge. The rooms are about 700 square feet with large shower with dual shower heads and a stone floor surface.

Breakfast was an experience served when and where you would like it. The foods were fresh, flavorful and presented well.

We cannot say enough and we look forward to returning. If you have the opportunity, you cannot go wrong with this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walhalla, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Amazing accommodations with friendly owners. I felt right at home while being pampered at the same time. The rooms were well done with incredible views. Nestled right into the mountains you can hike the trails or head out shopping right up the road! Great food and wonderful conversation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brookenmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

This is a great location--up in the peace and quiet of the woods, yet only 10 or 15 minutes out of the town of highlands. My wife and I spent 2 nights here to celebrate our anniversary in August. We relaxed at the B&B but also drove around and checked out some waterfalls and did some shopping in the town.

Dave and Janis were our hosts. They were great! They gave us our privacy, but we also really enjoyed chatting with them a bit. They were helpful. It is obvious they have and are putting a lot in to this place--doubtless it will only get better!

The place is brand new, tastefully done, very spacious, and comfortable. The forest and its evening noises were right outside our windows and the room had a small private balcony that we could go out and sit on. Great bathroom, custom steam shower, living area, king bed, etc. Very well executed design.

Breakfast was delicious and fresh. We had it in our room one morning and out on the patio the next. It also seems Janis was ready with at least some sort of refreshment when we arrived/returned in the evenings.

Highly recommend. We hope to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcr22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

What a find! Our gracious hosts not only knew all the best restaurants but also special trails to walk and waterfalls to find. The rooms - wow! spacious with a balcony for sitting and listening to the babbling brook outside while gazing at their gardens and the trees. Food? Outstanding breakfasts and delightful wine and hors d'oeuvres hour with conversation and good music in the background. Don't miss this one! AND it would be a beautiful setting for a small wedding party as the grounds are gorgeous.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wetravel8336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed at the Inn for a weekend getaway at the recommendation of friends whom had stayed at Mountain Laurel Rest previously. The best recommendation was that they came with us on this trip. The stay was above expectation. Janis greeted us at the door as family members and immediately, we felt at home. The rooms are huge, the beds are very comfortable and Dave and Janis went out of their way to make sure that we were taken care of. The breakfast and late afternoon appetizers and refreshments were outstanding. It felt as though we were visiting family with all the attention and relaxed conversation. The Inn is conveniently located to shopping and restaurants in Highlands and the fantastic Smokey Mountain Center for the Performing Arts in Franklin, NC, where we went to a concert, as well as close to scenic drives and waterfalls.
Great place to stay at a great value. We booked another weekend getaway for October 2011 before we checked out to be pampered again

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious . You can not go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchman1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

While staying at Mountain Laurel Rest, we felt like special family who had come to visit. Dave and Janis Morgan are the perfect host and hostess who go out of their way to accomodate their guests. The rooms are spacious and beautiful and the location is excellent. We were served gourmet breakfasts and enjoyed our afternoon hors d'oeuvres. We can't wait until our next visit.
Meryl and David

Room Tip: All the rooms have same design
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank folala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
10.9 km away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
10.7 km away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
26.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
11.2 km away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
10.5 km away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Laurel Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Laurel Rest

Property: Mountain Laurel Rest
Address: 68 Shoal Creek Rd, Highlands, NC 28775-9307
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Laurel Rest's goal is to provide a place of rest and peace for seeking the Lord and focusing on His Word. Located minutes from Highlands, NC secluded in a hollow in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains, you will be able to explore God's creation. This area is full of beautiful places to walk, rest and meditate on the Lord. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing