We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and really couldn't find anything to complain about. The staff was very personable and accommodating, starting at check-in and continuing throughout our stay. Since we arrived early, our room wasn't ready but we were given a nice tour of both the hotel and the spa. While we waited for the room, we went down the road and had lunch at Wild Thyme, which was excellent. Then I tooled around the quaint downtown while my husband sat at Bucks Coffee shop (great cappuccino) and read.

Our room was definitely worth waiting for. It was a luxury spa suite (2 rooms) and was gorgeous...very tastefully decorated with a sitting room which had a beautiful fireplace and 2 large comfy chairs and ottoman. The master bedroom was very large and had an enormous marble bathroom with a rainfall shower and separate tub. The covered stone balcony was very spacious as it spanned both rooms. It overlooked the lovely church next door. Honestly, this was probably one of the nicest (if not the nicest) room in which we have ever stayed. After we got settled, we went to the library and got our complimentary glass of champagne. We didn't have any of the complimentary dove bars but they were tempting. The Inn itself is very old world and charming.

We had a lovely dinner at Madison's. Although it was very expensive, we were not disappointed with anything we had (Scallops over risotto and also the Halibut special). They also had some nice wines, which the wine guy (sorry I forget what his title is and no, its not sommelier). The wafer-like flatbread and pimento spread were mouth-watering. I'm still thinking about them. Also, the service was great. At the restaurant and throughout the hotel, they really try to make you feel special.

Our first night was an adventure as the fire alarm went off at 4:30 in the morning. We grabbed a jacket and then walked downstairs to exit the building. Someone from the hotel came immediately and checked it out, and told us it was okay to go back - false alarm. The next day when we came back from our spa appointments, there was a hand-written apology and a bottle of champagne for the inconvenience of the previous night. Although we were not expecting anything, this will stand out in my mind as one of those little things a top-notch hotel does to distinguish itself from the rest.

We had spa treatments the morning after the fire alarm and the couples massage relieved any stress caused by lack of sleep. Next time, I would book for 80 minutes since 50 minutes goes by very quickly. A hot cup of tea in the beautiful relaxation room afterwards capped off the experience. This was our first spa weekend, so I don't know how others compare, but I can't imagine they are much better than Old Edwards. The nice thing about going in the off-season is that it's not overly crowded.

The outdoor pool at Old Edwards is very pretty with a soothing water feature, nice lounge chairs and some gazebos which overlook the pool. It had just opened the weekend prior to our arrival. Even on a cooler day, it was great to sit and read a book by the pool.

Our second night we had dinner at Paolettis. We had reservations at 8:30 but were never seated until 9:00 (and this is the off-season). The vodka penne was pretty good. However, it was definitely overpriced (for the food, wine and the experience)...nothing overly special here.

As I mentioned, downtown Highland (couple of blocks) has some shopping. It seems, however, that a lot of the clothing shops are geared toward older women (as in senior citizens). I'm not saying it was cheap stuff, just kind of fuddy duddy...not much I would consider fashionable. However, I really liked Dutchmans, which has some neat home accessories and gifts.

The Mountain Fresh grocery store down the road from the hotel was great. We had lunch there one day and breakfast another. It's a nice offset to some of the more expensive meals we had and the food was very good.

The best thing about our 48 hours in Highlands was being able to park the car and never need it again until we left. Upon checkout, they gave us a bag with waters and fruit for the road...another nice touch. We will definitely come back.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugs53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,041
    101
    31
    15
    17
See reviews for
147
789
34
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The title of the review captures it best. Large and very comfortable rooms, wonderful spa, impeccable and friendly service, farm fresh food, and a uniquely unusual ability to take care of and surprise you with all of the little things that most hotels miss – and which differentiates a great hotel from its competitors. This may be one of the three best hotels I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the balcony rooms with a view. Get a room away from the corridor doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is one of the finest hotels around. Our room was very large and extremely comfortable. It opened to a private parlor shared only by the couple we were traveling with. Service is also top notch. Staff seems well trained and all were unfailingly friendly. They certainly added to our pleasant visit. Highlands is a neat little town in the Blue Ridge Mountains in extreme western NC. Flat landers flock to this area in the summer to escape the heat of the south. At more than 4,000 ft. Above sea level, Highlands is always much cooler during the summer than most of the deep south. The Old Edwards Inn's recent renovations and expansion has created a total upgrade for the Highlands area. It has a top rated spa and guests have access to the resorts semi-private golf course nearby. Lastly, Madison's, the hotels fine dining venue, is the best restaurant in a town with several surprising good places to dine.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank racar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stay in the newer section for larger rooms. By far one of the better food choices in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringgold, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Two nights here and my wife said she could live here. Rooms are not huge, but plenty big enough. We had a balcony overlooking Main Street. The people here are so nice from the time you walk in and they show you around. There is a butler's room on each floor with soft drinks, fruit, bottled water, coffee, tea, and my favorite Dove Ice Cream Bars, You have complimentary use of the fitness center and spa and the heated salt pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Con K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, TX
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at The Old Edwards Inn and Spa in June of last year. I regret that I did not write this review sooner, but I guess it's better late than never. This place truly deserves all the acclaim it has been receiving. We stayed at a corner cottage and we had our own patio. Our cottage was very clean, inviting and private. We especially loved the heated floors of our bathroom! It helped me get our bathing suits dry and ready to pack the day after. :) We were a few steps away from the 24-hour business center (which also houses the 24-hour pantry filled with Dove bars, fresh fruits, etc). We also availed of the Bliss for Two massage at the Spa. This is certainly a great way to get pampered! We were the last appointment for the day and we were in quite a rush because we came from the Biltmore Estate earlier that day. We just had a few minutes to spare before our scheduled appointment, and had I known what a luxurious place the spa would be, I would have totally reworked our schedule around it. Make sure you have plenty of time to spare because the pampering comfort of the shower, sauna and whirlpool bath in their locker room is an experience in itself! After your massage, while you're still in your plush robes, they give you time to sip tea in the spa patio with a view of the town. I have to note that the spa staff was incredible in making us feel that we could take our time doing this even though they were already closing down for the day. They allowed us to savor the full experience with the limited time that we had. This is definitely a trip that I would encourage couples, young and old, to take. Truly worth the trip and worth the price!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodlandfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelers Rest, SC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

If you have not been to Old Edwards Inn and Spa, you are missing out on a little bit of
Heaven right here on earth. You are pampered, but not bothered. The grounds are
beautiful, the rooms are beautiful and very spacey. The relaxation room is my favorite.
Everyone should go to this town at least once. Mayberry has to be modeled after Highlands. The town is quaint. All of the shops are worth visiting. This hotel is a must and
you will be hooked.

Room Tip: We love the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRrenegade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.4 km away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
211 reviews
0.0 km away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
174 reviews
3.0 km away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.6 km away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
94 reviews
0.4 km away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Edwards Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Property: Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Address: 445 Main St, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Edwards Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Edwards Inn and Spa sits atop the beautiful southwest plateau of North Carolina's Blue Ridge Mountains. The acclaimed European style resort fills several blocks filled with amenities, music, dining venues and individually appointed guestrooms, suites and cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Edwards Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Edwards Hotel Highlands
Old Edwards Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing