We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Highlands Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
200 Main(Highlands)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laurelwood Inn(Cashiers)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
91
46
16
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
46
16
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain streetfront porchfabulous locationthree nightsdesk stafffurnished with antiquesmiddle of townwater pressurewithin walking distanceshops and restaurantseach eveningprivate deckrocking chairsmountain fresh grocerycan't wait to go backmajorscharm
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 185 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2017

This is such a special place. It feels like you are staying in a friends old home. It is comfortable and they are always so friendly upon your arrival and all through your stay. We appreciate that it is an old building and find the age charming.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank NoReservations1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile

Wanted to take my husband somewhere out of the extreme heat so I selected Highlands NC. Great Choice! Temps mid 70's where they were 100 deg at home. I had some doubts about the Highland Inn after reading reviews and their 3 star rating but everywhere was booked so we decided to make the best of it. So glad we did bc the Inn was so nostalgic, and perfect for baby boomers. The Inn is convenient to everything and so we never had to move our car. The restaurants are all amazing and there were bands in the Town Square in the evenings. we even attended an auction across from the square! The people in the area are so friendly as well! Just a wonderful experience. I highly recommend the Highland Inn!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2017

This was a great location and without booking ahead we were lucky to have experienced the Highlands Inn. It is quaint, historical staffed with lovely people. The room #43 was a great looking room but the room smelled very very musty and the AC along with the room caused terrible congestion and it was very uncomfortable to stay. We stayed one night. I suggested to the staff to ensure the air filters have been changed and perhaps shampoo the rugs. But, all in all it is a great location and incredibly quaint hotel. Skip their breakfast and enjoy the local options. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BocaEla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2017

Across the street from Old Edward's Inn, we chose the 130 year old Highlands Inn so I could wander the town while my companion took the car to play golf. The Inn is spotlessly clean, includes a home prepared breakfast (8-10am) with 3 or 4 choices plus our room had a small balcony overlooking a lovely garden with ponds. They even provide warm cookies at 8 pm. Carl at the front desk multi-tasks and provided enthusiastic information and is a pleasure. I think the springs in the green chairs are original and could be updated.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2017 via mobile

This is an older hotel, with all the squeaks and creeks you would expect. It's had an "update" but who knows when. It has charm but accessories and a few antiques placed here and there don't bring it up to today's standards. The staff is friendly and welcoming. Breakfasts were average. Not a bad stay and a lot le$$ than the Old Edwards Inn. Right next door to one of the best restaurants in Highlands. Paoleti's!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank GordonK29455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews