We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Limestone cabin!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Limestone cabin!
The Limestone cabin! Limestone cabin!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The Limestone cabin!
The Limestone cabin!
Limestone cabin!
Great view of the French Broad river and the mountains!
A large porch to relax and enjoy the view!
View from behind the cabin.
Private hot tub changed after each guest.
Admire the craftsmanship!
Relax by the beautiful limestone fire place!
Queen size bed.
Downstairs bathroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hot Springs, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
martinisb...
Statesville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Getaway!”
Reviewed January 20, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a perfect cabin and location for a getaway. The cabin itself was so beautiful and it was in a great location. Very private, quiet, perfect...
The owners even left us a birthday card and cookies, which was so thoughtful.
My husband was excited to fish in the 3rd oldest river in the world, which is located right out your front door! After fishing, enjoy steaks off the grill and then relax in the hot tub and then curl up by the fireplace and watch a movie.
We were very surprised by the train and thought it to be very romantic. Not something you experience every day and I loved it! We put a few coins on the rail and took them home as souveniers :)
We look forward to staying at the Limestone again. Thank you Harold and Sadie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, hot tub, fishing, cabin
Liked least: queen bed (spoiled with a King at home)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomplicht...
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most relaxing vacation ever!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This will be a fairly comprehensive (i.e., long) review, so I’ll begin with the bottom line so you don’t have to read it all to get the overall picture. My wife and I (married 44 years) stayed at the Limestone Cabin for four days in July, 2014. Our stay was delightful—quiet, romantic, and relaxing. The cabin was beautiful, well outfitted, and scrupulously clean. It was the consummate vacation, and we will certainly being doing it again.

Now for the details. Unless you have a new GPS with the latest map updates, call Harold in advance for directions. Bing, Google maps, and Mapquest are not accurate—they all show an access road that does not exist. The first time you turn off highway 25/70 and start down the rather tortuous one-lane Boy’s Home Road, it can be quite disconcerting. After about a mile, it looks like you went the wrong way because the road changes from paved to gravel, to a rocky path which parallels the railroad tracks. Trusting my Garmin, I continued, but it was pure faith because it just didn’t look right. The path twisted and turned but fortunately we passed a couple of cabins so we kept pressing on. Finally, when the path looked like it was about to end, we reached 1630 Boy’s Home Road. I certainly would not advise trying to find the cabin in the dark your first time around, but after you do it once it is really not that big a deal.

If you are coming up from Asheville, I’d recommend you stop off in Marshall at the Ingles supermarket and stock up. It is a large, clean, beautiful store easily the equal of any we have in Charleston. Marshall is a one-hour round trip, so you’re not going to want to make the trek too often. Gas up in Asheville or Weaverville. Regular was $4.22/gallon in Hot Springs. Almost got some just to say I'd spent >$4/gal for gas, but resisted the urge.

Hot Springs is a wide spot in the road (actually, the Appalachian Trail) which is a one-mile walk along the railroad tracks from the cabin. Not much there—a small general store which I didn’t go in and a fairly well equipped outfitter where I purchased the obligatory souvenirs.

No cell phone, no landline, no wi-fi. As someone who does most of my personal and business communicating using one of those modes, it was a bit of culture shock to be completely cut off. Got over it pretty quickly, though, and my need to stay in touch was assuaged by satellite TV. When I walked into town there was still no cell connectivity, but the library has free, open wi-fi access so you can let the folks at home know you’re okay. In fact, we didn’t get our cell phone connectivity back until we were a couple miles outside of Marshall on the way home. US Cellular is the principal provider in North Carolina so if you’re carrier is compatible maybe you won’t lose service. Ours is Sprint and it definitely did not work.

So what did we do for four days? For the most part, absolutely nothing, and it was delightful. We spend many hours just rocking on the front porch enjoying the spectacular view and talking or reading (make sure you have plenty of material on your e-reader--you won’t be able to download anything once you get there, at least not on the Kindle 3G service.) The train comes by about three times a day—believe it or not, we actually looked forward to its arrival. You will especially enjoy evening twilight when the forest sounds change from cicadas to tree frogs and the fireflies come out. It’s been many decades since I’ve caught fireflies and put them in a jar (thoughtfully provided by Harold). We saw some deer, what was either a muskrat or a beaver (didn’t get a good enough look at its tail), a couple bunnies, and a black and white cat that looked surprisingly well fed. Harold told us the woman who lives in the house about 500 feet up the mountain behind the cabin feeds him/her only the best cat food, so he/she was completely uninterested in the smoked ham lunch meat we offered.

As for humans, when we first arrived, there were a couple guys about 100 yards further down the “road” fishing in the French Broad River, but after they left on our first day there we didn’t see them again. We saw someone fishing across the river on two occasions; a young family with three preteens walked by along the railroad tracks the third day we were there, and an occasional group of kayakers passed by. Other than that, we didn’t see anyone for four days.

The hot tub was a welcome treat at the end of the day. Don’t know whether it’s the warm water, the romantic atmosphere, or the absolute feeling of solitude but I challenge anyone, no matter how long they’ve been married, not to get frisky in the hot tub.

The weather was delightful. It started out with highs in the 90s, but we were lucky enough to experience an atypical July cool down with temperatures in the mid 70s during the day and high 50s at night. Couple of rainshowers—it’s enjoyable fun to watch the storms come in over the mountains and then dissipate leaving wisps of fog rising from the valleys.

Stairs to loft are a bit steep, so be cautious if you're mobility impaired.

If you want exciting night life, stay in Asheville. If you want the most relaxing vacation of your life, I strongly recommend Limestone Cabin.

Oh yes, don't bring the kids or friends--you'll relish the alone time.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Solitude and, surprisingly, lack of cell phone and wi-fi
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smokymtng...
Clyde, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cabin. Very Peaceful and private. Would definitely stay again..it was as promised on web site. the porch was a great place to sit and listen to the rain and watch train go by..history of structure was interesting..

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: all of it, truly beautiful place and peaceful. porch was great as was jacuzzi.
Liked least: the only thing i can think of is maybe the bed..not quite as comofortable as mine at home, but still not a huge factor.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti G
Jonesborough, Tennessee
1 review
“Romantic & Beautiful!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

This was the first time in 20+ years my husband surprised me with a weekend getaway, perfect for Valentines! The cabin was beautiful and had everything we needed. The cabin was cozy and warm, we loved the fireplace and the jacuzzi! We were a little nervous when we seen the train tracks out front, but it was very much a wonderful addition to our stay! My husband and I look forward to returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion & quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnabnk
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“RELAXING!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Mr. Finley and his wife were so very helpful on the telephone and answered all of our questions before we arrived. The location of the cabin is secluded. It is a truly secluded getaway. We loved the fireplace and slept there all night. The cabin was warm and cozy. We could feel our stress drift away! The picnic area is beautiful. It's like a park there with all the mature trees along the river. We enjoyed our meals over there. We loved it and would like very much to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion
Liked least: No phone access...just for emergency
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2012
We appreciate you giving us the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for leaving the cabin is such great shape! Hope you can return again soon.

Happy holidays!
Harold and Sadie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saraphid
Austin TX
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a romantic cabin!”
Reviewed April 16, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I booked this cabin on line with Harold for our 25th anniversary trip to North Carolina then I crossed my fingers :-) It is absolutely adorable, the owner has thought of everything you could need and it is private! The fun part is you look out your front doors and there is a railroad track then the French Broad River. We are coming to realize 2012 is our year of the railroad and that's great! We put our pennies on the track, we walked the track, we loved the trains! Probably 3 a day came by and then another in the middle of the night. The house is so sturdy you don't hear the train coming! We saw tons of great train art and got lots of whistles blown when we waved. I thoroughly enjoyed the train being there and I did not expect to do so. The cabin has a great back porch with a hot tub and one night we watched the fireflies surround us with a show while we soaked. The kitchen is totally equipped and the fireplace is fine. The bedroom is in the loft with easy stairs and Harold even thought to put a little half bath up there (smart man!) We spent tons of time on the front porch in the rocking chairs watching the mountains 'smoke' and nature happen around us, it was so relaxing we loved Limestone cabin!! Hey it even comes with a cat. Check it out, you will be very pleased.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin is built of so many beautiful types of woods, we loved that!
Liked least: Just how much $ we spent putting on the train track to smash :-)
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Reviewed December 16, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing