We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for sleep and shower”
Review of Red Roof Inn Kenly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Kenly
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kenly
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Traveling from the Outerbanks on the way to Charleston we stopped at the Days Inn off the interstate in Kenly NC on June 30 2011. The hotel is easy to find, but it is next to a truck stop. Our room could have been cleaner and they didn’t have any queen bed, only 2 doubles. They blamed the lack of queen beds on our booking through Expedia. Also, when I asked for a receipt, again they “couldn’t” give me one since I had booked on Expedia. What? You can’t give me a receipt or anything?
The lobby was very worn and dirty and the “breakfast” was toast and your choice of two cereals. If you just need a place to sleep and shower, it’s good enough for that.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed at the Days Inn in Kenly for a night on our way to Florida and because we were traveling with extended family we rented 3 rooms. All of the rooms are very dated and the comforters are as old as I am (and I'm no spring chicken). One of the rooms had dead bugs on and around the sink basin. We spoke to management about it. They were more than gracious and offered to move us to another room. They explained that they have pest control in every 21 days and that the motel had just been sprayed 2 days prior to our arrival. We declined the change in rooms....after all the bugs were dead.
The air condidtioners could use replacing along with just about everything else in the motel but for what we paid, it's no wonder they don't fix anything up.
The motel is very close to the highway and that coupled with dirt cheap price was our reason for choosing this motel. Our rooms were located upstairs poolside so the noise from the highway was not an issue.
The mattresses were hard as a rock, so if you like a good firm mattress, you're in luck.
The pool was clean and we could smell chlorine so that too was a plus.
The breakfast consisted of muffins, frozen waffles, toast and cereal.
We had some good conversation with some of the truckers who frequent this motel and they were very nice.
The staff is also extremely nice.
Rooms were as clean as anyone could expect considering the dated furnishings, thin towels and stained carpets.
I would not suggest this motel for an extended stay, but if you are not picky and only plan to stay for an overnight it's ok for a one nighter.
Cheap, cheap, cheap and that was what we were looking for.
Also - there was a car on blocks in the parking lot when we stayed and we noticed that same car still in the parking lot a week and a half later when we drove past on our way home.

Room Tip: Always double check your reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCleaningLady1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My husband and I traveled from CA to NC for our daughters graduation in this small town, stayed 3 nights and selected Days Inn as our hotel as we had had good experience with this hotel chain in CA. The rate for the room was very cheap but we found out that you get what you pay for! As we drove up we noticed right away that the exterior was very run down and hoped that the interior would be better, WRONG! The rooms are very dated and had this odd smell to it. As you walk around the grounds don't be surprised to see roaches! Luckily we saw none in the rooms. The one plus about this place is the friendly service we received at the front desk and housekeeping. It was nice to get free Wi-fi and continental breakfast but BE AWARE, the breakfast is a first come first serve so once it's gone it's gone! We didn't get to have breakfast once while there. There are not many hotels to choose from in this town but we will definitely be trying a different hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celiayrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Stayed here for three nights in Feb of 2011. Rooms were clean, bathrooms were big, check in was a breeze, staff very friendly. If you are looking for a clean, safe, place to stay outside of Wilson this is perfect. Recomend it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshallender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Upon checking in at 9:05 on a Friday night, (7/23) I was told the pool closed at 9:00. After questioning why that early on a weekend I was told "Hotel Policy".
The breakfast are on the web page fails to show just how small it is. Seating for 12 people only. Again I questioned that and was told " People just take their food to their rooms" (more about breakfast latter)
From there we went to the 2 rooms we rented to find our door wouldn't open. Key card wouldn't even light. We waited 30 minutes for a mechanic to come. He took the key card reader apart. Telling us he had suggested just moving us to another room but the front desk manager said "No, They need to stay together." Surprised me. I made the reservations. NEVER asked to be next to each other. Just 2 rooms. Long story short in the over 50 minutes he spent sitting on our rooms floor fixing the lock, He also told us that the owner told them that they could keep the pool open until 10:30 or 11:00 depending on the need. A soccer club was in the week before us and he said he closed the pool at 11:00 for them. So now it's 10:25 and he puts our door lock back together (now working) and departs. We turn on the tv. and find the remote does not work. Called the desk at 10:30 - - Someone will be up.- My son tries his laptop- - WiFi does not work. 11:00 I called back to the desk to tell him forget about the remote, It's now too late.
BREAKFAST - - your choice of two kinds of mini doughnuts. Still half frozen and a breakfast cereal ( cheerios) I believe. Those 6 tables were filled and so was the mini sofa and chair in the so called lobby.
Then to add to my nightmare. Upon arriving home I had a message from the hotel. We left a bag of clothes in the room. I called that night for arrangements to get them back. Was told he had to talk to the owner to find out their policy. Three days later I called back again. Was told the clothes would be sent that day (7/27). TODAY - - two weeks later.(8/9) I just got off the phone with them again. OUR CLOTHES ARE STILLL SITTING THERE IN A BOX BEHIND THE DESK. They NEVER called, emailed anything to tell me they didn't. They have my home phone(they called to say the clothes were left) they had my cell number, my eamil, home address. But decided not to use any of those to let me know ,AFTER telling me that they shipped them, that there was any problems.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1331carson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

It was Days Inn. Very Clean and absolutely no frills. Bed hard as a rock and bed spread a bit worn but very clean including the carpet. Need to receive a fax and the clerk brought it to my room. Very Nice Staff.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mastcfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Lots of upkeep issues, no microwave in room. Really looks run down looking. Good place for trucker's but would not recommend for everyday person.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caterpuller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenly
0.5 km away
Motel 6 Kenly
Motel 6 Kenly
#1 of 3 in Kenly
42 reviews
18.0 km away
Country Inn and Suites by Carlson, Smithfield
15.5 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Selma
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilson
23.9 km away
Jameson Inn of Wilson
Jameson Inn of Wilson
#13 of 17 in Wilson
275 reviews
23.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Kenly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Kenly

Address: 1139 Johnston Pkwy, Kenly, NC 27542-7544
Region: United States > North Carolina > Kenly
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kenly
Price Range: $74 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Kenly 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pet-Friendly Red Roof Inn Kenly is conveniently located off of I-95, 2 miles from downtown Kenly. This hotel is a short drive from many local attractions such as the Kenly Parks & Recreation Center- the perfect place to enjoy a game of soccer, tennis, batting cages, or a stroll on the walking trail. How about a trip for the whole family? Close by are scenic areas where you can enjoy an outdoor picnic, camping, fishing, boating/kayaking, and more at Hatcher's Bridge Tree Farm, or Buckhorn Lake! You can also enjoy other attractions such as the Tobacco Farm Life Museum, Southern National Motorsports Park, Cardinal Country Club, Tri-County Kartway, or the Ava Gardner Museum! When you're ready to grab a delicious meal, head on over to one of the many local restaurants including Iron Skillet, Waffle House, Denny's, Nik's Pizza & Restaurant, Stormin' Norman's Barbeque, Golden China, HWY 55 Burgers, Shakes, & Fries, or Seafood Station! With rooms that offer free WiFi and flat screen TV's with extended cable (including HBO), we invite you to come stay with us at the Red Roof Inn Kenly! The Red Roof Inn Kenly offers both comfort & convenience. This pet-friendly, family-friendly hotel offers a fitness facility, free breakfast from 6:00 am - 9:00 am, seasonal outdoor pool (open from Memorial Day through Labor Day), connecting rooms, dry cleaning, coin laundry, free on-site parking, and coffee & tea in the lobby. All guest rooms include free WiFi, a flat screen TV, extended cable including HBO channels, microwave & refrigerator, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, work desk, and in-room coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Kenly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kenly
Kenly Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing