We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location but shows its age” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location but shows its age”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We just stayed at the Ramada Plaza in Nags Head over the weekend in aniticpation of blocking rooms here for our upcoming OBX wedding. The location was great as the hotel is beach front and the boardwalks on the back of the hotel are nice. However, the interior of the hotel is very dated, from the lobby to the restaurant to the rooms. Our room faced the parking lot, which we assumed it would since we got a discounted rate. However, the door to our balcony did not lock (the lock turned but the door didn't "catch" in the frame so it was useless and the deadbolt did not line up with the frame hole). The AC was set at 64 the entire weekend (a nice spring weekend) and the room stayed warm the entire time (I can't imagine how hot it would have been in August). Probably one of the biggest annoyances is that there is no alternate mirror in the room, other than the one in the bathroom...no mirrored closet, no mirror over the dresser, etc. I had to use my reflection in the old tv set to get ready while my finace was showering. Again, we were scoping out the property to use for our wedding guests and this would be a big problem for couples or rooms of girls trying to get ready for an event.

Overall, our stay was fine and we didn't have any major issues. If I had paid peak season rates, though, I would have been very, very disappointed. It was nice to have a fridge and microwave in the room and all of the staff seemed very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thanks very much for the recap of your stay and we appreciate your candidness about our hotel. We’ll be sure to look into the items you mention and be sure to correct immediately (especially the balcony door!) We do have varying room types within the hotel and would be happy to show you alternate options for your wedding guests. (Other rooms do have mirrors in the guest room area etc.) I’m sure you found our oceanfront location, indoor pool and sprawling patio decks relaxing and do hope that you’ll consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    834
    524
    199
    102
See reviews for
928
850
74
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

What great value for your money! The units have refrigerators and microwaves and the staff is helpful and welcoming. This property is beautiful. Although I was there when they had a "full house" it was still very nice and an excellent time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Your perfect score is truly appreciated and we are happy that you were pleased during your recent visit with us. We supply many amenities that we hope make your stay more comfortable (such as the refrigerators and microwaves that you have mentioned), and hope you took advantage of most of them. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you back again soon! Keep in touch via Facebook as we love to keep in touch with our “new friends”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here two nights while site seeing. It was not a bad experience, but it could have been better. The wall paper was peeling in the bathroom and the plumbing needed repairs. The a/c-heating unit smelled when turned on each night. The walls are rather thin and the school group there at the same time slammed their doors constantly.

We might stay again if they had an update as the staff was friendly and tried to accomodate us.

We didn't eat their breakfast, so we can't rate it. It was nice having a refrigerator and microwave int he room to fix our own little meals.

Room Tip: Above the second floor on the beach/ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mama2potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thanks for your comments about your stay with us. It appears you visited while we had an active school group using many of our hotel features (indoor pool, hot tub, gaming area, and beach) It’s the spring break time of year and we tend to have more activity. Thanks for your nice comments about our friendly staff and your experiences. We will be sure to discuss them all with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Had a great time at this hotel off season. Got a great deal on an ocean view room through groupon. For me the view was worth every penny!
Pros: Great view, wonderful deck leading to the beach with plenty of chairs etc, friendly staff, in room fridge and microwave, nicely arranged rooms
Cons: Slow WiFi, pool was dirty, hard mattress

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thanks Sarah! We call it our ‘cooler season’ because there is still so much to do at our hotel and in the OBX area that it’s still “on- season” for us!  We’re glad that you loved our oceanfront room, private balcony and spacious outdoor decks. We have something for everyone and are glad that you brought your family. Thanks also for your constructive feedback and we’ll be sure to research further. Please visit us again soon and become a fan on Facebook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spanaway, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Though the property is a little worn around the edges, it was clear that they are constantly working to maintain the property. They were painting and doing some tile work when we were there. These beach places get a lot of wear as the traffic is high. But they seemed to have a lot of staff onboard to do the jobs. Housekeeping was average but not up to my wife's standards for cleanliness. For example the shower head had a big glob of someone's sticky blue shampoo all over it that should have been noticed and cleaned up by housekeeping but wasn't.

The breakfast which came with the stay was good. We did not try the restaurant at any other time. The beach was fine and easy to access. The noise level was high on Saturday night but not on Friday night. We had some young people above us that stayed up till after 1 am carrying on. The rooms seemed to have little sound proofing to them.

The best thing about the facilities was the staff who were very friendly. They also had entertainment on weekends after 8:30 pm in the lounge/bar but we did not participate so we have no opinion about it. The location of the hotel was excellent for access to points of interest.

Room Tip: pick the ocean side above the third floor. Other side faces the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingkalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thanks for noticing all the improvements we are making! We work hard and providing superior service and comfortable rooms so that you can enjoy yourself while in the OBX area. Your feedback is important to us and we’ll be sure to share your wife’s comments with our housekeeping staff. She’s right…it should have been caught before you checked in! Thanks for the praise on our service as we sure do try hard to make everyone comfortable. Visit us again soon and keep in touch via Facebook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Recently stayed at the Ramada and had a good experience. Reasonable rate and in the beach, this hotel is very pet friendly. Was greeted with a great pets pack with pet snacks and such. First floor is pet floor and has rooms that face the beach side, and although first floor does not have a beach view (dunes block view), the rooms have a back door that makes the night dog walks very easy. Customer service was top notch and noteworthy. Room was clean and staff friendly. I would return.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hokeydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
We are glad that you and your dog enjoyed the easy access to the beach and found our oceanfront hotel comfortable. Our goal is to include the ENTIRE family and we’re thrilled that you got to experience our hotel and found our service superior. Please come back and see us again soon and keep in touch via our Facebook page! Would love to see a photo or two from your time spent with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, NH
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We booked this hotel because of the view and because it was a package deal with a local food festival. I wouldn't stay here again. The tub was backed up and they never fixed it despite repeated requests to do so. The staff just seemed clueless in general. We had to ask several different people multiple times to get everything they said they included with the package. The breakfast was good and it included room service, which was nice, and the hotel is centrally located. The bed was comfortable and we did enjoy the view, but it wasn't worth the hassle of the staff not knowing what they were doing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Our great location and beautiful ocean views certainly are a guest favorite however that is only 1 of many great things here at Ramada. We are truly sorry if the unique food festival package you booked was a bit confusing. OBX is active with many events and activities and we cater with packages to accommodate them. We’ll be sure to discuss this with our staff so that going forward there isn’t any misunderstanding or delay with guests enjoying themselves! Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
4.4 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
6.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
2.0 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
2.5 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Property: Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Address: 1701 South Virginia Dare Trail, P.O. Box 2716, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7756
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#6 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront is a great place to relax and unwind while on your coastal vacation. This Ramada property is located directly on the beach! Centrally located (mile post 9 1/2) to shopping, historical sites, and sporting activities, our oceanfront hotel provides convenience to area attractions. Visit the Lost Colony, Elizabethan Gardens, Kitty Hawk, four area lighthouses, Roanoke Island Festival Park, or the Wright Brothers Memorial-site of man's first flight. Restaurant and Lounge and seasonal outdoor deck bar on property. Business center, free guest laundry and free access to local YMCA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Ramada
Ramada Kill Devil Hills
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront Kill Devil Hills, NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing