We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Outer Banks Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
State College, PA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

This was our first trip to the Outer Banks Beach Club. Having always rented a house in years previous, we were nervous to be switching to a condo. We had nothing to fear. The GOOD: Check-in was a breeze. The employees are so kind and generous... and always took a moment to just TALK to you... how refreshing. The units were very clean... even up to my sisters standards, so that's say a lot. The resort grounds/amenities were clean and well maintained. Some here complained the decks are "shared"... they are fairly quiet. Not private, but quiet. We liked talking to our "neighbors". Part of the vacation experience. We were in a unit across the road and it was still a shorter distance (about 300ft) to the beach than we were anticipating. You're within the resort grounds for the whole walk except crossing Beach Rd. We had a maintenance issue with the air conditioner. An employee showed up within 10 minutes and fixed it... so hats off to responsiveness. The storage units under the buildings are a great idea... no lugging sandy buckets, chairs, etc... up the stairs and into your condo... but make sure to bring a lock. "Just for the Beach" rentals is directly beside the resort, so if you forget anything, no worries! The resort also offers umbrella/beach chair rentals onsite... they'll even set them up and take them down each day for no additional charge. A great service! There are washer and dryers under each until... so you only have to take half your laundry! Finally, the resort is in the middle of all that the OBX has to offer, but still feels private. Restaurants, mini-golf, grocery stores. Beds were COMFY!
The BAD: With the exception of the clubhouse area, they charge for wireless internet connection. It's not the "Fully Stocked Kitchen" that we were told. There's no steaming pots for shrimp/crabs, one 9" pizza pan. No croc-pot. No oven mits. There's one (Large) gas grill for the units across the street but no charcoal grills. The decor could be a little more on the "beachy" side. The mirrors and light fixtures could use some updating. My biggest complaint is not about the resort itself... but the beach in front of the resort can get busy... not Virginia Beach/Ocean City busy... but busy by OBX standards. There was always a "front row" of umbrellas and most of the days there were people scattered in behind. If you don't mind walking a hundred yards or so up or down the beach, you could find some private space.
Over-all. We loved the place and will certainly be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gray52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    78
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
78
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We had a one BR unit so did not have much of a view but we came for the proximity to the beach, and we did have that. This was our second time staying at Beach Club I. The units are clean and well-stocked. The linen exchange mid-week is a plus; since we knew we did not have a washer/drier in the unit, we planned accordingly. The beach towels they provide help reduce the dirty laundry we took home.
We purchased wireless Internet for our unit; the cost was about $30 for the week but it was VERY slow, unless you used it at 4 AM. That part was annoying and of necessity we went to the Clubhouse to access the wireless there - much faster, even in the late afternoon (and free).
The grounds and units are well-maintained; our light over the kitchen sink did not work, it was fixed within a few hours.
The location is everything - beach, great restaurants, grocery shopping nearby. Some notable restaurants: Outer Banks Brewing Station, Kill Devil Grill, Black Pelican (Kitty Hawk). Two places take reservations (a real PLUS in peak season) - Flying Fish and Colington Cafe. We had fresh seafood at each of these restaurants and the preparartions varied but we were not disappointed.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank VAlovetotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We stayed at the Outer Banks Beach Club in July 2010. We rented what they call a Penthouse apartment on the top floor of Building #15. This building is at the back of the resort against the beach road. We had the end unit which was wonderful because no one walked past our door going and coming to the beach, pools etc. More on that later. This was one of those round buildings, one apartment to a floor. We were very happy with the interior of our condo, have no complaints whatsoever. It was very clean upon arrival and we had everything we needed. We found the towels and linens provided to be more than adequate and the set up of the condo was great. The kitchen was equipped with everything you could ask for and nothing was old or in bad shape. The service elevator on the outside of the building was a godsend! When we were moving in, the office sent over two maintenance guys who came and loaded it for us and saved us carrying all our luggage, boxes, groceries etc. up those three flights of stairs. They will also come do that for you when you are moving out if you contact the office and give them enough time to send someone. The deck out your front door on the outside of those round condos is one continuous deck with no privacy, however. Being in the end unit was great as I said before because our condo was the only one at that end of it and no one was walking past while you tried to sit outside at the table and four chairs that is provided. We felt badly for anyone below us though since the deck floor is slatted and so any sand or anything else on your feet as you walk over their table is dropping through onto it, not to mention you have no privacy! Very bad set up in our opinion.

There is a storage unit for every condo on the ground floor (remember to bring a lock) that you can store your beach chairs etc. in and also a washer and dryer area usually located down there. The washer/dryer areas aren't in every building, but usually are not too far away. However, it would be better if the condos each had their own so you didn't have to run up and down the stairs doing your laundry as well as worrying about the right coins to have to pay for it. We didn't care for that at all! Luckily for us the few times we needed to do a load of laundry the unit in our building was empty.

The resort is beautifully maintained with well cut grass and pretty flowered areas and while we were there the pools were kept very clean and monitored. For example, it says no children w/o an adult and one afternoon we noticed some boys swimming by themselves, not causing any problems. But within a few minutes a guard was there asking them where was their parent? When the boys shook their heads and said in the condo, the guard made them leave until they had an adult return with them. Good practice! Also, they really do watch the parking situation and if your tag is NOT showing in your windshield, you will get a "ticket" informing you to move your vehicle or display your tag so they can see it. That's fine, too, since parking is at a premium there and no one who isn't authorized should be taking a spot that doesn't belong to them.

The only thing we would say detrimental to our stay is how long the walk to the beach area is from those back buildings like the one we were in. This resort is not baby friendly unless you have an oceanfront condo, that's for sure. We were exhausted by the time we carried chairs, umbrellas etc. to the beach from back where our unit was. You have to walk through two parking lots and up steps and then along a wooden walkway to yet more steps down to the beach. We ended up renting chairs from the vendors on the beach all week to save us from all that carrying, and none of us have any physical conditions that would make us need to do that, trust me! Can't imagine young parents with children and bags of toys and all else that goes along doing that every day with any joy, that's for sure. You'll get your exercise! Also, the one bathroom located at the pool off the beach is a hike to get to as well, this was an annoyance at times.

The beach: one word describes it...packed. You have to figure you have all those condos and all those people emptying out onto one beach area in front of the resort...what else would it be? That was something we could just not adjust to. After going to Nags Head beach for over 22 years and never being on a beach with anyone near enough to overhear your conversation, this was a complete shock! One afternoon we set up our corn hole boards to have a game and before we could even start, a couple with a child came along and put their chairs right in the middle of our game area and acted like this was just fine! People's chair backs would hit our chair backs when they reclined, it was very difficult to enjoy being so crowded in with all those strangers. The pools are always full of people, too, as you would expect.

On a positive note: This resort is near many, many great places to go eat. Right across the street is Dare Devil Pizza and across the street from that is a good Mexican restaurant that has corn hole competitions every night and great food. The location is one of the best things about this place! There is a grocery store right down the road about a mile and you are in the heart of the shopping area as well.

Would we go back? Probably not.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank salanay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We visited in January when the Outer Banks is relatively quiet. We were in a 3 BR unit in one of the octagonal buildings right on the ocean in Outer Banks Beach Club I. We had an incredible 180 degree view of the ocean from the entire front part of the unit. We were on the second floor - first floor rooms would not have the same ocean view because of the height of the dunes between the building and the ocean. The unit was clean and the kitchen was large and well-stocked. The master BR had a king bed and a separate bath area. There was a whirlpool tub (the size of a regular bathtub), but the controls had been blanked off so there was no way to operate it. The tub was difficult to get in and out of because it was so deep. We were bothered by the way the entire unit slants - you definitely walk downhill from the back of the unit to the front. It is most noticeable in the master bath area - getting out of that deep shower/tub requires an uphill climb! The second BR has twin beds and the third BR has a queen bed. The second bath has a handicap accessible shower. One good thing about the BRs were the black out curtains and blinds. The sun did not wake us at the crack of dawn. We felt they were a little chintzy with their towels; we only had 7 towel sets for a 3 BR unit and no pool towels. Housekeeping was very helpful in supplying us with the pool towels and clean sheets we needed though. Free wi-fi in the unit would have been nice and a washer/dryer in the unit would have been nice, too. Internet was free in the clubhouse across the street. There is an indoor pool and a hot tub in the clubhouse. There are no changing facilities there, but there is a small restroom. The floor around the pool could have used some attention; it was pretty dirty, but the pool and hot tub were nice.

Many of the Outer Banks restaurants and stores close in the off season, but we had no problems finding places to eat. Mako Mike's, Duck Donuts, Mulligan's, Jolly Roger, and Saul's (on the other side of the Wright Memorial Bridge) were all good. Jolly Roger has a very popular $2.99 breakfast that we tried on our last day. We'll be back for that! We went to the Wright Brothers Memorial since it had been a few years and they had some exhibits that were new to us. Late in the week (unfortunately) we discovered the Nags Head Nature Conservancy which had wonderful trails for hiking and running - who knew there were such big hills on the NC coast?!

In conclusion, this unit would be fabulous (and probably impossible to get) during the summer. The location around the 8-9 mile marker is wonderful and convenient to just about anything in the area. January is obviously not the best time of the year for a beach visit, but it was relaxing and we enjoyed spending time with our extended family.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ashbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We went to Beach Club II on the week of Sept 25 for only 4 days and 3 nights. It was my husband, Mom and I. We had a 2 bedroom unit “Poolside”. Yes we were disappointed we didn’t get an oceanfront, but what can you do.
The 2 bedroom unit has a queen bed in the master bedroom and 2 twin beds in the second bedroom. Both bedrooms had access to the same back balcony. (This faced Rt. 12 and the parking lot). It wasn’t very noisy, in our opinion, but then again it was off season. (Oceanfront unit, bedroom balconies, faced the pool and parking lot). The front balconies were one big balcony and were shared by everyone on the floor….although you had your own 4 chairs and table in front of your unit. The tub in the master bedroom is a Jacuzzi tub and can hold 2 people. The 2nd bathroom is in the hallway next door to the 2nd bedroom. It is only a shower but it is handicap accessible with a seat in the shower and shower bars to hold on to if necessary. This was perfect for my 75 year old Mom. The unit supplied soap only in the bathrooms….no shampoo or lotions, etc. There were 2 bath towels, washcloths and hand towels (Extra bath towels were in the closet). One of the downfalls to the resort is that you can hear the people walking around above you…..well you hear the ceiling creak, as they walk, that is……but you do not hear their actual footsteps or anything else….and who knows maybe it was our unit only that could hear it…..our unit was 9C. Don’t know if we had anyone next door to us….but if we did, we didn’t hear a thing.
The kitchen was a full kitchen and they did supply just about everything you need to cook and eat and also included, dish detergent, dishwasher detergent, sos pads, dish cloths and paper towels.
The staff we encountered during our stay were very friendly and helpful. There is free Wi-Fi access in the clubhouse across the street…..we tried it in our rooms just in case we could but could not gain access.
The odd number buildings are poolside and the even number buildings are oceanfront. It’s not a very long walk from the poolside units to the beach. On our first day we walked to the beach and there were 2 foxes right there in front of the Oceanfront units, in the dunes. They just watched the people as they walked by, didn’t seem to be a threat, yet we were careful. Never saw them again, after that. There is a walkway to the beach, with some bench seats at the top…As far as the pool goes, it was a very nice size, and 2 hot tubs…..all looked very clean.
The weather was great on the first 2 days but unfortunately rained on and off on the 3rd day… During our stay, we went to the Hatteras Lighthouse and climbed to the top for $7 each. My mom stayed at the bottom in a shadier area with seats and waited for us…it only took us about 10 min. to climb to the top. It took about an hour from the resort and very easy to get there staying on Rt. 12 all the way. We also went to the Wright Brothers Memorial, which is about a mile from the resort. It cost $4 each to enter the memorial area. It was a very interesting place to see. We did some shopping and also stopped off at Jockey’s Ridge. We didn’t go up the dunes….just did the boardwalk part of it (which was not as long as I thought it was going to be)….it’s a nice area but not what I expected, but I assume we only saw a piece of it…if we walked over to the dunes, I’m sure we would have seen more. It’s only about 5 miles from the resort and it was free.
As far as food and restaurants go. We did some grocery shopping for breakfast foods and lunch before heading to the resort. But there are plenty places nearby to pick up groceries. There are also plenty of restaurants to choose from nearby as well. We picked up a pizza at the pizzeria across the street. (Dare Devils I believe was the name). It was very good. We also ate at 5 Guys Burger and Fries, which is only about 2 blocks away and went to Henry’s Seafood restaurant which was also very good.
All and all we had a great time during our stay and would definitely go back again someday!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank elsplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

My review may be a little jaded because I has just come from a motel down the beach (around 16.5 mm) where my spouse refused to stay...

The rental agent there was awesome... maybe helped that a family member has been a timeshare owner for 25+ years, but I don't think so much... I believe we got a little lower rate because the room was not rented and across the street from the beach...

Still it was an awesome location... separate rooms in the unit with a bedroom and TV, a full living room, with TV and a separate kitchen with room for a table and chairs dinette... we were on on the first floor (off the ground, but first floor of units) near the clubhouse and could not have been happier... a short walk across the beach road to the main pools or beach and they have a nice decked walkway over the dunes to the beach...

Over all very nice... Internet Access was wireless in the clubhouse and they have a pay service that handles most of the beach, but it was not really worth the effort when the wireless in the clubhouse was good enough for me to do a couple hours of work during the week...

Anyway really really nice condo like atmosphere... it is not a hotel with daily maid service or some of the things a hotel might have (I travel a lot)... but again a really nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dgreene99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butler, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

This trip is by far my favorite yearly vacation(: its an amazing beach and there is a lot to do

Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank KarleeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
3.4 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.1 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
1.0 km away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
7.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.6 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outer Banks Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Beach Club

Property: Outer Banks Beach Club
Address: Mile Post 9 Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outer Banks Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Time Share Resort that is family oriented. Friday check in's are across the street from the ocean with elevator access available in early 2014. These are two bedroom units. Saturday and Sunday check in's are oceanside and oceanfront with elevator access. One and three bedroom units on the oceanfront have elevators. Oceanside do not.There are two outdoor pools with hot tubs and one heated indoor pool with hot tub. We have shuffle board and tennis courts. Free wifi in the clubhouse and a free computer if needed. We offer free day passes to the local YMCA only two miles away. Plenty of activities daily for adults and children. We have beautiful beaches with spectacular views. Great local attractions very close to the resort. We have wheel chair access on our beach boardwalks with a large gazebo and viewing decks. We have 24 hour security and offer help with luggage especially for units without elevators via our luggage lifts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Outer Banks Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Beach Club Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Outer Banks Beach Hotel
Outer Banks Beach Club Kill Devil Hills, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing