We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shutters On the Banks
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else!”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

My boyfriend and I celebrated our anniversary in OBX and this was the perfect place to do it! The service was amazing...Happy Birthday Sandy! And the location is fantastic! We had the whole beach to ourselves! And it was very clean! We definitely want to return in the summer time and when we do, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    337
    116
    43
    19
See reviews for
428
352
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Shutters is a wonderful motel located right on the beach. The rooms are spacious and very well kept. The service could not be friendlier or more efficient. The rooms with balconies provide a nice view of the ocean. Everything you need is close by. Perfect for families, couples, or groups of friends.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuffyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLUMBIA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My wife and i stayed one night on the Sunday after Thanksgiving on our way back to SC from New Jersey. We purposefully went a bit out of our way to visit OBX and the Wright Brothers site. We didn't have a reservation and were one of a small number still hanging around at the end of the the weekend. We picked the Shutters because of the outside appearance and were not disappointed once we got to our room. The front desk staff person was very friendly and gave us an end room on the 4th floor. Sorry I didn't get his name, but he was very good. He told us we were one of five parties staying the night. The room was exceptionally clean and well furnished. The view was fabulous and it was really neat to have the property to ourselves. We only spent one night, but I would like to return earlier in the fall and spend more time. It does, however, look like the area would be mobbed and maybe not so plesant in the high summer.

Room Tip: Ocean views are probably only avaialble on floors 3 and 4 of the tower due to the high dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCShaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We chose this inn based upon the good reviews in tripadvisor, and were not disappointed. Nice property, quiet night, beautiful sunrise on the Atlantic, good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I stayed at Shutters for 4 nights the last week of October - the first week of November 2011. The people at the desk had to be the friendliest Hotel desk people that i have ever dealt with . They actually wanted you to stay there. I have stayed at numerous Outer Banks Hotels in the past and to be on the Hurricane front of the ocean it was the cleanest i have seen. The indoor pool and Hot tub area was spotless and the water was Chrystal clear . Needles to say , i was pleasantly surprised. I would defiantly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wayne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson River Valley, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed at Shutters on the Banks the week of September 17th because we were not able to get to our rental house in Frisco. They upgraded us to a 4th floor room in the Tower and what a view we had. I was up every morning for sunrise and have some beautiful pictures. The staff was very friendly and breakfast was adequate-saved us from having to go out. The hotel is centrally located and there are lots of great restaurants along Rt. 12 Business. Loved the pools and on the one rainy day we spent time in the hot tub and indoor pool. We are planning to return to Shutters for our vacation in Sept. 2012 -it has everything we need and love the view.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaM840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Michaels, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This was our second visit to this "motel" on the beach at Kill Devil Hills just south of the Wright Brothers Memorial. Several years ago we had stayed at a much more expensive "resort" north of Duck for our honeymoon, but chose this place for its location and price point . . . a very good value for a beach front hotel on the outer banks. The location is really excellent . . close to the Wright Brothers Memorial National Park and many fine restaurants, miniture golf and other attractions . . . and close to the dunes and beach to hear the waves breaking on the beach at night. We stayed on the second floor of the tower . . could see the ocean in the distance and hear the waves . . you need to pay extra to move up to the third or fourth floor for a better view of the ocean. The indoor pool and hot tub with the adjacent outdoor pool is quite convenient and an easy walk from your room or over the beach . . . much better arrangement that the expensive resort where you . We were there about 2 weeks after hurricane Irene had roared past to the West . . and there was considerable beach errosion and flooded homes on the sound side of the OBX but minor damage along with beach front area. The hotel or rooms are quite nice . . . typical motel style furnishings with flat screen TV but very few cable channels (could be the local cable company) and NO TV channel listing was evident . . wasted some time trying to get through all the empty channels as the TV had not been set up correctly to skip the unused channels. Breakfast was disappointing . . . commerical grade small pastries, juice, coffe, toast and waffle maker . . so we went out for breakfast one morning . . but the price is right as it is included in the room rate. We would return given the value and the excellent location for hotels/motels along the beach area.

Will and Julia Workman - St. Michaels, Maryland

Room Tip: Pay extra if you want a better view of the ocean from the 3rd or 4th floot in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillWorkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.7 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
863 reviews
11.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.9 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
886 reviews
8.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.7 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters On the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters On the Banks

Property: Shutters On the Banks
Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters On the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator,in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shutters On the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Kill Devil Hills, NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing