We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shutters On the Banks
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Simpson, WV
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Shutters over New Year's. The view was beautiful. It was wonderful to be able to wake up on New Year's Eve and walk out the door onto the beach. The staff were pleasant and the room was clean and comfortable. The only negative comment I have was the breakfast but with many restaurants in the vicinity it didn't matter. We would stay again if we are there during the off season (we rent a house in the summer).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrystalD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    333
    114
    43
    19
See reviews for
421
349
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, VA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My hubby and I stayed at Shutters for the first time in a few years this past November. Our experience this time was just as pleasant as the last. The bed was comfy and it was just warm enough for us to leave the back door open to the balcony and listed to the ocean - so relaxing! Everyone at the hotel was polite and helpful. They let us get the return visit discount; even though it had been almost 6 years since we had last stayed! It was the weekend of the marathon we went so they were pretty much booked up, and it was probably because they had the best rates on the beach! I will definately stay again!

Room Tip: Get an oceanfront room in the tower building. You can open up the door to a private balcony & li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emily51402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, New York
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We loved everything about this place. The girl at the front deck, the pool, the hot tub, the view of the ocean, the room and the off season price for an ocean view room. This place is well kept and super clean! If we go back to the Outer Banks, we will stay at Shutters!!!!

Room Tip: Third floor and higher for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdirondackGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We've stayed at this hotel twice. Once with two kids and once with four. Each time, the staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were also clean. The indoor pool was a big plus as was the price!

I was really happy that they had a fitness room, but the equipment was a little outdated and one of the times we stayed there there was water leaking from an air conditioning vent in the ceiling of the fitness room.

The complimentary breakfast was average for a hotel, but considering the price, I can't complain.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2011

My boyfriend and I celebrated our anniversary in OBX and this was the perfect place to do it! The service was amazing...Happy Birthday Sandy! And the location is fantastic! We had the whole beach to ourselves! And it was very clean! We definitely want to return in the summer time and when we do, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Shutters is a wonderful motel located right on the beach. The rooms are spacious and very well kept. The service could not be friendlier or more efficient. The rooms with balconies provide a nice view of the ocean. Everything you need is close by. Perfect for families, couples, or groups of friends.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuffyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLUMBIA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My wife and i stayed one night on the Sunday after Thanksgiving on our way back to SC from New Jersey. We purposefully went a bit out of our way to visit OBX and the Wright Brothers site. We didn't have a reservation and were one of a small number still hanging around at the end of the the weekend. We picked the Shutters because of the outside appearance and were not disappointed once we got to our room. The front desk staff person was very friendly and gave us an end room on the 4th floor. Sorry I didn't get his name, but he was very good. He told us we were one of five parties staying the night. The room was exceptionally clean and well furnished. The view was fabulous and it was really neat to have the property to ourselves. We only spent one night, but I would like to return earlier in the fall and spend more time. It does, however, look like the area would be mobbed and maybe not so plesant in the high summer.

Room Tip: Ocean views are probably only avaialble on floors 3 and 4 of the tower due to the high dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCShaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.7 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
852 reviews
11.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.9 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,211 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
854 reviews
8.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters On the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters On the Banks

Property: Shutters On the Banks
Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters On the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator,in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shutters On the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Kill Devil Hills, NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing