We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean & pleasant, close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kinston
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“clean & pleasant, close to everything”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel was quite nice & fairly new-seeming. The staff seemed attentive & pleasant. Free access to gym across street. Near movie theaters, Wal-mart & Golden Corral.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    24
    21
    13
    7
See reviews for
26
16
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The sparse lobby was freezing cold with excessive air conditioning—a pet peeve of mine. The room was a good size, but only had one easy chair and the work table task chair, for seating. The bed and bedding were not up to snuff, and the tub surround has water damage. So basically, it is OK but about due for a reno. There is a pool but it is right on the parking lot.
The only place to eat at the suburban interchange location was the Golden Corral buffet, which was pretty terrible.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heikermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeway, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Stayed spring of 09.Didn't recognize the room this stay.New furniture,Flat screen TV's,Drapes.Very Nice Place.Super Staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluegrass4him
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed here for two nights while attending a friend's wedding. Due to our status with Priority Club were upgraded to a 'suite,' which was nice, and the bed was comfortable, but the housekeeping left a great deal to be desired. We requested and received two extra pillows, and pulled a third from the closet, and the room was fine for our first night. The free internet worked well--and wasn't password protected.

The following day, we returned at 2pm. The bed had been made, but all extra pillows had been removed from the room. The bathroom had been cleaned, but ALL but one of the towels had been removed...and not replaced. The floor had not been vacuumed and most surfaces had clearly not been dusted. (When you can draw little faces in the dust that's a pretty good clue.) I asked a housekeeper in the halls about the towels, and in her limited english she said 'later.' She didn't know the word 'vacuum,' but I pantomimed and she also said 'despues.' I inquired at the front desk, and was told 'the towels are being washed and will be replaced later.'

A hotel of this size doesn't have enough towels to replace them while others are being washed? I asked if there was a problem and explained to the desk we were hoping to have a shower and a nap and was told in this case towels would be arriving momentarily, which they did, along with the pillows...still, it seems a very odd way to do housekeeping. The room never was vacuumed, but to be fair we had the 'Do Not Disturb' sign up while we were napping/showering.

I mentioned this upon checkout, and the desk clerk made a note of it. Not sure what I was expecting, but perhaps--due to the sign in the bathroom that read 'If any part of your stay isn't to your satisfaction, you won't have to pay for that part of your stay' I thought she'd offer some extra points or something.

I suspect a LOT of people who stay in this hotel try to get something for nothing, it wasn't a terribly sophisticated crowd. There's a sign in the bathroom listing prices for the iron and the sheets(!), so I'm guessing theft is a big problem here. We didn't bother with the breakfast either day, although it seemed very (too?) well attended. The cookies and the fruit by the front desk during the day was a nice touch.

Given the hotel options in this town, this is probably one of the better ones, so I'll click 'yes' to whether I'd recommend the hotel...although if I find myself in Kinston again, I'll try the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

When I do business in Kinston, North Carolina, it is a no-brainer where to stay........the Holiday Inn Express. I have stayed at this hotel for three years every time I am in town. I love love love the following:

great service-friendly smiling staff always
great breakfasts hot or cold - killed my diet eating wayyyyyy too much food
great wide screen tv's and remotes in the rooms- HBO and loads of cable stations
great rooms that have solid walls. I didn't have to worry about the guy next door snoring
great wireless signal- able to work in my room at night
GREAT GREAT GREAT BEDS. SUPER SOFT WITH AWESOME PILLOWS.

6 GREATS = A GREAT HOTEL TO STAY AT. I CAN'T WAIT TO COME BACK :)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2010

I stay at this establishment 4 times a year, every year. I had little issues the first year but staff worked diligently to accomodate me and to resolve the issues we were encountering. My reservations were lost a couple of times but again staff (Mamie) was wonderful in resolving the problems. The past 3 years have been excellent and I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. My room has ALWAYS been clean and ready for occupancy. Staff greets their guests and strive very hard to meet the needs of the guest in a courteous and timely manner. The breakfast bar is always very good, clean and hot.

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank drsoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

To start we asked for non smoking rooms that were adjoining, one king and 2 queens. We were assigned smoking rooms and they didn't have any adjoining rooms available for us when we arrived. We had our 2 kids along so this was not desirable but we settled for 2 queen rooms beside one another. They charged us 2 different rates for the same room at first but we resolved that before we left. The room was not very clean, the bathroom floors were dirty and stained. The pool hours were posted in the room directory as 10a-10p, the pool area sign stated 9a-9a on one sign and 10a-9p on another sign. We went to swim at 8:15p and it was locked. The desk person unlocked it for us and told us the manager said it closed at 9p. The breakfast was good and the location is close to many resturants. No my favorite Holiday Inn, but I don't think there is much better in this little town.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aerlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinston
6.1 km away
Hampton Inn Kinston
Hampton Inn Kinston
#1 of 7 in Kinston
480 reviews
6.0 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 7 in Kinston
58 reviews
30.4 km away
Hampton Inn Goldsboro
Hampton Inn Goldsboro
#1 of 11 in Goldsboro
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Goldsboro - Base Area
32.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Goldsboro
30.2 km away
TownePlace Suites Goldsboro
TownePlace Suites Goldsboro
#5 of 11 in Goldsboro
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston
Address: 1156 Hill Farm Rd, Kinston, NC 28504-9203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Kinston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kinston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston, the ideal hotel for business or leisure. Also welcome to historic Kinston, North Carolina home of the Kinston Indians Baseball team that plays at Grainger Stadium. We are located just off US 70 midway between Raleigh and the Carolina Coast. Originally established as a tobacco inspection center in 1759 along the banks of the Neuse River, the city was first known as Kingston (named for King George III of England). In 1784 following the revolutionary war the people of Kingston requested the letter G be dropped. In 1826 Kinston was incorporated. Come see the many historical sights Kinston has to offer such as the C.S.S. Neuse State Historic Site and the Caswell Center No.1 Fire Station Museum. If you are traveling here on business, there are plenty of companies in the area including Electrolulx, Smithfield Foods, and West Pharmaceuticals. While staying with us our rooms are equipped with a work desk and free high-speed Internet. We also offer spacious king suites which include whirlpool tubs. In the evening come down to the lobby and indulge yourself with some of our fresh baked Otis Spunkmeyer cookies as well as fresh fruit. Our hotel will do its best to meet your every need to make your stay as perfect as possible. Visit Kinston and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kinston
Holiday Inn Kinston
Kinston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing