We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
38
60
42
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
60
42
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharebedroom unitprivate parking lotfishing pondwooded areawash dishesamenities feenice resortscreened in porchgreat vacationduckcommon areasexercise roompaddle boatsthe indoor water parkkill devil hillsouter banks
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 179 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2015 via mobile

Look very relaxing. Lots of trees very private feeling. Lovely pool area. Beach a long walk or a 4 min car ride. Relaxing few days. Stores are close including a Walmart Food Lion etc. Lots of restaurants to choose from too.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank JBrownVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2015

We were very nervous about our stay after reading all the reviews about it being under construction. We were pleasantly surprised to find the brand new outdoor pool had just been opened. We even were able to grill pool side several times. The tennis courts and volleyball area were also open. We had a wonderful time. We loved the easy access to the beach as well. Our room had been redone and was very nice. I would definitely stay at this resort again. Once the construction is complete, it is going to be amazing. One negative...check in time is 4pm. We traveled a long distance so it was annoying to not be able to check in until 5:15pm when we were all so tired. However, it was quickly forgotten once we got settled in.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank schillpazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2015

Too many things went wrong during out vacation here. Yes we knew there were doing renovations but the lack of care or concern is unacceptable. Check-in is at 3 and when we got there they told us our rooms wouldn't be ready for a couple hours. Thank you for the heads up. We could use the pool but we could only take one car because there wasn't much parking for the pool. Once we got in the houses (we shared two), we were missing dishes, utensils, pots, etc. One half of the house had dirty dishes. The sink was leaking and there was a pot under it catching water. There was no handicap parking near our unit. No big deal right? Except one of our guest had mobility issues. We called about the sink and that was fixed. Called about needing a handicap parking spot sign hung up and nothing was done about that. That's a disgrace. Oh and no Wifi. Seriously? I'm not paying like $50 for wifi. Bring yourselves up to the current century and get wifi. I wouldn't stay here again and I don't plan on it.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2015

We have been owners at Barrier Island Station (now Beachwoods) for the past five years. We stayed this year the week of July 11-July 18, 2015. We were notified several times by newsletter and email that the resort was under major renovations. We were thankful by the time we arrived, the outdoor pool area was finished. We love the new pool area and the additional seating options outside. Our room was also updated with new flooring, new carpet, new appliances, new kitchen countertops and new bathroom countertops and cabinets. We did not receive new furniture, but was told by our visit in 2016, that all of the renovations will be complete in all of the rooms and the resort accommodations. My family loves the location of this resort in Kitty Hawk. We love the beach parking lot with close access to the beach. In addition, we like being close to 158 and 12 to go North or South for what we are in the mood to do. Some of our favorite places are within a 30 minute drive (Wright Memorial, Jockey Ridge, Mini-Golf, and Destination Fun).

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank techgrlinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2015 via mobile

I went on a trip here and just came back and I can't say I would recommend this place to anyone unless they like feeling cheated by an only money drivin business, instead of quality living and quest happiness. The facility was under construction and this was not told months ago when it was booked. We were told only the indoor pool would be under construction... Wrong, the entire place was covered in workers and construction vehicles, none of the facilities could be used, no volleyball court, tennis court, either pool, or the entire main building. It's really disrespectful and rude to not tell people months ahead that "hey, we will be doing construction during your visit and you won't be able to use a lot of things" instead of us not being able to use ANYTHING! People work hard all year to save up for vacations and they ruined half of the trip for me. I am just super disappointed in how they ran a business and conducted themselves. Definitely never going back

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
15  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews