We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,818)
Filter reviews
1,818 results
Traveller rating
971
500
225
83
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
971
500
225
83
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews duck donuts ocean front fire pit fishing pier outer banks hotel guests outdoor pool hotel restaurant corner room oceanfront room lobby area partial ocean view clean hotel off season housekeeping staff parking lot beach access
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,818 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is located right on the beach. It has a nice outdoor swimming pool, tiki bar and area to lounge around in. The lobby is very nicely appointed. Breakfasts were delicious. But it bothered me that people came in dripping wet from the beach and tracked water through the lobby to the elevators. No one was ever observed mopping it up. A real slip hazard. Also, they had water in a big jug in the lobby and kids were constantly spilling it. Again, a slip hazard. The air conditioner in our room poured out cold air for what seemed like forever, even though it was set at 76 or 77. The desk is right beside the unit, so if you were working at the desk, you froze when the air was on. Pipes in the bathroom rattled one night, but fortunately stopped before we went to sleep. For $300 a night after Labor Day, I expected a nicer hotel, with a better cooling system and no water on the floors. Or at least someone who mopped them. Our room usually wasn't straightened up until the afternoon. Had to ask for more washcloths. They didn't seem to pay attention to the little things.

Room Tip: Our fifth floor room on the South side was very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mjshss2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us over the Labor Day holiday here at the oceanfront. We are glad to see you enjoyed our central location on the beach and comfortable hotel amenities. We will certainly keep a closer eye on the courtyard entrance to ensure the safety of our guests pertaining to the wet entrance when coming in from the pool and beach. We appreciate all your feedback and do hope you loved the ocean views from our property and possibly had the opportunity to visit our Kitty Hawk Pier as well. Thank you for choosing us in your travel plans and again appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The view is spectacular. I think they know this and try to play it up. Also the size of the room was generous. That is the only reason I am giving this two stars. When we checked into the room, we were met with the aroma of human waste. I went into the bathroom and there was indeed excrement all inside the toliet bowl... Caked in there. I thought, ok. We will just go down and tell front desk.. they can clean it and make it right. I went to wash my hands and the water was turned off. My husband had to turn the water on underneath the sink so I could do that. We put our stuff down and went to the front desk and told them about the issues and said we were going to dinner. They said they would send someone up to see why the water would have been turned to off and to clean the toliet. When we came back.... Nothing was done. I finally cleaned the toliet so the room smelled better for us and our toddler. We also noticed a lot of cobwebs under the furniture and dust. I could post the human waste pic but don't want to offend any ones sensibilities... Come on Hilton, step up your game for the price we paid. We expected a whole lot more and were sorely disappointed. I mean, I cleaned up someone else's poop....

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank zblitz26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Your comments are extremely alarming as this has never happened at our hotel before and we are quite embarrassed. We are quickly researching to see why your room was not in perfect order when you arrived and feel that there was a miscommunication about that rooms availability which ultimately was the cause for the confusion. Please accept our sincere apology for this unusual circumstance and know that we’ll be investigating it further. We hope you otherwise had a wonderful and relaxing time here at the oceanfront and while in the Outer Banks area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018

I would rate this hotel between a 3-4. It was very nice but there are some areas that need improvement.
The staff at the front desk were all very nice! It was not a problem to checkin.
Our oceanfront balcony room was nice EXCEPT it smelled musty and we noticed mold on the ceiling and the paint around the balcony door, as well as part of the frame, was coming off. There is only a small sink area in the bathroom so you can't dry your hair if someone else needs the mirror to shave, etc.
Housekeeping needs improvement. The 2nd day our room was not made up when we got back from the beach to shower. He was in the next room but it made us really rush for our 5:30 dinner reservation. I think, however, there was only one housekeeping attendant on the whole floor.
The hotel restaurant was very good- but although the servers were attentive, they were very slow to bring anything out even when the dining area was empty. A slice of cake took 15 minutes. This is probably due to the kitchen staff. The breakfast buffet was very good offering a variety of hot and made to order foods. The donuts and pastries are all of the package variety. If this was improved, it would be top notch.
The bar and outside area to eat by the pool need more shade. Several times we went to get a drink to take on the beach and no one was at the bar. Also most time the towel bin was empty and you had to go to the front desk to request they refill it.
There is a nice verandah area above the pool where you can sit on rocking chairs and watch the ocean. There is also a fire pit outside.
All in all, we liked the hotel but there are some issues that need to be dealt with. If I were going back to the area, I would stay again but would check my room first.

Room Tip: Our room was 419 with the issues and our friends in 416 did not have the mold and musty smell.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your thorough recap about your stay here at the Hilton Garden Inn. We’re so happy to see that you utilized many of our wonderful hotel amenities and spent time with us here at the beach. Our weather was incredibly humid and hot this summer which caused our AC units to work overtime. We’ll certainly look into your room condition more closely to ensure we can exceed your expectations next time. Thank you again and we hope you had a fantastic vacation here in the Outer Banks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Monica, the manager, was warm and friendly when we arrived at 3am without a reservation. We were dog-tired from traveling and woefully thinking we could "get a jump on the traffic and find a place to stay along the way" as we traveled south to the Outer Banks the night before our vacation plans officially started. Boy, were we wrong! We stopped at one hotel after another -- all were booked for a dance competition (who knew?!). Thankfully when we arrived at the Hilton Garden Inn, there was a room available. The lobby was clean, open and airy and tastefully decorated for a beach location. We were welcomed and impressed with Monica and Trey, a young staffer whom she was training. Both maintained an upbeat, professional demeanor with a kind smile despite the very late hour. We were also honestly informed of a repaired water issue and encouraged to call if we noted any problems (we did-- a damp rug). We were also given a late check out, giving us an opportunity to get some decent shuteye, which was greatly appreciated. Our corner room was clean and the bed was a perfect feel of cushioned firmness. The lobby restaurant served a decent breakfast and good coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SCWTmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We are delighted our oceanfront hotel made for a great stop for you and your family on your travels in the Outer Banks. It was important to us that we accommodate you and your family with the late check out and make sure you had everything needed for a pleasant trip. We will be sure to let our team members know they did a great job upholding our values of friendly, attentive service and clean, comfortable conditions. Having our delicious Garden Grille restaurant available is also a great and convenient perk of staying with us. We do hope you will return and we thank you for staying!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018

This is our 2nd time staying at this hotel this year. While our first visit back in April was really great, this 2nd trip in August was not the best for us, mainly concerning the condition of our room. The hotel as a whole is very nice, located in a great location. with free parking provided and the beds are very nice and comfortable. And of course you have the option of a direct ocean front room, which are fabulous! The staff is also really friendly. The cons this time around : Our room had an extremely bad odor to it, like some sort of chemical smell. Unfortunately there were no other rooms to move us to so we had to deal with it. To be fair, the hotel did offer to have housekeeping come and spray something, but we felt that would have only compounded /mixed the smells. The bathroom (and the carpet of the room) did not seem to have been properly cleaned prior to our arrival. There were mold spores on the ceiling of the bathroom and the shower curtain was disgusting with mold on the bottom of the curtain. Also, the tub drained very slowly so you had to stand in dirty water as you showered. Lastly, we booked the room for 4 people. When it came time for us to shower the first night, we realized that we only had 3 towels. Took housekeeping almost 30 minutes to bring us an extra towel so the last person in our party could shower. Last time we visited we stayed on the other side of the building and had a completely different experience with our room.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartmart14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Guests do love staying with us in the Outer Banks because of our lovely ocean view rooms and friendly, attentive team members. We truly appreciate your patronage and feedback about your stay. It’s important to us to review our guest comments so we can follow-up and ensure a seamless experience where you have everything you need from check-in to check-out. Thank you for returning to stay with us and for sharing your experience. It is our hope you will return to enjoy the best of the Outer Banks with us again another time. Perhaps if you return to visit you can take advantage of our delicious dining options from the Garden Grille and make sure to schedule some time to check out the local attractions. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews