We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great escape.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear extension Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Rear extension
Living Room
Patio doors to enclosed garden/parking
Master bedroom with super kingsize bed
Twin Bedroom
Ground Floor Single Bedroom
Family Bathroom
Burghead Beach
Burghead Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Burghead, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
IdleBaldy
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great escape.”
Reviewed 22 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had such a great time during our stay at Clavie Cottage I'm tempted to write an awful review so you lot don't book it up and restrict our return visits ;-)
We arrived exhausted in Burghead after our 8 hour drive had been extended to 9 by the Krankie tribute act operating the traffic lights on the A9.
The directions provided by the owner were great and we parked off road in the rear yard. Ready for a cup of tea, we were able to brew up as soon as we walked in the door thanks to the welcome pack.
The cottage layout is superb, with the extended building providing a open kitchen dining area as you enter. As its finished in laminate flooring, its easy to keep clean even when you've been at the beach.
I am alergic to pet hair, so was quite worried I would be sneezing all week, but the place was spotless when we arrived and not so much as a sniffle was forthcoming all week.
The 3 bedrooms are all good sized and the master bedroom is unique. The views are great. I can take onboard other reviewers comments about privacy, but its easily remedied by shutting the curtains!
The general interior of the cottage is well finished and feels modern. There is a good array and standard of untensils in the kitchen.
What really made us re-book immediately is the peace and quiet. The cottage is located away from the main road in Burghead, which even mid August is quiet.
Burghead iteself is a lovely place with a working harbour and only a scattering of tourists.
A general store,post office,pharmacy and doctors are all within 300 yards. Elgin and Forres are close by with the big town facilities if required.
Overall, the cottage is a great base, whether you want to chill and stay local or travel further afield to see all Morayshire's abundent midge-free delights.
Why go West, when you can stay in Burghead and explore the stunning North East of Scotland?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet.
Liked least: The long journey.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola R
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient, and well appointed.”
Reviewed 13 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is positioned right by the point at Burghead - very close to the Pictish well, harbour, bus stop and close to the beach and emergency shops. The street is quiet; there's off-street parking and a view of the sea from the upstairs bedroom. A toilet downstairs is a boon; the bathroom upstairs is spacious and light. It all makes for a very comfortable stay, but there's so much to do in Moray you might well not be there very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The light in the master bedroom.
Liked least: Finding the utensils - but then everyone arranges their kitchen differently.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma G
Crossgates, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about this cottage”
Reviewed 29 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

When we arrived at this cottage, on the surface it appeared very nice indeed. It was spotlessly clean; the accommodation was more than adequate for our purposes with special mention going to the very warm and welcoming kitchen and the impressive master bedroom.

However, having lived in it for a day or so we started to realise that attention could have been paid to some areas which would have made our stay much, much better. Small details like having no tea in the kitchen (despite advertising a welcome pack); dead batteries in the DVD remote control, cheap and ineffectual kitchen cloths, bath towels instead of bath sheets, to name but a few could be overlooked if major things like the sleeping accommodation were better.

I am afraid to say that where some things can be done inexpensively as in the case with Clavie Cottage (bathroom fixtures and house furniture), some cannot.

The master bedroom was the biggest disappointment of our stay. The bed in this room was extremely uncomfortable and the mattress was a very inexpensive one. Also with the enormous window in that same room, although it affords a reasonable view of a patch of sea (as well as a lack of privacy to the guests since it is facing directly onto several houses and the street), one has to wonder why it is only partially furnished with black out blinds? With an east facing window the sun streams through those windows VERY early in the morning during the summer. I don’t think we slept past 6am any morning, despite investing in eye masks once we were there. Because sleep and rest on holiday is very important to us, we deliberated long and hard about leaving, so displeased were we with the uncomfortable sleeping arrangements. As it was we decided to stick it out because we only have one family holiday a year and the children loved being in Moray, as did we. However, we did leave a day earlier than planned because we had just had enough and needed to get back to our own beds!

I have to stress the most important part of a holiday to us, is resting and recharging our batteries from stressful everyday life, this decision to install inferior beds meant that we have not had a very restful break. This was not an inexpensive holiday let and because of that a certain standard is expected. It was not delivered. We will not return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was very clean
Liked least: The master bedroom although looking good on the ad was a complete disappointment
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2012
We are very sorry that you felt disappointed with some aspects of your stay at Clavie Cottage. Colin and I work very hard to make sure that our guests stay at the cottage is everything they expected and our many previous positive reviews reflect this.

Had you brought to our attention any of the things mentioned during your stay then we would have remedied them immediately but you made no mention of anything when we attended the property as a result of the extensive flood damage caused by you to the bathroom and downstairs bedroom. We dealt with this emergency which damaged the property to the extent that we had to bring in dehumidifying equipment, strip walls and ceiling of wallpaper, replace the carpet, underlay, mattress, bathroom lino and redecorate as you said at the time "in a very understanding" manner. We were upset that you left without leaving the requested contribution to the damage costs, although this was later paid when we returned the belongings you had left.

We have spent hours repairing the damage left following your stay so that our future guests holidays are not affected.

We do supply a welcome pack for arriving guests which consists of a selection of breakfast cereals,orange juice, milk, shortbread biscuits, tea, coffee, sugar and the cottage also has a supply of condiments, sauces etc. If the tea bags were ommited this was an oversight on our part and we apologise.

The towels supplied during your stay were as advertised 1 hand towel and 1 bath towel per person. I am sorry that the quality of our dish cloth didn't meet your expectations.

We will of course address the points mentioned regarding the mattress (which is a Silentnight Miracoil and only 12 months old) and curtains linings.

Our many satisfied and returning guests say that Clavie Cottage offers excellent value for money and consider the location and chance to see the Moray Firth dolphins from the picture window as a good reason to book with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Kitchen & Master bedroom
Liked least: There is nothing to dislike about Clavie Cottage.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Walkerburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A very well equipped, modern, stylish & cosy place to stay.
Liked least: No negatives to mention!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah E
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Clean, comfortable, and that fantastic view from the bedroom!!”
Reviewed 27 October 2011 for a stay in October 2010

We went to Clavie Cottage in the October 2010 half term holiday, and were very relieved to arrive after an exhausting 10 hour rail journey from the south. We were so delighted to find comfy beds, clean bathrooms, a beautiful kitchen which was so homely we loved it! We fell into beds that night. Having been dark when we arrived, we were absolutely stunned to wake up on the Sunday morning to the amazing view from the master bedroom window - the window itself takes up virtually the whole wall, and it looks out over the sea. We spent late nights and early mornings listening to the bedside radio whilst watching the boats coming and going, the stars twinkling and the neighbours coming and going - fascinating!
We were able to park the hire care in the back off the road, which was a great boost. Burghead is a lovely wee village, and has shops, and a little harbour, walks, parks and internet access at the library. We got out and about to Elgin, Forres and the Baxters Highland Village at Fochabers; we went to the little museum in Forres, and the children enjoyed the ice skating rink in Elgin. There were loads more things we could have done, but we did quite a bit of relaxing at our home-from- home!
The cottage is exceptionally clean, the equipment for self-catering is all there, and the hosts are willing to provide other bits and bobs for babies so they really can't do more. The heating works well (we needed it in October but we were never cold) and the washing machine and dishwasher ensure that nothing is too much like hard work on holiday.
If it wasn't in excess of 400 miles away, I would be going to Clavie Cottage as a regular weekend treat, and next time we go, it will be for longer than the week we had there. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was so clean and tidy, comfortable and relaxing.
Liked least: It's too far away to go more often!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
965TOB956
Brake, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Clavie Cottage and we hope that you enjoyed your visit to Scotland. As responsible owners we welcome any feedback from our guests which can improve our guests experience and stay. My husband and I work hard to ensure that everything meets our guests expectations so I have taken some time to consider and investigate your comments. It would seem from your review that Clavie Cottage was perhaps not suited to the make up of your party. If you were looking for a property with 2 full bathrooms with lots of off street parking and no seagulls then I would agree that Clavie Cottage would not be ideal and I’m sorry that you were disappointed.

When we bought the cottage and set about its renovation and extension we were aware that off street parking was at a premium and would be appreciated by our guests so we incorporated room for 1 car to the rear of the property. There is usually room for additional cars to park in front of the cottage as our immediate neighbours are not car owners. It is clearly stated on our TripAdvisor listing that the cottage has off street parking for 1 car.

Seagulls are common in Burgheads coastal location and sadly there is nothing we can do about them although I must admit we would like to at times!!

I am sorry that you felt misled as to the cottages “2 Bathrooms”. I have reviewed our listing with TripAdvisor and it is definitely specified that the cottage has 1 family bathroom and 1 toilet only. We have no control over how TripAdvisor represent or interpret a bathroom but I can assure you there was no deliberate attempt to mislead or misrepresent.
The bathroom has a heated towel rail with a large towel rail above that plus a hand towel holder. In addition there is a large bathroom cupboard for storing towels. We do have a folding airer in the cottage if guests require more space to hang towels.

Your comments that there was insufficient pans to cook a meal puzzle me slightly as I have double checked at the cottage and in total there are 6 good sized lidded pans, a 3 tier steamer, 2 frying pans, 2 Saute pans, various casserole dishes and baking/roasting tins all of which were in good condition. We are more than happy to assist our guests at any time during their stay and are only a phone call/text or email away if there is any problem or special request and would have been happy to provide you with whatever you felt was missing during your stay if you had contacted us.

Finally - my sincere apologies if you found a hair in the bottom of a wardrobe. We take great care to ensure the cottage is thoroughly cleaned in the short time we have on changeover day and have high standards. However we are only human and in this case I have obviously missed something but you can be assured that I will check more carefully in the future!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing