We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Front Desk Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

We love Rumbling Bald. Our room was nice and very clean. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed hiking the Buffalo Creek trail. The resort is a great place to stay in Lake Lure.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank CrystalM7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

CrystalM7373,
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at Rumbling Bald Resort. We are glad that you enjoyed your room, your hiking excursion, and the service you received from our Front Desk Staff! We look forward to having you stay with us again! Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Our room has roaches. Omg! I called the front desk and was told the roaches are wood roaches that are not as bad as regular roaches. Are you kidding me? A roach is a roach. I did not want to room with roaches...even if they are the “not so bad” kind. We could get an exterminator but we would have to leave for hours. All we wanted was a peaceful quiet vacation. We had no desire to be out and about because the room needed extermination!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

It is always our wish and intend to have all our guests have a wonderful experience while visiting this beautiful mountain resort community.   I do sincerely hope that you will visit with us again in the future. Thank you for contacting us regarding your recent visit to the resort.   We are sorry that you had a close encounter with a roach in your unit during your visit.  Though we have all of our units on a rotating schedule for pest control, occasionally they still can find a way in through and open doorway.  None the less, I am sure that this was upsetting to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

rambling resort in beautiful location. we stayed in condo. about 20-25 minutes to lake lure and chimney rock. golf, mini golf, lake activities, basketball, mtn bike trail. after 5 you just check in at security gate.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBRLL, Owner at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you for taking your time to review your most recent experience here at Rumbling Bald Resort, and we are glad you had the chance to take advantage of several of the fun activities we have to offer here and in our surrounding area. We hope to see you again soon and Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We have enjoyed the prime rib buffet at Legends in previous years so expected at least the same but this was a joke. We really questioned if we were served prime rib - tasted like a eye of the round cut. The salad bowl was practically empty and was only refilled when people were waiting. There were no condiments for the salad other than two dressing bowls that were also almost empty. The horseradish sauce bowl was also almost empty. The mashed potatoes were simply potatoes - nothing special. If this is to be a bistro style restaurant turn down the lights - no ambiance at all and our table setting only had a salad fork. Had to go look for a dinner fork. Serve staff was good but they had nothing to make their job easy.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Karen S,
We thank you for taking the time out of your day to review your most recent experience with us here at Rumbling Bald Resort. We are very sorry to hear that the Prime Rib Dinner was not to your expected quality. The issues you have brought up here will be addressed with our staff, so that they do not occur with anyone else. We hope that you return again soon and let us show you the dining experience you have become accustomed to in years past! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Things to know when I booked this stay the website did not mention the room was outside the main resort and up mountain from the lake. No nearby gas stations and only two currently open. Bring snacks and water. My room did have kitchenette but I must wash dishes and empty trash when I leave.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank cynthiaknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Our 3,000+ acre property is home to a private white sand beach, children’s water park, distinct dining experiences and numerous hiking and biking trails, all tailored for relaxation in our authentic mountain getaway. Therefore, our rental properties are, at times, spread out a little farther, but this is something many guests treasure about our Mountain Resort. We hope that you visit again soon, and you can go to our lodging website at any time to see pictures and get more information on any specific rental you choose. There is also a nearby gas station/convenience store about one minute from the security gate, and we apologize for that information not being presented to you during your stay here. Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us here at Rumbling Bald Resort, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Room was very pretty but had an episode of roaches in the second cabin. The kitchens had complete essentials for cooking. We will be going back next year. The scenery was gorgeous great for walking. Bear in the area was a little scary. But all in all was a wonderful week for a getaway.

Room Tip: suites are large. We had 2 families per cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwennbuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Gwennbuz,
We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at Rumbling Bald Resort and look forward to your visit next year! The wildlife here in the Mountains are free-roaming, so you may see turkeys, deer, and the occasional bear, but they are also what make our Mountain Resort unique and truly unforgettable. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

My friend had a beautiful ceremony at Rumbling Bald Resort. Her wedding weekend was filled with rented Pontoon and Speed Boats, great for large groups of family and/or friends. I would definitely recommend Rumbling Bald for a family vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Danasaur9,
Thank you for taking your time to share with us your recent experience here at Rumbling Bald Resort! We also find our ceremonies to be beautiful with our views over looking our beautiful lake. Weddings are always a hit here and everyone seems to enjoy all of the fun activities you can take advantage of while here. We thank you for your time, and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
5.2 km away
Chimney Rock Inn
Chimney Rock Inn
#4 of 4 in Chimney Rock
32 reviews
5 km away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
3.2 km away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 km away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#3 of 6 in Flat Rock
336 reviews
29.8 km away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
34.3 km away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure

Address: 112 Mountain Blvd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9852
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range: $181 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure is a picturesque mountain resort situated near Charlotte, Greenville, and Asheville. The resort is nestled at the base of majestic 2,800-foot Rumbling Bald Mountain on the north end of beautiful Lake Lure. One of the Southeast's most popular wedding destinations, Rumbling Bald Resort is great for all kinds of group functions, family gatherings, golf outings, or romantic getaways. With close to 150 vacation rentals that range in all sizes and price ranges. Each home, studio and condo on the Resort property are individually owned and each site therefore has a unique personality. Our rental sites are fully furnished, but will vary in the amenities each offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumbling Bald Resort On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing