We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in the Mountains to Relax or Play!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We visited this somewhat remote resort located in Lake Lure, NC as a precursor to a concert at the Biltmore Estate. Having read the reviews, I have to admit I was pleasantly surprised. We were in a two bedroom condo in the Mountain Loft section on the periphery of the grounds furthest from the golf course. It was clean and functional with relatively new furnishings, although the kitchen, baths and carpet were showing their age. The master bedroom was only a queen size mattress, but it was comfortable. The guest bedroom had two twin beds. The condo itself had all that we needed to comfortably relax and enjoy the beautiful, secluded view - both from the living room and the spacious decks. Even though there were cabins on both sides, it felt like we were alone. The resort has a nice indoor pool, outdoor pools, fitness center, tennis and basketball courts, and golf course on site, as well a swimming and beach area on the lake with a variety of activities on the lake. The boys had a great time kayaking one afternoon. All this together with all the local attractions in the area make this a great place for both families and those looking for a quite, restful trip to get away from the hustle and bustle. It only takes about an hour to get to the Biltmore Estate in Asheville, making this a feasible day trip. Although that is hardly enough time to enjoy all that Asheville has to offer. As long as you are not expecting a 5 star resort and are happy with clean and comfortable, but nevertheless dated accommodations then Wyndham fits the bill.

Room Tip: The cabins in the Mountain Loft Section are single level with few steps other than those to get to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doc_Brower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

This was a weekend getaway for my wife and I. We stayed in one of the condos on maple ridge. We spent 4 nights and just kinda chilled out the whole time. Due to the unusually warm fall we did have to get maintenance to come and spray for flies. But that was not a problem, because it is the south and we are use to it. We did find that very few restaurants are open and the ones that are,stop serving at 9:00pm. If you are planning to go anywhere or do anything around the lake,it may be better to do it in the spring,summer or early fall. Or if you are planning a trip to Asheville to see the Biltmore Estate(which is what we did)you can count on at least 1 hour and 10 min. Our GPS told us 11/2 hours, but the super nice lady at the Wyndham resort when we checked in gave us some shorter directions. The roads around Lake Lure are VERY curvy, so take your time and enjoy the scenery. You only live once. We will be returning to this beautiful resort in the future.

Room Tip: GPS does not get you all thw way to the resort. It shows destination about 3/4 of a mile to soon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waynelauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We had a Beautiful 1 bedroom single floor Condo in Maple Ridge overlooking the golf course with nice updated furnishings. Condo was very, very clean, not a speck of dust. Special thanks to Susan Goodwin at check in who was so helpful and friendly . The resort is spread out over many acres but that was not a problem as all onsite restaurants were within 5 minutes of condo, pool clubhouse maybe 1/2 mile. Legends Pub had great homemade burgers, mexican, chicken fingers and pizza at a good price. Chicken fried steak on Tue NIght was not good. NEW INGLES GROCERY IS ONLY 3 MILES AWAY. Biltmore House was only 45 minutes away. Breakfast at Smokehouse Restaurant at lake lure was great. We will return for future vacations.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We traveled with our teenage daughters in April 2012. The trip was just a quick week long get away. The resort is a legacy Fairfield property. Units are a mix of privately owned condos and timeshare units interwined with private residental communities.

The units are older and showing their age on the exterior but they were not rundown. The interior of the units were nicely decorated and well maintained. Brand new flat screen televisons are a plus. The both kithcens were well stocked with the usual timeshare items.

The two bedroom mountain side unit where we stayed as off the beaten track and away from the lake on one of the mountain golf courses. The lower level had the full master suite with the king size bed. The lower lock-off unit had a Pullman kitchen and space that would suffice for preparing light breakfasts and lunches. We though dinner prepartion would prove challenging in with the limited cook top burners and counter space. There is ample storage space in the lower unit. The pullout sofa is located in an upstairs sitting area. The decor was very rustic with a 1980s feel. The lower lock-off unit has a cramped feel. Despite that our kids loved having a space to call thier own.

The upstairs "main unit" is spacious and comfortable. The layout provide expansive mountain views and plenty of room. The bed in this unit is a queen size. My wife and I the matress to be extremely uncomfortable. The pullout sofa sleeper proved to be the more comfortable of the two sleep surfaces.

The resort grounds are managed by a third party or entity. Google "Rumblingbald" for area information. Lake Lure is a beautiful hide away. A car is a must.

Golf courses abound. The resort and ammenties are well maintained. The area has a small fresh water beach and marina. The golf packages/rounds were very reasonably priced.

The local zip line tour was excellent. The staff was helpful and exceptionally friendly.

We loved Larkin's On the Lake. The outdoor and the indoor restaurants present a a satisfying and enjoyable dining experience.

We highly recommend the NOC French Broad whitewater rafting trip. Well worth the money.

If traveling to Asheville take the highway. The more scenic back way is a winding up-down drive. Lots of fun, appears as half the linear milage, but takes twice as long.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RMSaintL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

If visiting Lake Lure throgh RCI, try to get in at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains. We were situated right on 1 of the golf holes with awesome mountain views in a beautiful unit. Everything was 1st class. Check in was very friendly and in a renovated home situated right on the golf course. We truly enjoyed the boat tour of the lake and the golf was very good and reasonably priced. You are close to The Biltmore Estate and many small towns around with a lot of local flavor.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We exchanged our timeshare for a week here so we could visit the Biltmore and check out Asheville as a possible retirement community. The condos overlooking the golf course were in good working order, although they show their age. The spaces within the one-bedroom unit were adequate for the 2 of us. The small deck gave us a nice outdoor space for a cup of coffee. And the resort personnel were gracious and welcoming every time we talked to them. But we're not golfers, the lake is several miles away, and Asheville and the Biltmore are over an hour's drive. We took several enjoyable drives over 2-lane, twisty mountain roads through Chimney Rock and Bat Cave but, while the visit achieved our goals, I think we'll mark the area off our "must return" list.

Room Tip: condos are set either in the trees (so the views are obstructed; think "treehouse") or ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gretchen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We had a great time. The condo was beautiful, clean and better than I ever expected. The views of the mountains even without leaving the resort are breath-taking! Very, very impressed and ready to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KeriO351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Lure hotels
1.5 km away
Fairways of the Mountains
Fairways of the Mountains
#5 of 5 in Lake Lure
28 reviews
1.5 km away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
144 reviews
1.8 km away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#1 of 3 in Lake Lure
76 reviews
4.9 km away
Grafton Lodge
Grafton Lodge
#3 of 3 in Lake Lure
17 reviews
3.5 km away
The Lodge on Lake Lure
The Lodge on Lake Lure
#2 of 3 in Lake Lure
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains

Address: 747 Buffalo Creek Rd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Lake Lure
Price Range: $90 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort At Fairfield Mountains Hotel Lake Lure
Fairfield Mountain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing