We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
58
65
26
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
65
26
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maple ridge golf course mountain loft chimney rock biltmore estate visiting asheville queen bed indoor pool great family vacation get away older units sitting room local attractions an hour's drive sand beach great place to visit apple valley
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 176 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was a weekend getaway for my wife and I. We stayed in one of the condos on maple ridge. We spent 4 nights and just kinda chilled out the whole time. Due to the unusually warm fall we did have to get maintenance to come and spray for flies. But that was not a problem, because it is the south and we are use to it. We did find that very few restaurants are open and the ones that are,stop serving at 9:00pm. If you are planning to go anywhere or do anything around the lake,it may be better to do it in the spring,summer or early fall. Or if you are planning a trip to Asheville to see the Biltmore Estate(which is what we did)you can count on at least 1 hour and 10 min. Our GPS told us 11/2 hours, but the super nice lady at the Wyndham resort when we checked in gave us some shorter directions. The roads around Lake Lure are VERY curvy, so take your time and enjoy the scenery. You only live once. We will be returning to this beautiful resort in the future.

Room Tip: GPS does not get you all thw way to the resort. It shows destination about 3/4 of a mile to soon.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waynelauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a Beautiful 1 bedroom single floor Condo in Maple Ridge overlooking the golf course with nice updated furnishings. Condo was very, very clean, not a speck of dust. Special thanks to Susan Goodwin at check in who was so helpful and friendly . The resort is spread out over many acres but that was not a problem as all onsite restaurants were within 5 minutes of condo, pool clubhouse maybe 1/2 mile. Legends Pub had great homemade burgers, mexican, chicken fingers and pizza at a good price. Chicken fried steak on Tue NIght was not good. NEW INGLES GROCERY IS ONLY 3 MILES AWAY. Biltmore House was only 45 minutes away. Breakfast at Smokehouse Restaurant at lake lure was great. We will return for future vacations.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We traveled with our teenage daughters in April 2012. The trip was just a quick week long get away. The resort is a legacy Fairfield property. Units are a mix of privately owned condos and timeshare units interwined with private residental communities.

The units are older and showing their age on the exterior but they were not rundown. The interior of the units were nicely decorated and well maintained. Brand new flat screen televisons are a plus. The both kithcens were well stocked with the usual timeshare items.

The two bedroom mountain side unit where we stayed as off the beaten track and away from the lake on one of the mountain golf courses. The lower level had the full master suite with the king size bed. The lower lock-off unit had a Pullman kitchen and space that would suffice for preparing light breakfasts and lunches. We though dinner prepartion would prove challenging in with the limited cook top burners and counter space. There is ample storage space in the lower unit. The pullout sofa is located in an upstairs sitting area. The decor was very rustic with a 1980s feel. The lower lock-off unit has a cramped feel. Despite that our kids loved having a space to call thier own.

The upstairs "main unit" is spacious and comfortable. The layout provide expansive mountain views and plenty of room. The bed in this unit is a queen size. My wife and I the matress to be extremely uncomfortable. The pullout sofa sleeper proved to be the more comfortable of the two sleep surfaces.

The resort grounds are managed by a third party or entity. Google "Rumblingbald" for area information. Lake Lure is a beautiful hide away. A car is a must.

Golf courses abound. The resort and ammenties are well maintained. The area has a small fresh water beach and marina. The golf packages/rounds were very reasonably priced.

The local zip line tour was excellent. The staff was helpful and exceptionally friendly.

We loved Larkin's On the Lake. The outdoor and the indoor restaurants present a a satisfying and enjoyable dining experience.

We highly recommend the NOC French Broad whitewater rafting trip. Well worth the money.

If traveling to Asheville take the highway. The more scenic back way is a winding up-down drive. Lots of fun, appears as half the linear milage, but takes twice as long.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RMSaintL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2012

If visiting Lake Lure throgh RCI, try to get in at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains. We were situated right on 1 of the golf holes with awesome mountain views in a beautiful unit. Everything was 1st class. Check in was very friendly and in a renovated home situated right on the golf course. We truly enjoyed the boat tour of the lake and the golf was very good and reasonably priced. You are close to The Biltmore Estate and many small towns around with a lot of local flavor.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We exchanged our timeshare for a week here so we could visit the Biltmore and check out Asheville as a possible retirement community. The condos overlooking the golf course were in good working order, although they show their age. The spaces within the one-bedroom unit were adequate for the 2 of us. The small deck gave us a nice outdoor space for a cup of coffee. And the resort personnel were gracious and welcoming every time we talked to them. But we're not golfers, the lake is several miles away, and Asheville and the Biltmore are over an hour's drive. We took several enjoyable drives over 2-lane, twisty mountain roads through Chimney Rock and Bat Cave but, while the visit achieved our goals, I think we'll mark the area off our "must return" list.

Room Tip: condos are set either in the trees (so the views are obstructed; think "treehouse") or overlooking the golf course.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gretchen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews