We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wildberry Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Greenfield Manor(Leicester)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Biltmore West(Asheville)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn Asheville - Biltmore West(Asheville)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Inn Asheville West(Asheville)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Asheville)
US$59
US$50
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
69
1
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
1
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgooseberry roomgreat roomhot apple ciderlog cabin stylewonderful hostssnacks and soft drinksan animal loverhoneymoon suiteturkey sausagesmall saunafire pitbath saltsevery morningget awaywild berrybed breakfaststayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 77 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at Wildberry Lodge for 3 nights the first week of May 2012 in the Strawberry Room. To say we were blown away by the view, the attention to detail, the beauty of the lodge and the fantastic "top of the world" view is not doing justice to this amazing B & B. The innkeepers Glenda and Ken along with Glenda's sister Pat were welcoming, friendly, and very accommodating. The attention to detail in the bedroom and common areas was wonderful. There are snacks each evening, two wine bottles kept at the right temperature, comfortable chairs and sofas throughout the lodge for reading a good book, playing a game of Scrabble or just sitting on the top deck and enjoy the fantastic view of the mountains.

There is also a lower deck off the game room with a hammock and plenty of chairs to sit in. There is a porch on the other side of the house in case it rains and an enclosed screened in porch close to the dining room to eat breakfast outside when it is warmer. It is a B & B surrounded by the natural beauty of green mountains, goats in the yard below, bird feeders attracting birds you never see in the city and their friendly black lab Chloe (she likes her tummy scratched).

We knew ahead of time, by carefully viewing the photographs on the Wildberry Lodge website and reading their information that they had hand held showers, so no surprise there and it was not a problem for us.

We have stayed in B & B's in the US and Europe and not only was the view the best, the lodge is an architectural wonder. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. My husband couldn't eat enough of Glenda's granola (she makes her own).

We hope to come back again soon and just sit on the deck of this beautiful B & B, enjoy Glenda, Ken and Pat's company and scratch Chole's tummy . . . this was a bit of paradise in North Carolina. Thank you for a memorable stay. Mary & Harry G.

Room Tip: We loved the Strawberry Room as it was on the other side of the hall by itself and the room and bathroom were a good size.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I just got back from a long weekend trip into Asheville and had stayed at Wildberry Lodge. The setting is magnificent - you simply cannot beat those views! Upon arriving we were greeted by two friendly dogs and a very nice staff member who checked us in. We also received complimentary Biltmore tickets because we booked a certain number of nights. We were given the tickets promptly upon arrival.

We stayed in the Blueberry Room which was lovely. The furnishings were very nice and the bed was nice and comfortable. Not having a shower and only a bathtub proved a little challenging and the view from our balcony was only of a steep, grassy hill but those were our only complaints about the lodge and were easily overlooked.

The breakfasts were delicious and filling and snacks and drinks (including wine!) were always made available. They even set out lanterns so you could take a walk up to their lovely fire pit in the evening, which we did. The staff was very friendly, there when you needed them but unobtrusive.

We had a lovely stay and if you don't mind the 25 minute or so drive into Asheville (it's definitely secluded!) than I would highly recommend the lodge!

Room Tip: If you want your private balcony to have a view, don't choose the Blueberry Room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MoonliteMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

Hands down the best B&B I've stayed at. We will be going back every year. Amazing!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We just returned from a 3 day stay at the Wildberry Lodge - my only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer! This is everything a B&B should be - breath-taking mountain views, delicious breakfast and snacks (and always an open bottle of wine in the common room!), well appointed but still maintaining a quaint, homey feel (although maybe that was just their sweet, lovable dogs or the adorable goats outside!), a lovely and cozy room with a very comfortable bed, and wonderful hosts. They also provide a lot of thoughtful touches - commemorative hand-crafted mugs and matching water bottles as mementos of our visit, a mini-fridge outside our room stocked with snacks and drinks, and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us upon arrival. The game room is a nice addition (billiards and a small sauna) although we didn't make use of it. This B&B is not to be missed - just a half hour outside of downtown Asheville, it is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a fresh breath of mountain air!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Wildberry Lodge is the quintessential B&B experience! Gorgeous location, comforting accommodations, excellent food and attentive service.

Our favorite thing about our stay was how purposed and thoughtful everything was. Ken, Glenda and Pat found wonderful ways to be present without being invasive. The lodge was just as beautiful and comfortable as you'd expect, but it was the little touches that really made us love our stay. Freshly made daily appetizers and wine tastings, snug robes and local hand-made mugs in our rooms, hiking lanterns and smores kits - ready and waiting just in case you wanted them! Everytime I thought "Hrm, you know it would nice to have - " I would find it already laid out.

My wife and I went out and around the area to see all the sites, but we just kept finding that all we wanted to do was go back to the Wildberry. We had a brilliant time and we know you will too!
Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: The 'Gooseberry' room has a lovely whirlpool tub and a private deck with stunning sunset view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews