We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time in a bottle”

Eseeola Lodge at Linville Golf Club
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Linville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eseeola Lodge at Linville Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linville
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Eseeola Lodge is a beautifully preserved lodge and cottages that are lovingly maintained by a dedicated staff of mainly local people. It is a small resort (advance reservations for the limited season are essential!) in a small community with a loyal clientele that thrives on repeat business. The lodge earns that loyalty with the best in Southern hospitality and a dedication to keep their guests happy. There are various activities available ranging from walks around the nice grounds and surrounding neighborhood to fishing, tennis, scenic drives, Grandfather Mountain, and a terrific private golf course where guests have golf privileges. An excellent bar and dining room
are attractive and professional.

Room Tip: Cottages are good choice for family/friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2015

My fiancé and I fell in love with All Saint's church in Linville, so we wanted it to be the sight of our ceremony. Further research led to us discovering Eseeola Lodge and its Camp, which fit right in with our rustic vision. We could not have been more happy, it was the start of a very disappointing experience.

We liaised with Barbara, the Food and Beverage Co-orinator, who seemed unreachable. I am not sure if it was because of her bust schedule, but most of my emails and voicemail messages went unreturned. Nonetheless, we made slow progress with me writing an email to confirming dates. This was followed by a site visit only to learn at the end that a member had since requested the same dates and that they have priority.

While I certainly understand the policy, I think this needs to explained in their event information. It also could have been better handled through there communication with me. A lot of time and energy was needlessly wasted.

We were warned that they do not approve of outsiders. Sadly, this has been my experience.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Service
12  Thank Kate0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

There are not many of these fine resorts (MAP) left...probably some of the best and consistent food you will ever experience ....great french chef...it maybe on the pricey side for the faint of heart, but you get what you pay for...the golf course is superb...a few minutes from Grandfather Mountain, Blue Ridge Parkway, Blowing Rock and Boone...great for summer and fall....closes at the end of October....due yourself a favor and add it to your bucket list...

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank BeachGolfNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

This was a beautiful spot -- the grounds were gorgeous! The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. The lodge has a rustic feel -- creaking floors and lots of wood -- but is also very luxurious. There's a reading room full of books, several fireplaces with comfortable seating, and a great restaurant. Would love to return.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank ChapelHillsusieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

a very unusual hotel that is totally different from the area that surrounds it - the service is pleasant but can be overwhelming at meal times when staff were often too attentive - the golf was enjoyable but it is a hard course to play for the first time as it has many hidden 'traps' - we found that all local players carried tools to retrieve balls from water!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank at72015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Wonderful...quiet and peaceful. We stayed at the lodge so we could play at the Linville Golf Course, which was equally outstanding. The food at the Lodge was exceptional and we appreciated the fact that you had to dress appropriately to eat there. So many good places today are lowering their dress standard and just bringing themselves down. Fortunately Eseeola Lodge maintains a very comfortable atmosphere while maintaining a dress code. Good for them!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomoc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015

Recently traveled up to Linville to play golf at nearby Grandfather Golf Course.
Was looking for an upscale place to stay and Eseeola was a great fit.

Having visited in late May, the hotel grounds were in great shape. Beautiful flowers and scenery around the lodge.

We took a trip on down to Blowing Rock for lunch when we arrived. (We recommend the Canyons. Small little spot, but beautiful views of the mountains. Very pretty 20min drive)

Had dinner at the lodge. Jacket required.
Good dinner, not amazing for the price. But service was top notch.

Room was great, we really enjoyed the patio for the room. Perfect to sit outside and have wine in the evening.

Only small issue was with day desk help. We had asked for late checkout (Which they did not have, until we asked 3 times) Not concerned that it was an extra $50, but rather the lady was not exactly nice the first time we asked.

Overall though, I must recommend if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PeterBurnsESPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linville
19.4 km away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
650 reviews
24.5 km away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
9 km away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
23.4 km away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
418 reviews
19.7 km away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eseeola Lodge at Linville Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eseeola Lodge at Linville Golf Club

Address: 175 Linville Avenue, Linville, NC 28646
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Linville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linville
Price Range: $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rustic lodge where guests are welcome to play golf at the nearby course. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eseeola Lodge At Linville Golf Club Hotel Linville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing