We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Choices -- Take It or Leave It”
Review of Big Lynn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Switzerland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Lynn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This lodge was very unique in that it offerred both breakfast and dinner. There were several choices for breakfast, but dinner was "take it or leave it" ;) (However, the owner told me they are glad to accommodate food preferences or restrictions if they are informed when the reservations are made.) The food was very good too -- especially the loaves of homemade bread. Considering this, the room was "bargain basement" price, but the view was nearly priceless!

To me, cleanliness is my first priority, and this place was very clean. It's old, but to me that makes it unique. I kind of like the "retro" feel of my childhood. I also prefer a "mom and pop" place to a chain. We rented a sort of cottage, but without any kitchen amenities. There are all types of lodging there though, so you need to check out their website. They are very biker-friendly, and there are lots of areas with adjoining rooms, or larger suites, adjoining cottages and such. There is a large gathering area with cozy places to read or chat and huge picture windows. You can also play shuffleboard and horseshoes, or just enjoy sitting on a bench and bird-watching.

One last point. The location of the lodge is VERY convenient, and towns in this area are small and choices are limited. We went to Grandfather Mountain on our way there, and were very grateful not to have to find a place to eat dinner. After breakfast, we went to Mount Mitchell and drove back to the lodge -- just in time to watch a huge thunderstorm come in. Again, very nice not to have to go out in the rain to find a place to eat!

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank radavis777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night on Saturday, July 2. We rented a condo unit, which was a short distance away from the cottages and main dining lodge. The condo was nice - fully equipped and clean. The balcony has a good view. The bed was uncomfortable but we managed :) Dinner and breakfast is included in your room price. When you walk into the dining room, your room number is set up on you table. Dinner was turkey with mashed potatoes, green beans and sweet potato casserole. Breakfast was eggs, biscuits and gravy. (although they have other breakfast items for order). Not bad food and it kept us from having to go elsewhere and the view from teh dining room is amazing. Benches are set up around the main lodge where you can just sit and soak up the view. The owner was very accomodating and we enjoyed talking with her. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Look at the property map before making reservations to choose your location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColumbusOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

What a amazing view! I was speechless when we arrived. It;s a shame the power lines have to intrude! The room was quaint but quite musty smelling, my allergies were really irritated. Meals were decent, and for the convenience of having breakfast and dinner fresh and hot everyday. Very pleasant people, and very clean bathrooms.I would definitely stay again, just pack some damp rid to put out while your out all day. maybe more Lysol would work? I love the rockers on the porches.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

5 friends and I just had our second great stay at Big Lynn, great people, xlnt service, unmatched view, plenty of cofee to watch the mountain sunrise and sunset, good food..we could not have enjoyed our stay more.
inutes off the Blue Ridge Parkway East of the Mississippi

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Have stayed here before and will continue to come back. Great Atmosphere , Food is outstanding. Located in motorcycle paradise. The owners and staff are the best.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bergyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Staff is friendly & accomodating. Cabins are clean & cozy; bathroom fixtures are new; mattresses & other decor could use an update. Group cabins with mountain views have a shared front porch which is wonderfully suited for group travel. Price includes home-cooked meals for breakfast & dinner. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

On our third visit here, we stayed in one of the cottages overlooking the valley. These are old but have been kept up well. Ours was freshly painted outside. Its bathroom, freshened up since our last visit, was small but very well lighted, equipped with places to set our stuff, and had an excellent heater. The room included a desk chair and two easy chairs. The beds were good, comfortable but not outstanding. Rocking chairs on the front porch looked inviting, but it was too cold then.

We liked their cooking. A full hot breakfast set us up for a day of hiking, and the dinners were ample and well prepared. They make a different entrée every day, and you have two choices: take it or leave it <grin>. Actually, it’s a bit more flexible than that. We did not inquire about a vegetarian option, but expect it would be done well and graciously, as everyone seemed interested in giving good service.

Room Tip: Check their web site for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JollyMan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Big Lynn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Lynn Lodge

Address: Hwy 226-A, Little Switzerland, NC 28749
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Little Switzerland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Little Switzerland
Price Range: $122 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lodge that features a variety of accommodations with homecooked meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Lynn Hotel Little Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing