We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View and Amazing Staff”
Review of Big Lynn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Switzerland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Lynn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This past memorial weekend 2012 & it was one on the best trips me and my husband have been on with our Hog chapter (harley owners group). We had 30+ bikes and parked with ease. Breakfast and dinner was included in price which was very reasonable not to mention the food was delicious and there was no waiting to get sat or seperation of the group. The Waite staff and owners were wonderful outgoing people eager to accomidate and very friendly. Can't wait till next time the view is amazing in itself. Thank You BIG LYNN LODGE see you again soon.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view there are some rooms facing the road without view. Though there are bench...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevr35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

We vacationed in the NC mountains for a week the first part of May 2012. Our home away from home was the Big Lynn Lodge. The owners and staff were very friendly and really cared for their guests. The views were awesome - right from our front door and the dining room. The meals were delicious and always served on time. The lodge is convenient to many great activities along the Blue Ridge Parkway. We hiked to Crabtree Falls and Linville Falls - beautiful - and just a short drive from the lodge. We also drove to the Biltmore in Asheville and it was a beautiful drive down the BR Parkway. We will be returning to the Big Lynn Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhartsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This was a Harley group of 31 bikes and the owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was fantastic and included with the cost of the rooms. This made it very convenient for our large group to have breakfast together, also when we were finished with our riding for the day we didn't have to leave again and try to find a place that could accomodate all of us.
The owners set up a fire pit, we all gathered around in the evening to have smores and socialize some more.
We do many trips with this group but we enjoyed this one the best.

Room Tip: Ask for the best view that faces the mountain side- we stayed in # 119
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjrarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Went to the mountains for mother's day weekend getaway with my daughter and granddaughter. Started each morning with a hot delicious breakfast,eggs were always cooked just like we ordered them. During the day we had such a good time, did some sightseeing and shopping. It was so nice to come back to our cozy room rest and walk over to lodge for a nice hot dinner with fresh bread. Our server Ashley, was always so sweet and very accommodating. My granddaughter was thrilled with hot chocolate served with whip cream each morning and loved having Ashley bring her desert each evening. Big cheers to Ashley. Overall i recommend the Big Lynn lodge and will definitely come back. Everyone was very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loveitalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Well what a wonderful find. we arrived at Atlanta airport for a 3 and half week trip taking in the Great Smokey Mountains and Blueridge Parkway. We had decided we would " book as we went".
Picking up a copy of the BlueRidge Parkway Guide was defiantley a good move . it was from this that we selected Big Lynn Lodge, based on its value for money, it included evening meal and breakfast, and its views. We were very pleased with our choice . Our cabin was clean and comfortable and had spectacular views from the porch out over the mountains , and the beds very comfory. The managment and staff were FANTASTIC! couldnt do enough to make our stay memorable and the food was local enjoyable and fulfilling. We would recommend this lovely mountain jewel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaraCroftWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

A friend and I saw the lodge last year while on the Blue Ridge Parkway. While planning a return trip and researching our lodging options, we selected the Big Lynn Lodge based primarily on the price - which included breakfast and dinner. Our little cabin was spotless and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable (making it difficult to get up for breakfast). The views from the front porch of our cabin were priceless! Management and staff contributed immensely to our stay due to their friendliness, genuine hospitality, knowledge of the area and its history; and excellent suggestions based on our interests. The food was fresh, filling and delicious - while taking in the beautiful, unobstructed mountain views from the dining room. Our waitresses were pleasant and delightful. We were able to look at a suite - which, in reality, is an amazing one-bedroom apartment with a balcony and more amazing views. Kudos to the Big Lynn Lodge management and staff!! You will definitely see us again!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lora W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We were on our way to hike Mt. Mitchell in the NC Blue Ridge Mtns. when we came accross a quaint little Lodge just off the Blue Ridge Parkway. We pulled in to inquire about the accomodations for a future stay. The cabins have been recently renovated including new mattresses and updated bath rooms. The Lodge owners were so charming, they had moved there from New Bern, NC to retire and bought the Lodge. The day we were there was the first day they were open for the season. Anyway, we loved the view, mtns everywhere you looked, it truly was a million dollar view. After hearing the rate for a night, and that it included dinner and a full breakfast (delicious) we decided to stay the night. Mind you we were not prepared to stay over as we were just going to hike, so we made a quick trip to Walmart for some essential items. After dinner, we sat in the rocking chairs on our porch and watched the sun set. The owner came over with hot chocolate for us around 8pm. Very tasty. The sunset was fabulous over the mountains and the sunrise the following morning with the birds singing and nature waking up was breath taking. This was truly romantic and an unexpected getaway. We are planning another trip there, but this time we will be prepared with the necessities. Take your lover, family, friends to the Lodge, you will love the experience.

Room Tip: get a cabin overlooking the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Big Lynn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Lynn Lodge

Address: Hwy 226-A, Little Switzerland, NC 28749
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Little Switzerland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Little Switzerland
Price Range: $122 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lodge that features a variety of accommodations with homecooked meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Lynn Hotel Little Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing