We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful...keep driving!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Lumberton
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Lumberton
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Booked this hotel through Wyndham Rewards program; would have canceled but we got there too late to not be charged. We typically stop in Lumberton on our trip from FL to PA and back to FL. Would never stay at this Howard Johnson again, would never recommend to anyone with even the lowest of standards. There was a terrible odor in the lobby, which should have been my first clue. When we got inside, the halls were hot, muggy and very smelly - no a/c in the hallways and there is minimal lighting. The steps to the 2nd floor smelled of stale cigarettes, there were dead bugs (roaches) and the stairwells were filthy. Got to the room to find the a/c hadn't been turned on, it took several hours to get the temperature to a comfortable level. The bedspreads had visible stains and we removed them immediately. The furnishings were on the older side, but were otherwise fine. The bathroom had a sticky floor and there was a spider in the tub. The TV worked, the clock radio ran hours fast even after setting it to the correct time. Free 'breakfast' is included - mini donuts, mini muffins, cereal, juice, coffee and make-your-own waffles. However, only 2 small tables available, so we took our muffins and donuts to go. If I knew I would be able to upload pictures, I would have taken them.

Room Tip: Don't take a room at this hotel - go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank believeangls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

I travel to Lumberton monthly and have stayed as some really poor hotels. It has always been just me and I though I could skimp on the quality to save some money, well all of those trips I have regretted. I found a great price for the Howard Johnson and thought I would give it a try. I was very impressed! From the first phone call verifying the price I found on the Internet and using the coupon I found on the city of Lumberton website, the price was out of this world. Even without the $10 off it would have been a bargain. The room was clean and very comfortable, the bed was a dream and everything was as promised. The staff was very polite and helpful and overall it was a great stay. I know where I am staying every month!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spctessnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Very friendly desk lady. Room was good size, but very musty smelling. Thought it odd that the ironing board, and iron were mounted on the wall next to the room desk. Bathroom has new floor tile, but old wall tile. Hi "MIA" , from B-hill...she signed the towel hook on the wall with fingernail polish...don't know why it's still there. The toilet seat bolt covers were missing...pretty nasty looking. The sliding glass door was in really bad shape, and very hard to open and close....I only used it to get my stuff from the car. The interior hallway A/C wasn't working, and smelled bad.....they did have the doors propped open for air. TV worked well, but no channel guide. Internet had a good signal.....but not the fastest I've seen. Bed was comfy, sheets a little thin, and see through. Somebody had written "OK" on the mattress pad and you could read it through the sheets....the pillows were written on too..."HO JO". Lots of fast food places around. All in all a 2 star hotel....no frills, but okay for a $60 room (after taxes, and Senior discount).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommyTPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

This hotel provided very good lodging at a very reasonable price. It is clean and very handy to I 95 when travelling through.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigJim171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I'm usually pretty hard to please with hotels and if there is a problem I will find it. This hotel more than exceeded my expectations. First of all, they have completely remodeled everything. The rooms are beautiful, the room looks closer to the marriot room that we stayed at in FL than a side of the road motel. They even had a recliner chair like you would have in your living room!! I have never seen that before. I appreciated the fact that the comforters weren't the typical floral print ugly hotel comforters. They had a microwave, large refrigerator, ironing board and iron, granite counters in the bathroom, a high quality leather computer chair, huge bed which was actually a king size bed- most hotel "king size beds" are the size of a typical queen bed. The woman at the desk was more than nice. If you are on the first floor you will have a huge glass sliding door that covers the wall so you can just bring things directly from your car to your room. The motel does have interior hallways. Upstairs the rooms have vaulted ceilings and outside balconies that you can actually use. The upstairs rooms have a great vibe, like a swiss tavern with the wooden beams.

I am taking a card so I can remember the location of this place.

When you first see it, you have to pay through a bullet proof glass window which makes this place seem seedy even though its not at all. Also, the lobby hasn't been redone so you can't judge the rooms with your first impression at check-in.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMalmsteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Room was clean and that is the most important thing to me! Beds were very comfortable and room was nicely maintained. Susan at the front desk was wonderful!! I will stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank messedupsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Comfortable New Beds, Clean& Plenty of Lighting inside and out. A HOJO for under $50 per night, great pit stop for travel on I-95. All you could want for 50 bucks! A wonderful restaurant steps from Lobby, "TUSCAN GARDEN ITALIAN RESTAURANT, is inexpensive($), homemade dishes and fresh- daily hand tossed pizza.
Even if you don't sleep at this HOJO the restaurant is well worth a visit. Cozy atmosphere, delicious aroma, mouth watering food and EASY on the pocket! A real treat! A change from the fast foods and cracker barrels! Will definitely stay and eat here again!
BM, Jax, FL

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsCotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lumberton hotels
0.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lumberton
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Lumberton
Comfort Inn Lumberton
#6 of 23 in Lumberton
313 reviews
3.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 23 in Lumberton
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 23 in Lumberton
188 reviews
4.1 km away
Atkinson Inn & Suites
Atkinson Inn & Suites
#10 of 23 in Lumberton
168 reviews
3.3 km away
SpringHill Suites Lumberton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Lumberton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Lumberton

Address: 3530 Capuano Rd, I-95 Exit 20, Lumberton, NC 28358-3461 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton)
Region: United States > North Carolina > Lumberton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Lumberton
Price Range: $87 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Lumberton 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pet friendly Red Roof Inn Lumberton is located centrally between New York and Florida on Interstate 95 which makes this hotel an ideal lodging destination! Fun filled activities are all just around the corner at the Carolina Civic Center, Exploration Station Children's Museum, Lumber River state Park, Briggs Park Mall, and the Cliffwood Golf Club. Education Centers like Robeson Community College and University of North Carolina at Pembroke are also just a short drive away. The Southeastern Regional Medical Center is less than a mile away. With over 20 restaurants nearby like the Village Station Steakhouse, San Jose Mexican Restaurant, Fuller's Old Fashion BBQ, a 24 hour Waffle House, and multiple franchise fast food options, there will always be good eats! The rooms at this non-smoking inn feature interior corridors, free WiFi, flat screen TV, cable television with HBO, microwave & refrigerator, hairdryer, iron & ironing board, in-room coffee, in-room safe $1.00, and work desk. Red Roof inn Lumberton also offers free continental breakfast and a seasonal outdoor pool. Complimentary coffeehouse- style coffee & tea are offered in the lobby and one well behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Lumberton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumberton Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Lumberton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing