We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always enjoy our stay here”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maggie Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alamo Motel & Cottages
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Another good stay at this friendly and clean location. There are new owners and they have really spruced up the place! Very convenient to all of the area and you feel right at home here. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Very nice and roomy cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannycrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2017

About the rating. I would give it a 5 for my past stays as I've only great experiences. However, going forward, this place just won't do.

Why? Two reasons...number one - Dawn & Mike are no longer there. Two, this place isn't going to be open during ski season any longer.

I, and my two large dogs, have stayed at The Alamo once a month for the past two years while I've patrolled at Cataloochee. The biggest treat about staying here was Dawn & Mike. It was always like coming to visit family with these two. They always greeted us with smiles & hugs (and home made dog treats.) Most importantly, they took care of my fur babies while I was at work. It was such a peace of mind to me knowing that they were being looked after by people who love dogs as much as I do.

I'm not sure what happened or why things happened so suddenly (they were there during my stay in December) but when I called to make my reservation for this month I ended up talking to the "person who owns the note", he wasn't anywhere near friendly. Kind of rude, actually. Who wants to do business with someone like that? Not me.

To me, it wouldn't matter if they were going to continue to be open during the winter - without Dawn & Mike there to make us all feel so welcome or to provide loving attention to my dogs, I wouldn't stay there anyway. Without them, this is just another motel among the many others that are in the Valley.

I'm really disappointed that we have lost our home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Staying at Dawn & Mike's pet-friendly motel is like coming home to newly-found relatives - not just for us, but our large dog as well. Dawn offers a free pet-sitting service so while you're snowboarding at Cataloochee (10 mins away) or gambling at Harrah's Cherokee (30 min), rest assured Dawn will walk and feed your "doggy baby" 2-3 times a day. She also provides dog sheets (if the dog wants to get up on the bed) and a dog towel. Communal grills & a fire pit add to the homeliness and warmth of their property.

We had a large motel room with a King & Queen bed. It's got the basics and is good value for money. The mattresses are a little soft, so for those who prefer something firmer, please note.

There are some lovely walks to take with your doggy baby, including the one around Lake Junaluska. We also had some memorable meals in nearby Waynesville, particularly at Bogart's Tavern (the Prime Rib) and the Waffle House (the only place open on Christmas Day)!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jngah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Love this place! We stayed at the motel part and it's like going to an old friends house. Dawn had our room ready and warm just waiting for our arrival. We have two small dogs that are also a very special part of our family. Dawn offers a wonderful service while we were at the ski resort where she comes in and walks the dogs while we were gone. What a relief for us to not have to worry about our pets. Room has refrigerator and microwave and is so clean and quaint. Beds are comfortable and cozy just like home. Wifi was excellent. We will be back. Thank you for the wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any room or cottage here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Pet friendly and just a charming place to stay in Maggie Valley. Could not ask for a more friendly welcome! We stayed in a room that had everything you could possibly need. We hope to go back for a stay in a cottage.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank madaramapquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Dawn and Mike were Very Friendly and Helpful. Very Cozy and Pet Friendly. Dawn even Volunteered to walk our babies while we were out sight seeing. We also got brochures and info from Dawn at Check In on things to do and local restaurants. We would Highly recommend You giving them a chance you Will Not be Disappointed.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We rented the three Bedroom Trailer on the creek and it was GREAT. Dawn and Mike run a great hotel. Very clean and comfy Good location peaceful and secure. Grills available fire pit. A large movie selection.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ourrugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
3.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
3.5 km away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
525 reviews
2.7 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Meadowlark Motel
Meadowlark Motel
#23 of 25 in Maggie Valley
5 reviews
3.9 km away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#7 of 25 in Maggie Valley
643 reviews
3.8 km away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Motel & Cottages

Address: 1485 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-7877
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range: $61 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in beautiful Maggie Valley, North Carolina, in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains. Open year round and accessible, we have 1, 2 & 3 bedroom Cottages, on & off the creek with a wonderful view of the mountains, pet friendly and free pet sitting, full kitchens, covered porches, motel rooms with 1 or 2 beds & equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker. We have an enclosed gazebo, gas grills, fire pit, picnic tables, wifi. Motorcycle Accessible "We are your home away from home, quaint, cozy & homey!" $45-$139 nt $323-$853 wk. Group discounts & military discount & ski packages available. Close to Cataloochee for winter skiing & tubing vacations, minutes from Harrah's Casino.Next door to the great Smoky Mountains National Park, 3 minutes from the Maggie Valley Festival Grounds. Take a scenic drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway & the "Tail of The Dragon" Ride the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad. We are a true "Mom & Pop" business. We will show you genuine mountain hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing