We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spyder Rally”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maggie Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alamo Motel & Cottages
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We came to The Alamo bc of the reviews. We enjoyed our stay. The rooms are dated but they were clean and nice. Our dog was welcomed. The owner went above and beyond to help us have a nice stay. They even helped us get one of our motorcycles unloaded. We will stay here again if we come back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

We arrived back to our cottage after going out to dinner. Someone had parked in the parking spot at our cabin. The lady who checked us in (I assume the owner/ manager)was behind our cabin with a group of other people. She was so drunk she could barely stand; kept telling us that we were at the wrong place, and that we could go elsewhere to park. After showing her that we did in fact have the key to this cabin and that if she would give us a refund we would gladly go elsewhere to stay, she refused the refund and staggered away. Another lady came over and knocked on the door of the cabin next door and had the gentleman move his vehicle to his alloted spot. He apologized saying that the drunk lady had told him to park there. It's our understanding that tomorrow night they have planned a kareoke party at the firepit directly behind our cabin. Wishing we could stop payment on the credit card we used to pay for this crappy place. Best advice I can give anyone thinking of staying here is.....DON'T!!!!!! We can't even get a shower tonight because there is nothing but a sheer curtain on the bathroom window that overlooks the firepit party area.The whole experience has been horrible.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lesa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We enjoyed our stay for the night here with no prior experience with other owners. The new ones will learn as they go. If we come back the area we'll stay here since it's far enough away from SMNP to avoid all the chaos.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

I had been staying here for years when Dawn & Mike ran the place. They had to give it up due to health problems. I had made reservations in January for the end of May.
When I arrived to check in, the new owner said she would be charging $20 extra a night because there was a motorcycle event in Maggie Valley. I wasn't even attending that event. That blew my budget for some nice meals.

The refrigerator froze my food as it wasn't working properly and the wifi was on the fritz.

It looks like The Alamo Motel will not be what is use to be. I'm not planning to stay there in the future.

Room Tip: Up charges for local events!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

For the past 5 years we have stayed at the Alamo every Memorial Day weekend and Labor Day weekend. When we called to confirm our reservations , we were told that Dawn and Mike were no longer there . According to the new owners we did not have reservations , had no rooms available. They would not honor our reservations or the other 2 couples that would go. Could not make out the writing , they said.. We will not stay or honor this place again. I agree with Sandra S., "What made this place so special is no longer there."

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jccherokee1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Another good stay at this friendly and clean location. There are new owners and they have really spruced up the place! Very convenient to all of the area and you feel right at home here. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Very nice and roomy cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannycrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

About the rating. I would give it a 5 for my past stays as I've only great experiences. However, going forward, this place just won't do.

Why? Two reasons...number one - Dawn & Mike are no longer there. Two, this place isn't going to be open during ski season any longer.

I, and my two large dogs, have stayed at The Alamo once a month for the past two years while I've patrolled at Cataloochee. The biggest treat about staying here was Dawn & Mike. It was always like coming to visit family with these two. They always greeted us with smiles & hugs (and home made dog treats.) Most importantly, they took care of my fur babies while I was at work. It was such a peace of mind to me knowing that they were being looked after by people who love dogs as much as I do.

I'm not sure what happened or why things happened so suddenly (they were there during my stay in December) but when I called to make my reservation for this month I ended up talking to the "person who owns the note", he wasn't anywhere near friendly. Kind of rude, actually. Who wants to do business with someone like that? Not me.

To me, it wouldn't matter if they were going to continue to be open during the winter - without Dawn & Mike there to make us all feel so welcome or to provide loving attention to my dogs, I wouldn't stay there anyway. Without them, this is just another motel among the many others that are in the Valley.

I'm really disappointed that we have lost our home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
3.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
2.7 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
298 reviews
3.5 km away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#10 of 25 in Maggie Valley
159 reviews
4.3 km away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
640 reviews
2.6 km away
Travelowes Motel
Travelowes Motel
#17 of 25 in Maggie Valley
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Motel & Cottages

Address: 1485 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-7877
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range: $63 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in beautiful Maggie Valley, North Carolina, in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains. Open year round and accessible, we have 1, 2 & 3 bedroom Cottages, on & off the creek with a wonderful view of the mountains, pet friendly and free pet sitting, full kitchens, covered porches, motel rooms with 1 or 2 beds & equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker. We have an enclosed gazebo, gas grills, fire pit, picnic tables, wifi. Motorcycle Accessible "We are your home away from home, quaint, cozy & homey!" $45-$139 nt $323-$853 wk. Group discounts & military discount & ski packages available. Close to Cataloochee for winter skiing & tubing vacations, minutes from Harrah's Casino.Next door to the great Smoky Mountains National Park, 3 minutes from the Maggie Valley Festival Grounds. Take a scenic drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway & the "Tail of The Dragon" Ride the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad. We are a true "Mom & Pop" business. We will show you genuine mountain hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing