We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crab cakes!”
Review of Old North State

Old North State
Reserve with OpenTable
Old North State is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 109 Restaurants in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile

Best crab cakes I've had this side of Maryland! Lots of space if you have a group. Great service as well.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank 732richk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 343 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2017

Spouse and I had dinner here tonight, he had a spinach salad with fried oysters which he described as by far the best he ever had. It included bacon, bacon grease vinaigrette, and goat or feta cheese. It also came with a fresh baked blueberry muffin, which could have spent a few more minutes in the oven since it was slightly undercooked. I had a flatbread pizza which was good, not great. Service was excellent. Prices were reasonable. Restaurant was crowded but the tables are spaced well.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trishDerwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile

Fantastic food! Everything tasted amazing, but it took for-ever to get our drinks and dinner, despite lots of empty tables. The appetizer and kids' meals came out at the same time as our entrees. My oldest kid got the totally wrong meal and the waitress didn't check in for at least 20 min, so he just ate it...Also, my $12 cocktail was MISSING the vodka! It was ginger juice that took 20 min to pour from the bar. Granted, the waitress comped the drink, because it took over 1.5 hrs to ever get hope of having a real drink from the bar...but by that point, my kids and husband were over it, so we had to leave. Whoever is running the kitchen needs to know who is coordinating the front of the house...because the food tastes amazing, but the hosts and servers are sadly incompetent. They were running around crazy-looking all night without appropriately attending to tables.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank CTraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2017

This is a great place to eat Danny my husband got a stake sandwhich and fries .He said it was the best fries he had ever had .Like the board walk fries at the beach . I got a flat bread with arachokes ,tomatoes ,mushrooms and feta cheese. So much food we took half home .It is right across from the Museum of Regional History.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank ddevito001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2017

This is a must stop place for lunch or dinner when in Mount Airy. Enjoy their wine tasting, and grab a bite to eat. The food is outstanding. Extremely large portions - consider splitting something.

Thank NancyOO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old North State also viewed

 

Been to Old North State? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing