We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been many times, and will be back”
Review of Murphy's Chophouse

Murphy's Chophouse
Ranked #9 of 67 Restaurants in Murphy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed January 13, 2018

The Murphy Chophouse is owned by Chef James Reaux who has cooked for Presidents and Royalty at the White House. The restaurant has had complimentary reviews by several food critics and provides excellant service and consistently good fare.

Thank chasbhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Owner at Murphy's Chophouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2018

Dear chasbhol,
Thank you for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor review for my restaurant. I appreciate your kind words and will pass them to the crew. We work hard on our food and service at the restaurant and it's good to hear when a customer recognizes our efforts.
Thanks again, James Reaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 690 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2018

Celebrated our 53rd wedding anniversary here with family. Food and service were excellent. Mark Counts is an awesome chef! We shall return!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank tssatterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Owner at Murphy's Chophouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2018

Dear tssatterfield,
Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor post for Murphy's Chophouse and rating us "5 STARS!" I'm very glad you enjoyed your anniversary dinner with us. I'll be sure to pass your comments on to Chef Mark. He's a great chef and asset to the restaurant.
Thank again, James Reaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2018

great service; very good food; reasonable prices.

we stayed for a long time and loved the environment.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank gingerscorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Owner at Murphy's Chophouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2018

Dear gingerscorner,
I appreciate you taking the time to post a Trip Advisor review for my restaurant. Thank you for rating us "5 STARS!". We have a wonderful staff that makes the restaurant extra special. I hope you join us again very soon.
Thanks again, James Reaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2018

We have been here twice, a year apart. We had the same table and the same waiter!?! The food is good, however a little over priced and too FU FU! I ordered fish one time and ask for tarter sauce, was brought some brown looking sauce (which was spicy and awful) and was told that they did not have regular tarter sauce. Really!!! MIGHT go back again!

Thank vickih2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Owner at Murphy's Chophouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Dear vickih2018,
Thank you for posting a good review for my restaurant, Murphy's Chophouse. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the tartar sauce we serve with our fish. We make all of our sauces here and the tartar sauce is prepared with capers, red onions and a touch of cajun spices. I'll be sure to have some traditional style the next time you come in. I look forward to having you back in very soon.
Thank again, James Reaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

This place was quite lovely. The food was pretty amazing to say the least. Tomato bisque soup was so on par that I really longed for a grilled cheese. Instead we got a chefs surf and turf special. He had the rib eye with lobster tail and I had the filet with shrimp. All cooked to amazing perfection. Even something mundane like a baked potato was amped up to greatness. We loved it and would go back. Due to not having reservations we sat at the bar. The bartender was a seasoned veteran who knows how to deliver outstanding service. We will definitely hit this place up again in the future. <3

Thank Angie112277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Owner at Murphy's Chophouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Dear Angie112277,
Thank you for posting a Trip Advisor review for Murphy's Chophouse and rating us "5 STARS!". I'm very glad you enjoyed your visit with us and will pass your comments on to the crew. Please come back for another visit in the near future.
Thanks again, James Reaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murphy's Chophouse also viewed

Murphy, North Carolina Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Mountains
 
Murphy, North Carolina Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Mountains
 
Murphy, North Carolina Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Murphy's Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing