We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the hill!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Murphy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Quiet place. Clean. Great breakfast! Staff, for the most part was very friendly. Would stay here again if we returned to this area. Centrally located. Room had nice fridge, microwave, and Krueger coffee set up. Only complaint, I don't care for the small hair dryers. I usually take my own for a extended stay.

Room Tip: Comfortable mattresses and pillows. Didn't use strong detergent on them either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Norm1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smcdogfan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Norm1956,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay while in Murphy and look forward to serving you in the future.

Patricia Richarme
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2016

Passing through. Picked this hotel due to past good experience with the Hotel chain. Was a bit hard to access. The road is not well marked and definitely off the beaten path. Did not have a reservation but not a problem. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Room was nice, clean and spacious. The main thing I didn't like was the price. We heard the front desk clerk telling people they were full later on as we walked through the lobby (along with the other major hotels) so I guess they'll get their price high or not. That'll probably keep us out of Murphy in the future. We didn't eat at the breakfast bar the next morning. Too much confusion and broken appliances don't help. At these prices NOTHING should be broken. Overall our stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smcdogfan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Pat P,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback concerning your stay. I'm glad you felt our staff was very friendly and you enjoyed our clean rooms as well. I'm sorry you felt our prices were high and welcome you to stay with us again perhaps during our off season when our rates are a little less. I apologize that our pancake machine was out of order that morning as well. Sometimes these machines have a mind of their own! (-:
I hope to see you again in the future.

Patricia Richarme
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here one night. It looked brand new. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Every thing was fresh and clean! The bedspread was nice and appeared new. Breakfast was hot and very good! Easy access

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank BethandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smcdogfan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear BethandPete,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you found your room fresh and clean and enjoyed our recent renovations. We work hard to ensure our guest's comfort and love to hear when we've succeeded. Please come see us again if you ever find yourself in Murphy in the future.

Patricia Richarme
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We stayed at this hotel for since it was close to the White Water Rafting and Zip Lining. It is very clean the Breakfast is great and the employees are awesome. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smcdogfan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear John C,

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback for our hotel. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your adventurous vacation! Thank you for your kind words about our staff, I have passed along your comments to them. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Patricia Richarme
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We have stayed several nights while our home was repaired. Perfect place to stay. Staff were superb. Front desk folks and housekeepers were very kind and gracious. Breakfast was terrific. If we ever stay anywhere in our hometown, this is the place. Couldn't give it a higher recommendation. Pool and fitness room were great too!

Room Tip: Beds comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smcdogfan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Ray N,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad we were able to accommodate you while your house was being repaired. Your kind words are well received and I of course passed them along to the staff.

Patricia Richarme
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

As we were driving through the mountains in Georgia and North Carolina I was checking on the holiday inn in Murphy NC. I needed two rooms for June 25th. Cell Service was on and off and somehow reservations were made for June 24th. We didn't find out until we were charged $172.57 times 2 along with the charge for the 2 rooms when we were there on the 25th. When we notified the hotel we were told that reservations were made and they refused to reemburse us. We will never stay at a holiday inn again!!! I hope they enjoy the extra money they received because it's the last they will ever get from us.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank cheryl0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smcdogfan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Dear Cheryl0520,

Thank you for your candid feedback. As I tried to explain to your husband before he so rudely insulted me, we are required to hold all guaranteed reservations until 11am the next business day. We had no idea the reservations you made for June 24th were made in error. We were completely full and as stated previously, we had to hold your rooms. Therefore the charges stand. You would also have received a confirmation email for BOTH sets of reservations made though the internet. In the future please be sure to check this when booking rooms at any chain to avoid this problem again.

Sincerely,
Patricia Richarme
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

This is the best IHG property for 100 miles. It's newly renovated and the oversized rooms have large HDTVs with good reception, new linens, and a Keurig coffee maker. They also take good care of IHG Membership Rewards elites. Everything about this hotel feels new.

I moved here from the HIE in Hiawassee and the difference is night and day (the Hiwassee property is dated and filthy). It is worth the drive to Murphy!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphy
5.0 km away
Hampton Inn Murphy
Hampton Inn Murphy
#3 of 6 in Murphy
403 reviews
6.5 km away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
5.0 km away
Best Western Of Murphy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Days Inn Murphy
Days Inn Murphy
#4 of 6 in Murphy
292 reviews
34.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Blue Ridge
32.0 km away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy

Address: 130 Holiday Dr, Murphy, NC 28906-8111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Murphy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Murphy
Price Range: $148 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murphy offers fresh air and amazing scenery of the Blue Ridge Mountains while also bringing you to the heart of the whitewater rafting, hiking and biking capital of the mountain region!Conveniently located to area manufacturers and hospital, as well as three states and three beautiful lakes for fishing and boating. Cave dwellers and rock climbers love us as well! Our small town hospitality and convenience to local restaurants and attractions will keep you coming back again and again. After a long day of work or play, unwind in our indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Standards, suites, and Jacuzzi rooms available, all with refrigerator and microwave and high-speed wireless Internet. Two full non-smoking floors. Hotel features include complimentary Continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Murphy, NC and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy Hotel Murphy
Holiday Inn Murphy
Holiday Inn Express Murphy
Murphy Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing