We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service”

Kelly's Outer Banks Restaurant and Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Celebrating 30 years as a family owned and operated local's favorite, Kelly's features angus beef, chicken, pasta and vegetarian dishes, highlighting North Carolina Outer Banks Catch seafood! Enjoy a wide range of menu options from raw bar selections, grilled, broiled or fried fresh fish to steamed oysters, clams, shrimp and crab legs. Kelly's is famous not only for their fresh seafood dishes but for their mouth-watering sweet potato biscuits and made from scratch delectable desserts - made in house daily. Kelly's offers an extensive Wine Spectator award-winning wine collection that will complement any meal. The Executive Chef and culinary staff will accommodate gluten-free and other dietary requests. Families and groups large and small are always welcome and easily accommodated at Kelly's. Kid's menus are available. Kelly's boasts a AAA 3-Star rating and has been featured in Bon Appetit, Gourmet and NC's Our State magazines and numerous other publications. Dinner seating is Monday-Thursday from 4:30 until 9 pm, Friday-Saturday from 4:30 until 10 pm (except Christmas Day). The separate full-service tavern features nightly entertainment that has showcased not only the best regional bands but national acts as well. You can reserve space for a private party, including the tavern, or you can secure Kelly's for premier catering services with or without wait staff. Casual dining at its best with a unique, one-of-a-kind collection of local art, artifacts and Outer Banks memorabilia displayed throughout - Kelly's is must on your dining To Do list! Late night at Kelly's Outer Banks Tavern features live music, DJ's, karaoke and bar menu. Hours Monday-Thursday from 4:30 until 12 midnight, and Friday-Saturday from 4:30 until 2 a.m.
Reviewed November 10, 2017

We have eaten at Kelly's several times over the years. While the service staff is good and cares a lot, sometimes the wait is longer than it should be. While the food is consistently good it is not outstanding. Very large restaurant that sometimes does not seem to be staffed well enough to handle the volume.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank nightowljeff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 526 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2017

For a long time, we have visited Kelly's with another couple and have never been disappointed with the food. Love the atmosphere in the main dining area with high backed booths for added privacy. We will miss the Kelly's experience.

Date of visit: October 2017
2  Thank mimi242017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2017

I had a really good dinner - I choose the smoky filet Oscar. It was done just as I asked.. But go there for their biscuits-they melt in tour mouth! (Kelly's will give you the recipe,)My dinner was very good. Just enough - I wasn't over stuffed and had room for dessert. We were there on August 31 - still the vacation season and the place was packed. We waited about 15-20 minutes. Service was OK but the server was very busy, I had to ask twice for my beverage and it took a long time to get it. Give this restaurant a try.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kkh8306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2017

Suprised to read some poor reviews, that was not our experience at Kelly's. They seated us (table for 4) even though they were serving an employee's wedding reception that night. Our waiter was very attentive and our meal came quickly. We later found out the waiter had been working for a 12 hour shift due to a catered event earlier but he did not give us an impression of being tired or anxious to go home. My scallops were the best I have had in a very long time. All our meals were excellent. The sweet potatoe biscuits were delicious and the restaurant was recommended by a local couple who have been on the island for over 30 years so we took their advice and are glad we did, Chocolate cake and key lime pie for dessert was awesome. Also thought the ambiance and decorating was comfortable and well done. Would definitly go back again.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

We've been patron's of Kellys for 20+ years.. The food is always good and the service is always good.. I dont mean this in a bad way..but Kelly's is such a tourist trap..so during the Sumner months.. Prepare to wait for a table, because all the people from New will be in front of you.(new York,new jersey, new...)

Kellys does have a full bar and a dance floor ...

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank johnnyquest111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellysOuterBanks, Public Relations Manager at Kelly's Outer Banks Restaurant and Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Thanks so much for your review and suggestions! We hope you come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kelly's Outer Banks Restaurant and Tavern also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing