We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
24
0
1
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
0
1
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great cottage off season the outer banks pat comfort beach ocean
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 30 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2015

Rented Cottage #5 in February, which is very very off season and VERY affordable. The weekend we picked to visit NC was probably the coldest in history! The cottage was great. Homey, clean, well equipped and perfect for our extended family. It stayed warm, even in 19 degree weather! The owner, Pat was awesome while booking and checked on us while there (via e-mail), to make sure we were doing ok in the high winds and cold temps. I saw other comments about wifi, and we had no problems with internet connection. There are two TV's in this unit, one in the living area and one in a bedroom with a queen bed. We rented linens and they were clean. The kitchen was stocked with necessary utensils, pots, pans, etc.

I would love to come back when it's warmer.

The only negative about this property is the small dune you have to climb to get to the beach. If a renter was elderly or had physical difficulties, it may be hard to get to the beach. This may not be an issue in high season (maybe they make a path?), but still worth mentioning.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
6  Thank thefarmingtonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2014

You will not find a place on the beach cleaner and so well maintained for the money than JP Cottages. From the decor, to the cleaning staff, to the location in my opinion was all top notch. My wife has already given me the thumbs up to re-book next year.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2014

Stayed here for 4 night in late September. This is already offseason, so this was ridculously affordable. The cottage we rented (JP5) had 4 spacious bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, along with a large lving room/kitchen space. The kitchen has every possible cooking, baking or serving dish needed. Also included, a great enclosed porch for eating or simply resting and taking in the ocean breeze, and an open balcony right outside it. This cottage is over the office (which is part of the same building) in case that matters. Beyond that, w were 30 seconds from the vast clean beach. It was too cold to actually go in, but walking, playing (trying to throw a nerf ball in the wind), kiting and shell collecting are always a viable option. It's about a 10 minute drive to the supermarket, and offers very convenient access to Bodie Island and south to Rt.12 toward Hatteras. Linens and towels are not provided, so you should bring those (or rent them from the owners).

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
3  Thank Zekebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Right on the beach, perfect cottage, spotlessly clean, huge walk-in shower with plenty of hot water and very well furnished. Near everything you could want. Friendly and helpful staff. We LOVED our stay and will be back!

Room Tip: JP2 - perfect for couples!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

I have been staying at JP Cottages for years. The location is awesome. Can't get any closer to the beach. Cottage has always been clean and comfortable. Beach is not crowded. Great place for families. We have made this our yearly vacation spot.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews