We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bodie Island Lighthouse

Bodie Island Lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Outer Banks Horseback Ride
Ranked #2 of 40 things to do in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An interesting and still important lighthouse that can be visited but not climbed. (NOTE: The lighthouse is currently under construction, and is expected to re-open in summer 2013, with the ability to be climbed for the first time)
Marengo, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We got there after closing, so we have no idea what is inside. We were able to walk along the boardwalk to an overlook of the marsh area. It was beautiful and we took lots of pictures. Next time we will get there earlier.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank threeredheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    812
    398
    102
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
148 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Easy visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Easy drive from Nags Head, nice visitors center and grounds, very cool to see how it was done back in the 1800's. Worth a stop for all.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank PizzamanMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great smaller light house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This light house was a good as its larger friend just South on the shore. It was under construction as it suffered hurricane damage but worth the 5 minutes it takes to stop and shoot a few pics.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kmonstrola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The Bodie (pronounce Body) Light is nice and certainly worth going to see. But it was being renovated while we were there, so all our pictures contain orange fencing.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank amyla321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Great historic place to stop and see. I love American history and this is a must for people who are the same. Very neat to hear what went on back in 1872 there. We had a great conversation w/ a Park worker and she told us a lot of the history. If you take the boardwalk outside to the water and if mosquitos bother you, you better take your OFF.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank CHold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bodie Island Lighthouse also viewed

 
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to Bodie Island Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing