We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much fun and FREE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jockey's Ridge State Park

Jockey's Ridge State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$16.91*
and up
Beach Cruiser Rental on the Outer Banks
Ranked #1 of 40 things to do in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two of the highest sand dunes on the East Coast are located here, providing excellent take-off points for hang gliders.
Marengo, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“So much fun and FREE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We had a great afternoon on Jockey's Ridge. First we climbed that massive hill then flew kites at the top. Then the kids rolled down the hill, climbed back up and rolled down again. They would have done that for hours. I suggest taking a chair, then letting the kids go wild. Be prepared for sand in funny places when you are done!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank threeredheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,182
    328
    53
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grandy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great annual (or more) climb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

It's great climbing up and looking across the ocean and sound. Beautiful, liberating and even better when all the kites are out and flying!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Please Carefully review terms and conditions before signing in for one of the Hang gliding lessons”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I have recently visited Jockey's Rdige State Park with my teenage Son, Daugther and a firend and his teenage son and registered for a 3 hour Hang gliding session. Apperently the session was cancelled due to strong wind. The school declined to fully refund the fees due weather related cancellation. They stated that it is their policy to refund partially, that is 60%, due to unintentional cancellation. It seems really odd to me because I was visiting outer banks for the first time from Virginia and am not familiar with the weather pattern in the outer banks area at this time of the year. While it is understandable that they can cancel a session due to weather condition but it is not understandable why customer are being "ripped off" for weather related cancellation. Please carefully pay attention to their refund policy before signing for these session.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Obaid2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“take off your shoes, roll up your pant legs and take an amazing hike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Such a unique park, I am so glad we stopped for a quick hike to the top of the dunes. The views were great and the patterns in the sand fantastic!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ru2020bmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Obligatory stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012 via mobile

Nothing is better than rolling down a sand dune - at least if you're a kid (gets a little too gritty in the shorts for me). Great views, and watching amateurs wreck hang gliders is always good fun

Helpful?
Thank BobCStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jockey's Ridge State Park also viewed

Nags Head, Outer Banks
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to Jockey's Ridge State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing