We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't be worse”
Review of Grog's Watersports

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grog's Watersports
Ranked #27 of 40 things to do in Nags Head
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get Wet at Grog’s! We're the premier spot on the Outer Banks for your watersports fun. Enjoy the thrill of parasailing or the excitement of waverunner, kayak or dolphin tours. We offer every water adventure imaginable. You can also rent waverunners, kayaks and boats. When you're done with your activity, bring a lunch and enjoy it at one of our picnic benches on the beach. We take online reservations to make your vacation planning easy.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Couldn't be worse”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Grogs cancelled on us twice in a span of three days, once for a dolphin tour and once for parasailing. No phone call, nothing. Just "we're not going out today". Awful, Awful establishment. Do not book here unless you want your vacation ruined.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dolphin tour was bad! Wouldn't use grogs.”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Bad weather. They should have known of pending storm. Everyone soaked and freezing. The captain steered towards an obvious storm in an effort to find some dolphins over an hour into our trip. Very irresponsible. Trip was a total bust.

Helpful?
3 Thank Patravelingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dolphin Watch boring... Go to other one up the bypass!”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This tour sucked. I've don the Nags Head Dolphin Watch which is up e road and it was way more fun and informative. He first mate seemed like she was stoned.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Sween9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nevada ohio
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very cool kids loved it.”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I didnt go up in the parasail but my wife and kids did,I stayed on the boat with the guides.I had a blast with the guides just talking with them and the wife and kids had a blast up in the sky.the guides i believe were capt AL and a guy named jason.they both seemed to know what they were doing,and were very easy to talk too.I have to say they did it right and worked well with kids and adults.It was very cool.and i would do it again.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank jeromy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun teen activity!”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

There were 8 teens in our party and we had a blast on the wave runner tour. Our guide was DJ and he was excellent! It is a great way for teens to unload energy and cool off on a hot afternoon We saw dolphins as well. It was worth every penny and succeeded our expectations.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank etnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grog's Watersports also viewed

Nags Head, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Grog's Watersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing