We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A very nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sail Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sail Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 New Bern B&B and Inns
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

This is a very pretty, elegant B&B in New Bern. We were recommended to The Sail by another B&B that was full up, so we called unannounced and received a very warm welcome. Luckily they had a lovely room on the ground floor that was spotlessly clean and very attractively decorated. The hosts were nice people and made a very good recommendation for dinner. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flashmanengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

I arrived with my Fiance and Mother to a great big welcome by Mike and Karen. We occupied 2 of this magnificent Bed and Breakfast Room from March 6-9th and had an amazing time. Mike and Karen (Amazing people) were gracious hosts. The recommended many fun and enjoyable things to do in New Bern. They even prepared a birthday cake with candles for my Fiance's birthday and we had an amazing night. This B&B is within walking distance to downtown New Bern. It is a very easy drive to the ocean and some great sea food. Rooms are kept very clean and have great decor! Awesome Job Mike and Karen!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rthines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

From the minute we arrived until the minute we left our experience was pure delight. I will just say that we experienced all of the positives mentioned in previous reviews. We were continually surprised at so much of the experience and how it exceeded what could have been expected. Also, the location is very convenient and the price extremely reasonable. Will go back (hopefully soon).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coreway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

Sail Inn is a charming and nicely appointed B&B, and the host and hostess, Michael and Karen could not have been nicer or more helpful. This is the my second trip to New Bern on business that I have stayed at the Sail Inn. After exausting all the other possible accomodiations in New Bern, I have decided that this is the best place to stay for the money and quality of accomodiation.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherrybmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

The service at Sail Inn was great. Michael provided us with tons of information about the town as soon as we got there, and helped us to focus our short visit. The room was comfortable and clean, the bed was a dream. Our hosts were very generous and upgraded us to a larger room that was vacant, had cookies and chocolates waiting for us in the room, and a good selection of teas, juices and coffee available at all times to us downstairs. Breakfast was fresh and tasty and simple. The Inn is very conveniently located in the heart of the historic district so we didn't need our car until we were leaving town. The neighborhood was so peaceful yet within a minute of all of the shops and restaurants and sound.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim45345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

Karen & Mike underscore true hospitality & offer a comfortable place to lay over a couple of days.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hcram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastover, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

The entire experience was wonderful. The owners were so personable; the home is lovely and clean. The bedrooms were gorgeous and comfortable. Breakfast was a variety of delicious items to include many fresh fruits and baked items and several choices of beverages. The inn is so close to downtown we did not drive while in the area. Loved it. and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aadcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.9 km away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
1.1 km away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
3.2 km away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
3.2 km away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sail Inn

Property: Sail Inn
Address: 714 Pollock St, New Bern, NC 28562-5638
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sail Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sail Inn, a bed and breakfast guest house in New Bern, NC, we strive to provide an intimate personal setting in a quaint, historic home. It is a simple Inn reflecting a quieter time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Sail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing