We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, scrumptious breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanna House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 New Bern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, scrumptious breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Located within walking distance of the river, restaurants and shops the Hanna House is one of the nicest B&B's we have ever stayed at. The hosts were extremely accommodating, the room was lovely, and the breakfasts were indescribably delicious! We stayed in the Bates Room and it had a wonderful jacuzzi tub, a comfortable king size bed, and was impeccably clean. We truly enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back one day soon. We highly recommend the Hanna House!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandBgalNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    12
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
40
153
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southern CA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Stayed in the Bates room for two nights in October and it was, by far, the best B&B/hotel experience EVER! Amazing home, absolutely spotless rooms (and I am VERY picky), delicious meals and within a stone's throw of downtown New Bern (restaurants, the river and shopping) and all that it has to offer. The Bates room is very nice and the jacuzzi tub is perfect for a nice, relaxing soak! The price was more than fair for what you get. Cannot wait to return!

Try Morgan's around the corner. Great food and fun bar!

Room Tip: The jacuzzi tub rooms are really worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAllMyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed at the Hanna House in October for our friend's wedding for three nights. Very clean & comfortable. The hosts Camille and Joe were very welcoming. Breakfast was amazing. We'll definitely will stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Breakfast is definitely the highlight of this B&B. Each day we were able to choose from a wide selection and each day's offering was 5 star. The location is in a quiet neighborhood which was perfect for relaxing bike riding. Our hosts provided excellent recommendations for restaurants, bike paths, and attractions. We will definitely stay again the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: I don;t think any of the rooms in this B&B are bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RG59Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at the Hanna House during a trip to North Carolina. New Bern is a wonderful historic city and we found the Hanna House to be well located in the historic area very close to all amenities.
The hosts welcomed us and showed us to the room which we had chosen from the website. We found it to be very comfortable. The entire house was furnished in keeping with the historic nature of the building, with many attractive features.
The hosts are extremely proud of their breakfasts, with justification. Ours was extremely good. We certainly recommend this B&B and would stay there again if we revisit the area.
Richard & Gwen

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardmsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Camille and Joe have a marvelous way of making guests feel like friends. The cuisine (and they are pros) was beyond delicious, the choice was ours (they can accommodate any taste) and their flexibility was total.
The house is utterly charming and so clean you can eat off the floor (but the dining room is SO much nicer) and they are within walking distance of lovely New Bern downtown. Marina fun, shopping and historical tours are easy to find.
Been there several times and any time I plan to be in the area Hanna House is where I want to be.
Sharon

Room Tip: The German Mill Room has a lovely spa tub and front views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambushedbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We made a reservation and it was confirmed by email three months ago. After a 6 hour drive we arrived just before 5pm on our reserved day only to find they had mistakenly reserved us for our room the day before. They told us they would "work things out" and to come back in 30minutes. We returned only to find they had no rooms left- all they had to "work out" was to tell us about another b&b a few blocks away that did not compare at all to the room we had reserved at Hanna House. Be careful if you make a reservation here!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbinOly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 km away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
0.9 km away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
4.0 km away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
2.9 km away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanna House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanna House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hanna House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 218 Pollock St, New Bern, NC 28560-4943
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanna House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hanna House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing