We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Second year in a row here, love the hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Islander Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Islander Inn
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Second year in a row here, love the hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

This was our second year in a row to Ocean Isle Beach and our second stay at The Islander Inn. Rooms are clean and beautiful overlooking the beach and ocean. We booked two rooms adjacent as we had family traveling with us. Beds could be more comfortable, a little hard for my taste, but overall very nice. Breakfast was the usual continental fare, nothing special, but the woman running the dining room was great - friendly and talkative. The outdoor pool was wonderful and the Tiki Bar - awesome! Our bartender, Monica, was there two days and suggested drinks we might like, new things we had not had before, wonderful concoctions. She was fantastic! Our adult kids used the indoor pool and hot tub and gave them a big thumbs-up. Only problem we had was that the wireless internet went out after our first day there and we could not use our laptops or tablets unless we were in the hotel lobby or breakfast room. This occurred last year when we stayed there as well. They have a nice gazebo overlooking the ocean and it is just a short walk down the steps to the sand. Love this place!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in buildings 3-7, 1 and 2 overlook the pool and you can't see the beach very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieWilliamson, Front Office Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn and are eagerly awaiting your next visit! We sincerely value repeat customers such as yourself and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you very soon!
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    160
    63
    27
    15
See reviews for
170
192
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

First off let me say that the staff (Carla) was just great when we checked in. We had planned to travel with our pets, and had booked a pet friendly room. We however were unable to travel with them and upon letting Carla know at check in , she quickly moved us to another room with no waiting. Our check in was smooth and quick and our oceanfront room had a great view. We unpacked quickly and hit the beach before sundown..spent an hour or two walking the beach and enjoying the ocean. When we went to bed that night we noticed that the mattress was totally worn out on our bed. It was lumpy and uncomfortable, the room felt damp, and for lack of a better word smelled like "pee". We tried turning the heat on low to see if that would help while we were out the next day but that seemed to make it worse. The second day we were out we turned on the air conditioning and still dampness and smell when we returned. We only stayed 2 nights and were out during the days. Had we stayed any longer I would have asked to be moved to another room. The experience was so unpleasant that we got up at 6 am our last day, packed and left, because we were so uncomfortable. I have stayed at many ocean front rooms and never had one that was this damp and smelly. The grounds are well maintained, and you are just a few feet from the ocean. The breakfast was like any other continental breakfast , cereal, waffles, yogurt, bagels. We enjoyed the city of Ocean Isle, it was picaresque and well landscaped, we were there a little early in the year for some of the outdoor attractions, but enjoyed it none the less. Unfortunately I don't think we would choose to stay at this inn again. It may be that we just got a bad room, but I don't think I would chance it for another stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ncsoapmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Though we are delighted that you took notice of our wonderful staff and the amazing ocean view, we sincerely regret that your experience at our Inn was not to your satisfaction. We take feedback very seriously and will investigate your report and address any issues we find. I can assure you that your experience is not typical at our hotel. We truly hope you will consider giving us a second chance on a future visit to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

It was very nice! Was just what we were looking for! The staff was very nice. We will be going back! We arrived on a Sunday Morning. There seemed to be a church services going on right down the beach. I only hope that it was a regular thing and nice to know for next time we go.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit to beautiful Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedmont of NC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

2nd trip to Ocean Isle and have stayed at the Islander Inn both times. We ABSOLUTELY love it!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elygirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn and are eagerly awaiting your next visit! We sincerely value repeat customers such as yourself and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you very soon!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

I want to begin by complimenting Starla and Jessica on their outstanding customer service during a trip that my sister and I took last week. We had booked our room a few weeks before coming to celebrate her graduating, the end of another semester for me, and the start of summer vacation. Upon making the reservation, we weren't planning on bringing my sister's dog, Cali, so we booked a regular room. When we arrived (and early at that), however, we had decided to bring her along and completely forgot to see if they had pet rooms available! Instead of handling our situation like it was an inconvenience, Starla and Jessica were completely accommodating and were even happy to show us pictures of their own pets! Not only did they help us check in early into a pet-friendly room and switch our reservation around, they were more than happy to help us with a late check-out which gave us the opportunity to enjoy more time on the beach. If you are thinking about staying on Ocean Isle Beach, the Islander Inn is definitely where you need to go! The staff is super friendly and will go out of their way to make sure that you have a great experience and will make you want to stay there over and over again! (PS- don't forget to get that bowl of dog treats!)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit to beautiful Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floyd, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

I spent 2 nights at the Islander Inn last week. My family gave me an early Mother's Day gift, a trip all by myself!! I called several days before coming and was able to book an oceanfront king room. No problem with check-in. The room was on the second (top) floor and was clean and spacious. It had a small refrigerator and a microwave. The balcony was wonderful, with 2 chairs and a small table. All staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was fine, with bagels and waffles and good coffee. The outdoor pool looked good but was still cold. The beach is steps from the inn and is wide and clean.
For the price, I thought it was a fantastic value and I will certainly be back. I might even bring my family with me next time : )

Room Tip: Oceanfront, on the top floor, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annabellesma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit to beautiful Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

If you are looking to reserve a block of rooms, save yourself the aggravation and book elsewhere. You can find better accommodations with more professional staff anywhere else for the same price or better. The Islander staff didn't book my block of rooms correctly when I called a month in advance to reserve the block. Carla is the only staff member who handles block scheduling. When the rest of my block of rooms was released prematurely without warning, I learned my reservation was not booked properly. After going around in many frustrating circles with Carla, who was completely unapologetic, unwilling to help rectify the situation, and would not give me a straight answer as to how the problem occurred, I asked for a manager. Marnie, the manager, was not available. I asked for the corporate phone number. Carla actually refused to give it to me. She was even sarcastic to me -- I am still astonished by how rudely I was treated. Then after we went around in more circles, she hung up on me! I was in tears after I got off the phone with her -- with a week to go before my wedding. These are the excuses I was given by Carla for the premature release of my block of rooms, none of which I was advised during my initial call to reserve the block:

1.) It is up to management's discretion to release a block of rooms at any point
2. A block of rooms automatically releases after 45 days
3. Since I wasn't having my wedding at the Islander, Carla didn't actually have to book a block of rooms for me at all. Apparently they only block for weddings they are doing and family reunions held there. Which I was not told prior to booking my block of rooms.

Even though I had given my phone number for a manager to contact me back, I never got a call from Marnie or anyone else in management. Not a surprise. I literally had to Google the Islander's corporate office and call management myself. I was told by corporate that I should have received a room agreement when I booked the block -- never got it. Carla never even mentioned such a thing. At least I received an apology from corporate and some form of accountability, but the damage had already been done. There I am, in tears, forcing my guests to make alternate accommodations one week before their arrival in town. As a customer service supervisor, I can tell when the service I'm receiving is the bare minimum or less. My experience at the Islander was definitely less than bare minimum. No compensation whatsoever for all of my stress and inconvenience. I felt like they could care less about me as a customer and the thousands of dollars worth of guests I was bringing with me.

Oh, and my experience with the place itself -- when we checked in, right there in the lobby one of the housekeeping staff was having a discussion with her manager about mistreatment. Not such a resort-style ambiance after all. Also, the Soundfront rooms give you a view of the road, not the Sound. You would need your binoculars to get a good view of the Sound from the Islander. For the price, you can definitely find better accommodations and more professional staff anywhere else. In retrospect, I wish I had never, ever tried booking a reservation at the Islander Inn. I feel literally traumatized after such a terrible experience marred what was supposed to be a very special trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ms-gnomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.1 km away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
25.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
8.9 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
22.3 km away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#4 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
11.7 km away
Days Inn Shallotte
Days Inn Shallotte
#1 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Property: Islander Inn
Address: 57 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing