We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Laid Over for a night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sand Dollar Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sand Dollar Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia pa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Laid Over for a night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Needed a reasonbly priced, clean and comfortable room for one night on Ocracoke due to an early ferry ride in the morning at the end of our vacation in Hatteras.

So we spent the day in Ocracoke visiting small shops and eating.

The motel itself is well maintained and managed. It is a small familty operated business that happens to be on the market. The room was clean, bathroom spotless and the grounds themselves were also well maintained. It is two blocks off of Highway 12, which is a plus. As anyone that has been to the island knows this is the main thoroughfare through town.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfarina8150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    30
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
38
46
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sanbao184
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

A nice place to stay with a comfortable bed. Exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanbao184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We loved our recent trip to Ocracoke and and a big part of that was the Sand Dollar Motel. It was just what we were looking for -- close to everything but a little off the beaten path, clean rooms, great atmosphere, and a good price. We will definitely be back there. One tip -- walk down the street to the crepe stand for fresh crepes just like you would get in France!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Haven't been to Ocracoke for close to 20 years, but spent a considerable amount of time here as a child, and wanted to share this unspoiled island with my kids. The Sand Dollar Motel was a joy! Much like the island, only a few creature comfort updates- anything fancy would not fit this island. Room was clean, staff was friendly, and the pool was quite refreshing after a day at the beach. The location is perfect- short walks to most places you need to get to! If you are looking for a quiet, clean, economical place to stay, the Sand Dollar is your answer!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 402fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Older motel that has been renovated with new modern bathrooms and shining knotted pine walls. Manager Roger is awesome...very helpful and friendly. Great price too. Best value on the island.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

This motel was charming. Roger, in the office was very helpful and nice. The rooms were very clean and perfect for what we needed- a place to sleep and shower. The pool area was clean, secluded and relaxing. Great location. Off the main road, but still within walking distance. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Nothing fancy, but very clean. Small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lvthebeach3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grottoes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

My family of 4 made our venture to OcraCoke for the 1st time last week. We stayed at the Sand Dollar Motel and all reviews were accurate. This is a sweet little hotel set back many years in time. The management was wonderful and housekeeping staff very sweet. The rooms were on the smaller side but well kept, clean, and crisp. The motel was a short walk from all restaurants and shops.


My tips for your trip:

Plan for early dining and shopping as we found most everything closed by 9:30. We didn't bring a wagon, but our 6 year old daughter would have had a much better trip if we had...hint..hint..to all of you moms and dads. Town wasn't crowded but a bit busy. There are many pedestrians/bikers that you need to watch out for at all times.

A MUST for all families is a short hike, (10 minutes if that) to Springer's Point. It's very close to the light house - ask the locals for directions. We found tons of live hermit crabs there on the shore. That was the best part of our trip!!! The parking for Springer's point was non-existent however. My husband and I had to take turns driving around while the other took the children down to see the sights.

Drop your SUV tire pressure to 20 PSI and cruise out on the beach! We seemingly had the entire beach to ourselves down any beach path we took! We packed lunch and enjoyed hours of undisturbed sun and sand. This trip without a doubt was one of the best family vacations we're shared yet!

If you're undecided about a trip here, think no more....once visiting this beach it will be hard to find another that will ever compare.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
28.3 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
29.4 km away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
28.1 km away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 km away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices

Been to Sand Dollar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dollar Motel

Property: Sand Dollar Motel
Address: 70 Sand Dollar Rd., Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Sand Dollar Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing