We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“"Home" in Ocracoke” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sand Dollar Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sand Dollar Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Westerville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Home" in Ocracoke”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

The Sand Dollar Motel is one of the best kept secrets on the Outer Banks. . The rooms are comfortable, reasonably priced, and a short walk or bike ride to anywhere. The owners do their best to make you feel welcome and your stay enjoyable. Although we have visited Ocracoke as a day trip from the main island for more than twenty years, we have been staying at the Sand Dollar for the last five summers; we now think of it as "Home."

Room Tip: Book your stay early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    30
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
38
46
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Mo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Staying in this motel is actually one of the reasons my visit was so amazing. They went above and beyond what was expected. Such nice people. It's a humble room but very clean, close to everything, and cheap! If you are vacationing at the beach, who cares how lavish the room is. One of he best motel experiences ever because the owners were so unbelievably fabulous. I'll never forget their hospitaliity.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theowreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed he overnight on our way to Buxton, NC. This is a wonderful little hotel and quite comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geri1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Visited Ocracoke in August and had a very nice stay at the Sand Dollar. We had a 2 BR room, ir was small but had a private bath and a good working AC. Room was clean and the manager is a nice guy. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amissville, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

I have stayed here several years in October . Clean rooms friendly staff. A small fridge and micro wave in the room .All I need for a week of fishing , The price was right . Seems to attract other f fishermen too so you can exchange fishing stories. There is a fish cleaning station out back past the pool . I am sure I will keep coming back for years to come.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fish_oinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Got into orcacoke late and coordinated with the staff to pick up keys. Room was small but clean. The room we had was beach themed with wood panel walls. Sort of dated but it was clean (cannot stress now important it is for a place to be clean) Bathroom was recently remodelled. Great stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrscuriousity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia pa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Needed a reasonbly priced, clean and comfortable room for one night on Ocracoke due to an early ferry ride in the morning at the end of our vacation in Hatteras.

So we spent the day in Ocracoke visiting small shops and eating.

The motel itself is well maintained and managed. It is a small familty operated business that happens to be on the market. The room was clean, bathroom spotless and the grounds themselves were also well maintained. It is two blocks off of Highway 12, which is a plus. As anyone that has been to the island knows this is the main thoroughfare through town.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfarina8150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
28.3 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
29.4 km away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
28.1 km away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices

Been to Sand Dollar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dollar Motel

Property: Sand Dollar Motel
Address: 70 Sand Dollar Rd., Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Sand Dollar Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing