We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jusy excellent 👌”
Review of Salirosso

Salirosso
Reserve with
Salirosso is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 449 Restaurants in Trapani
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$45
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: When we started to work on the SALIROSSO project,t many people thought we were naіve adventurers, like Don Quixote or Garibaldi... maybe also fools. Those who know us better asked us: 'Why this insanity, why open a restaurant in a moment of crisis, when dozens of Sicilian companies are closing down?' And we replied: 'Because the art of cooking "alla Trapanese" is culture, eating "alla Trapanese" is culture, the products of our land and sea are culture, because our wines and now also our beers are culture... and only our culture can save us Sicilians'. 'So you are going to do traditional Trapani cooking?' 'Yes...no, well... we are also going to do traditional Trapani and Sicilian cooking, but we want to do more, we want to cook "alla Trapanese". And we also want to cook "alla Trapanese" what is not from Trapani, what we have eaten around the Mediterranean, food which was unknown to us but which we felt was close to us. We want to be guided by the smells of the market, by the wind, by the Trapani sunsets which are mirrored in the salt pans...' 'Then go ahead guys, go like a train that nobody can stop. You are truly mad, but mad people are also lucky'. It may be so, let's hope so. We know we wanted to satisfy a passion, our passion for good food and good wine, for the traditional Trapani cooking, for our food culture, our passion for hospitality. We wanted to create something which there was not in Trapani yet: an elegant restaurant which smells of home, where children take precedence also on Saturday nights, where you pay only what you eat and drink - therefore no cover or service charge at Salirosso - a restaurant that does not offer you dubious tonic liquors once you have finished your meal but a list of hard liquors selected among the best offered by world distillation. At this restaurant a wine list made up of only Sicilian wines from native grape varieties, a list of beers selected among the best Sicilian and European craft beers and a water list are available. By way of summary, Salirosso was created so that we could have fun letting our guests having fun: what is better than fascinating and satisfying with a dish cooked with love and respectfully served with the right wine?
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

I took a beef with roast potato and it was really good and delicious. Excellent service and good environment

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank Juan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 802 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2017

Very delicious and fresh fish of the day.The hosts were very kind with us.This is the best traditionall and elegant restaurant in town,nice selection of wine and the desserts was also amazing.The plates are goods as they look.Bravo!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank justine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2017 via mobile

Amazing food, wines and hospitality!
Not easy to find, worth every step.
Plan at least two evenings here. Modern Italian cooking, bit Ottolenghi-like.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank WaWi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

Having read a few of the previous reviews on Trip Adviser we booked last minute a meal for two on Friday evening.

The restaurant was easy to find amongst the narrow lanes of old Trapani and the waiting staff friendly and welcoming and spoke a reasonable level of English (our Italiano being quite basic).

As if was early (8:30pm) the restaurant was not busy but more diners followed us and I noted there was further dining space available at the rest of the restaurant.

Menu was mostly fish based (which I adore) with veal choices and wild boar special of the day alternative for meat lovers.

I chose the sardine appetiser which was very unusual - the fish balls presented in a 00 flour batter with pine nuts soft raisins and gentle spice, all very tasty. My partner had the salsito with figs and pine nuts which he loved.

For mains I chose the swordfish steak layered on aubergine spinach with prawns and a Trapanese tomato sauce - the best presentation of swordfish I have had here in Sicily (and I have tried many). Wild boar for the man in my life he declared it delicious.

We selected a red wine to accompany our meal an Etna Rosso recommended, not too heavy but with a lovely nose and flavour of berries.

We loved that the maitre 'd was obviously very knowledgeable and passionate about the menu, he described the dishes extensively and separate ingredients were all listed in the menu for those with allergens or food intolerances.

After a small break we ordered desserts mine a hot cool pistachio affair very nice, although I tasted my partner's chocolate and pistachio slice and like that even better!

Our bill came to approx €96 which for the quality of food, the excellent wine, the originality of the menu selection and overall experience was very appropriate and we were happy to pay.

If you visit, check out the original art work from a Palermo artist displayed on all the walls adding to the quality ambience of this lovely Sicilian restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank gillypalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2016

This was our first visit to Trapani. We made reservations for Salirosso on the basis of TA's reviews and finding the restaurant on The Fork website.

The restaurant is housed in a fairly elegant building and service provided by who we assumed to be the owner was friendly welcome and good. The restaurant has an extensive wine list and the Sicilian red wine (a blend of Syrah and Nero d'Avola) we chose was very good. But, the food was disappointing. We chose tuna and figs and octopus for our starters. Both were stewed, neither was freshly cooked, just warmed up, and in consequence pretty tasteless. Secondi were better: freshly cooked and tasty, but both came with too much stew that detracted from, respectively, the freshly cooked and tasty swordfish, prawns, and Parmigiano, and the veal and chestnuts. I suspect the latter was also not cooked in olive oil so was a tad greasy. For dolci, we chose the pretty ordinary hot/cool pistachio, which came in a wine glass - which a tad naff. Fresh fruit would have been a better choice.

Unfortunately, then, I cannot recommend Salirosso. I cannot help thinking if this is #9 in Trapani, I cannot think what the lower scored outlets are like. Tonight, we'll try Al Vicoletto, which is #2.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salirosso also viewed

Trapani, Province of Trapani
Trapani, Province of Trapani
 
Trapani, Province of Trapani
Trapani, Province of Trapani
 
Trapani, Province of Trapani
Trapani, Province of Trapani
 

Been to Salirosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing