We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, by the beach and in the middle of the clubs and bars.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Flamingo
Ranked #31 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The review title just about sums this hotel up, if you want a cheap hotel in the middle of the clubs and bars that's close to the beach (about 200m) then this probably is okay. If you aren't prepared to put up with the noise, groups of drunk people and general chaos that goes with this sort of territory then you'll hate it. We paid €24 a night each for twin rooms, it was in the newly renovated part of the hotel, everything was clean tidy, the aircon worked and we got what we paid for. At this price it was decent value, yes the staff are hassled and don't greet you in the same way as they do in a small city boutique hotel, but if you want a chic city break then you should go to Barcelona not Lloret de Mar! I can understand people hating it here though, it's not really a family hotel or a couples retreat, the average age of the guests is about 25 and the breakfast was pretty ropey. The staff spoke enough English to get by but if you want a hotel that caters for a mainly English crowd then you might want to look elsewhere as most of the guests here are German, we didn't find it a problem at all though.

All in all I was pretty happy with what we got, it did everything that we needed it for. It's a cheap hotel in a rowdy part of the town, you might see that as either good or bad depending on what you want from your holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GolfTango1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2011

Going to this hotel me and my friend were nervous because of the previous reviews. However, we found this hotel good for our money. You buy a budget holiday, you get a budget holiday! The room is cleaned every day, the reception staff are friendly. The food is edible but predicatable. We did find though that Lloret de Mar is mainly filled with german tourists however most people speak english. It is a little noisey due to it being on a main road with major clubs, not really suitable for a family or if you are looking for a relaxation holiday. The beach is stoney so wear sandals. The weather was great :) Good holiday overall.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tami026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Me and my fiance stayed here for a week the beggining of june in the frigola hotel, were both 27, after reading these reviews before we left I was a bit nervous about it so ill try and give my review of what I thought.

our first impression when we got off our coach was its smack on the middle of things, literally its on top of a club and restaurants on both sides, good or bad point depending on who you are, inside the hotel the lobby is pretty nice, its big clean and has a bar and pool tables, theres a couple of pools and they do get sun most of the day even though some reviews say they dont, checkin was pretty smooth, got our key, had to give over our passports but it was explained why so no problem with that, then we went to our rooms.

The room was clean, very basic but what do you expect for the price? Our double bed was two singles pushed together, one plug point in the bathroom, again no real problem with that, the balcony was big enough to sit out on but ill get to that later.

The rooms get cleaned daily so was happy with that, they seemed to come round about 11 and if we were in we made it known we were in and they came back later.

Now our biggest biggest problem with this hotel is the noise, wow is all we could say, there was literally groups of about 50+ school leavers and they take over every balcony, every sunbed, and literally all they seemed to do was scream, shout, and scream more, and thats from about 1 in the afternoon till 6 in the morning, we were the only english in the hotel so if you get intimidated by huge groups of germans russians and french think about this, my fiance didnt llike sitting on the balcony as she got shouted at and ice cubes thrown at her, when I intervened I got verbal abuse so it was best to try and ignore them after all big groups of drunk foreigners arent my idea of a fair fight! Anyway we came prepared with ear plugs and we got good ones so we actually slept fine just come prepared! One thing I will say is we felt sorry for anyone whos balcony that was facing the clubs rather than the pool like us.

overall the hotel was ok, fine for what we needed, just a bed, clean, comfortable, just very noicy and a tad intimidating for english.

but lloret is a real nice place, 2 amazing walks, amazing scenery, 2 minutes away from the main streets it gets quiet and some lovely restaurants and cocktail bars, especially loco beach, great place great staff.

Hope this helps anyone staying at frigola or flamingo hotel

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank smscard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I went to lloret de mar with my friends to party and have a nice week. I'll make a summary with different guidelines. Here's my review:

Hotel - The hotel is very nice and clean. There's a big hall with videogames, machines you can get water and soda from, a pool table and a bar. It's a good 3-star hotel with a pool with sunbeds around you can socialize with your friends.

The food - the hotel have a buffet and you can buy so you get breakfeast, lunch and dinner. The food is not really good, but it's not bad at the same time. It's pretty boring but if you do not want to spend all your money on expencive restaurant you can eat at the hotel. The food contains much carbohydrates (not much meat, a lot of it is pasta, fries and potatoes) and in my culture we don't boil meat which they do in spain and that is not a type of meat I recommend. The fries and the burgers are good and the chicken is also good. The bad thing about the Full Board is that you have to buy drinks. Drinks are only included in the breakfast which is the best meal of the day at the hotel.

The rooms - almost every room have a nice balcony with a table and 2-3 chairs. The beds are pretty comfortable and the bathroom is very nice. It has bathtub, shower and clean toilets. There are several plugs in the room, all beds has a plug close to it. The best thing about the rooms is that they get cleaned and the beds are getting fixed every day.

Location - The hotel is located a short distance from the beach. It takes about 2-3 minutes to walk to the beach and there's a lot of party places around the flamingo hotel and there are pizza slice shops that makes very good pizza which I highly recommend.

The beach - The beach is filled with pebbles so you need to have shoes if you have sensitive feet or you can just walk.... The water is very nice but very salty. Burger King is close to the beach which is positive since everyone likes burger king. (woho!)

In lloret there's a lot to do. Except for party you can do parasailing, drive jetskis or go to boat trips. We stayed at Flamingo hotel for one week and I DO NOT recommend this hotel for families. There's a lot of sound on the night and many people come home late after a night of party. If you're looking for party, sun and meeting other youngsters - this is the place to go to!

Room Tip: first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Partypartyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Me and my mate went to Lloret and stayed at the Flamingo Hotel thought we were staying in Frigola but theres 2 hotels together if you get me!

We loved it. Loved Lloret more its a lovely part of Spain, Great for all ages. Great nightlife, great shops and lovely little bars.

Beach was no good though as the sand is stones! The weather wasnt very good at the end of September when we went but we didnt mind! The hotel is so central and close to everything you need you will never go hungry as burger king and mcdonalds are at the end of the road! We found a lovely little resteraunt called the Orient Express where we went for lunch most days. Scouse waitresses made it even better! Just like being back at home!

The food in the hotel wasnt amazing but what do you expect for such a cheap holiday! They had soup and pasta and salad and stuff and ice cream and cakes for dessert.

The hotel was quite noisy at night people running round and shouting and stuff but when you drank as much as we did you could fall asleep with a hurricane going on!

Would reccomend young girls or lads hols and great location and cheap!

Going back in September for cheap week with the girls and im sure it will be just as brilliant but will let you know! xx

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah_Chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

This is a great hotel if you have limited funds. We found the hotel to be clean with ample facilities for what we needed. It's a great distance to the beach. The food is awful though, that really was the low point. The reviews are a little harsh on this hotel, it is not a 5* hotel but does not claim to be. The staff were helpful and friendly. There are lots of shops and restaurants around and a lot of bars and clubs. This is definately a hotel to pick if you are after a clubbing holiday. All in all, good hotel with great location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A751987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Get your drinks in out side the hotel, unless you are old and rich.
Never been treated so well by the staff as afterwards. How could they tell?

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Langorous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Delamar - ONLY ADULTS
Hotel Delamar - ONLY ADULTS
#1 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
682 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Helios Lloret de Mar
Hotel Helios Lloret de Mar
#37 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
346 reviews
0.7 km away
Alba Seleqtta Hotel
Alba Seleqtta Hotel
#20 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
#14 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
738 reviews
0.4 km away
Cleopatra Spa Hotel
Cleopatra Spa Hotel
#18 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
289 reviews
0.5 km away
URH Hotel Excelsior
URH Hotel Excelsior
#43 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Flamingo

Address: Avinguda de Just Marles 25, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range: $62 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Flamingo 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every season, Gran Hotel Flamingo gets ready to satisfy fun lovers from all around the world who come to visit us each year. It is ideally situated to experience the best of Lloret de Mar, as it is located on the town’s main avenue, only 150 metres from the beach and right in the heart of the shopping and leisure area, where you will find the best clubs in which to enjoy the authentic Lloret de Mar nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Hotel Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Lloret De Mar
Flamingo Lloret De Mar
Flamingo Frigola
Gran Hotel Flamingo Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing