We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, you will not want to leave”
other travellers have booked this property
Putsborough Garden Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Putsborough Garden Cottage
Tennis court Lounge area with folding doors over looking out door alfresco dining, sun terrace and gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Putsborough Garden Cottage
Tennis court
Lounge area with folding doors over looking out door alfresco dining, sun terrace and gardens
Sunny patio with gas bbq
Putsborough Beach 400m
South West Coastal Path runs past the door!
Open plan living by the beach
Putsborough Beach walk from the cottage 400m
Lovely dining area in the open plan living area
Dining with great views!
Entrance hall
Kingsize bedroom with ensuite
Kingsize bedroom with ensuite
Upstairs double and 2 singles with ensuite (sleeps4)
Ensuite to upstairs bedroom
Main bathroom with spa bath
Super kingsize bedroom
Utility and laundry room
The large walled garden.
Putsborough beach with coastal path to Woolacombe
Putsborough Beach just as beautiful in winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Croyde, Braunton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen S
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, you will not want to leave”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Putsborough is a truly beautiful place and this holiday home has everything to ensure your holiday is wonderful. It is just one short walk through a private field to the beach. The property is well equipped and cleaned to a very high standard. It is set in a beautiful garden, one part is secure for our beloved 4 legged friends and is a real bonus that allows you to really relax on the loungers, thoughtfully placed on a raised patio which benefits from the very last inch of sun. The parking is generous, which in this land of camper vans is an advantage. Wonderful, thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secure garden area
Liked least: Minimal satellite channels
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2014
Many thanks for your fantastic review and so glad that you enjoyed your holiday at our fabulous cottage. Look forward to your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strawberr...
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage and location!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My family has been holidaying in North Devon every summer for over 20 years and this cottage is the best place we have ever stayed in! The cottage itself is very well equipped with all the expected modern appliances and an absolutely beautiful garden and outside seating area. The bedrooms are large and comfy, and the three bathrooms are excellent. And it is only a short and very relaxing walk to proabably the best beach in the UK!

John and Claire (the owners) were very welcoming and are nearby if needed. I wiould certainly recommend this property for a great family holiday. We have booked for next year already!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your marvellous review! We are looking forward to your next visit in 2015...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday Rental”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first visit to North Devon and we are so pleased that we chose Garden Cottage. Claire and John were very welcoming and were there if we needed them at any time.
Surrounding area around the cottage is very picturesque and quaint. A beautiful beach which was especially lovely in the evening at sunset. Easy walk to the beach from the cottage.
We visited lots of places, played tennis and enjoyed just lazing around in the garden.
We are all looking forward to returning next year and have booked it already.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Putsborough Garden Cottage. Really glad that you liked it so much and that you have booked another 2 weeks next year. Look forward to seeing you then...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy H
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family home away from home, and much, much more!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Second time for the Hall family at this wonderful bungalow. Plenty of room, fantastic equipment for Mum (and Dad), in a quiet peaceful location but just a stone's throw from wonderful beaches. For once this property really does live up to its website, and more. Ideal place for just two to relax, or as in our case a family of six plus a ten month old baby and large dog. Additionally excellent for a get together with extended family, one of our reasons for renting this property. Local shops good with a very good Tescos just outside Braunton.Would thoroughly recommend this property - we will definitely be back again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and comfort of the bungalow.
Liked least: Not enough outside facilities to cope with rubbish of a large group for a week.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for your great review and it was really lovely to see you all again at Putsborough Garden Cottage, I am sure it wont be long until your next visit and I look forward to that!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masonwes
leicester
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at a wonderful cottage”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This cottage is fantastic, well and truly exceeded our expectations in every way!

In terms of the actual cottage the finish and standard is second to none and only surpassed by a few 5 star hotels that I have stayed in on previous occasions, which gives you an idea as to the level of accommodation.

Whilst I have visited North Devon for holidays over 20 times, I have always stayed in Mortehoe or Woolacombe and until I found this gem I had never dreamt of staying in Putsborough. moving forward I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. The quietness of the location as well as easy access to the beach (5 mins across a field) make it perfect for a quiet relaxing break.

Claire and John who own the property are very friendly and available if you need them, which i'm sure that you won't.

We are already looking forward to coming back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Finish and location of property
Liked least: Wifi signal was not very strong in the lounge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2014
Thanks for your fabulous review of Putsborough Garden Cottage and all the lovely comments you have made. So very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again next year ....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meli331
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We are a family of 5 and love traveling ,but sometimes is not easy with a dog. This is a perfect place as the teenagers played tennis and did surfing in the nearby beaches, the dog loved running around along those huge and beautiful beaches and my husband and I walked and eat and drink in the many lovely places around there.
The house is big, clean , beautiful and of a very high standard and the owner is very nice and helpful.. a beautiful holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2014
Thanks for your really great review, I am sure others will find your comments very helpful.. hope to see you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claret_an...
midlands
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage....lovely location”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have just returned from a short family break Monday to Friday.
The cottage was beautiful...well equipped, all the amenities you would expect, plus the added bonus of sky and wi-fi.
The private cottage gardens were immaculately tended with out door seating, barbeque and loungers... the only regret is we forgot to pack our tennis racquets as we forgot all about the tennis court (will definitely bring them next time).
The location of the cottage is ideal, rural views, yet a short walk across the sheep field to Putsborough beach.
Out and about, Croyde Bay is just down the road, Putsborough Beach walking distance (we walked along it one day into Woolacombe and back) and all the local touristy places like Ilfracombe, Clovelly etc within easy driving distance.
During our stay we ate out at the Blue Groove in Croyde Bay on our first morning for breakfast, and also The Thatch pub one afternoon, both of which were enjoyable.....but the best meal of the week was at the Kings Arms in Georgham which was recommended by the cottage owners, more comfortable and relaxed than the other eateries with a real log fire to boot and a more varied menu. Approx £8 each way in a taxi, (So as could all have a drink or 3) Tip though if you are going the Kings Arms, it is advisable to book, as on a Thursday night it was full (Locals as well as holiday maker).
Also whilst there we tried Clay Pigeon Shooting at South West Shooting School, booked as a surprise birthday present, although a little apprehensive as it was something I had not done before, the man who ran it, Ian, was brilliant, actually hit 15 out of 25 clays.
A really nice break.....great cottage and location......will definately book again when next down that way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage....gardens....location...
Liked least: The end of the holiday....
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2014
Wow ... what a great review!! Thank you so much and of course it is always so pleasing to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us so much :) I do hope that we see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing