We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great memories - Fantastic weekend break!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Croyde, Braunton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura J
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great memories - Fantastic weekend break!”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My friend's parents booked a long weekend at Bay Cottage for her, as a surprise for her Wedding anniversary, to take her husband and a group of 6 friends (8 of us altogether). The house is very child friendly with games & highchair etc, but we decided to enjoy a child free weekend so left the bambinos at home. The house was very easy to find, and we were given clear instructions on how to access the key for the house. The house was beautifully decorated (with a coastal theme of course) and very clean. There are 2 bedrooms on ground floor with 1 bathroom, and 2 bedrooms upstairs with 1 ensuite bathroom. Lounge was comfortable and cosy and kitchen a good size for us all. The location is fantastic, 1-2 min walk from The Thatch pub, 10-15 walk to beach. We were there for 3 nights, we ate at the pub the first night (great food), had a BBQ the second night (BBQ and all kitchen equipment/tools/plates/cutlery etc included), & fish and chips takeaway the 3rd night.
On the second day we drove to Braunton and hired bikes to cycle the Tarka Trail to Barnstaple. We highly recommend it, it was so much fun. The cycle hire shop offered tandems, we couldn't resist!
On one evening, because we're big children at heart, we played Hide & Seek in the house. I've never laughed so much in my life, at the sight of 20-something adults squashed in a wardrobe and under the bed!
The beds were very comfy, the house was the perfect temperature, and the showers were easy to use. We never ran out of hot water even though there were 8 of us.
We spent a day at the beach and built sandcastles and paddled in the sea, something i haven't done since i was little.
Overall, some great memories were made. i would definitely return to this house, and will recommend it to everyone.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for this glowing review of Bay Cottage. It is a pleasure to read the wonderful memories created here. We are so pleased you found the accommodation to be perfect for your party and we do look forward to welcoming you all back to Ocean Cottages soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautifully cosy well kept cottage with all the home comforts and conveniences you could want. Our family age ranged from 7-months to 85 years, (6 adults and 2 babies) and we all had a lovely time and we definitely would highly recommend both this cottage and the level of service we experienced from Ocean Cottages.

We will be arranging another family get together again soon and yes we will be choosing to stay with Ocean Cottages again for our second time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality and comfort of all the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words about Ocean Cottages and Bay Cottage. We are pleased to hear that the home suited the needs of all of your party and we really do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knoble126...
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect New Year Getaway”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a really fab stay at Bay Cottage, it is in a great location in the centre of Croyde just 100 yards from The Thatch Pub (big thumbs up on NYE) and all the shops and amenities of Croyde village. The cottage itself was really lovely, light and bright decor, well furnished, and handy for children with lots of toys and books and room to play. The only slight downside is the worry of a carpet under the dining table when you have 4 children in tow! We really couldn’t fault it at all. We also made use of the pool at Ruda a few times, thought fairly small the kids really loved it, especially the lazy river and tunnel slide. A great place in a great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2015
Thank you very much for this lovely review. We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your holiday at Bay Cottage, and that your children had lots of fun using the toys and books provided. We are pleased that you enjoyed the local swimming facilities and had a wonderful New Year's Eve at The Thatch. We hope to welcome you back to Ocean Cottages soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emma c
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Bay Cottage over New Year. We were a party of 2 families with young children. The house is very well furnished with a fully equipped kitchen, toys/ books for the children and plenty of space for 2 families to enjoy. Bay cottage is in a fabulous location: very close to the beach, local shops and pubs! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend it to others........ we will be back!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Bay Cottage. We offer great rates during off peak periods on all of our properties and some super last minute deals, just visit our website. We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you, The Ocean Cottages Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine1...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic place to stay, loads of toys for the children, books for the adults, well equipped kitchen, comfortable seating in the lounge and the beds were very comfortable and on top of all this easy access to the beach. The week flew by and non of us wanted to leave. The photographs in the advert for this property does not do it justice it is so much better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2012
Hi There,

We are very glad that you had a good holiday and were pleased with the house, we very much hope you will return to Croyde in the future.

Kind Regards
Ocean Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 11, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and high standard of accommodation
Liked least: no visitors book to find hints or tips or leave comments
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Sep 2012
Hi There,

Thank You for your lovely review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the house! We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay cottage in the future!

Kind Regards
Ocean Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 13, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything it was beyond perfect
Liked least: the downstairs bedroom does need curtaions or black out blinds as its too light in there.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jul 2012
Hi There,

We are very pleased that you had a good stay at Bay Cottage and that everything was satisfactory for you and your family, thank you for the lovely review! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Ocean Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing