We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Iconic Thatch - best place in Croyde” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thatch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Thatch
Ranked #6 of 23 Croyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
norfolk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Iconic Thatch - best place in Croyde”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

No it doesnt need a new carpet, and NO the prices are good for food. The Thatch is iconic and has been visited by many famous people including Robbie Williams.

We go every year and try and stay in the Thatch because it has just a great atmosphere and takes you somewhere different. It has a 'Hard Rock Cafe / Down the Local' feel about it. Lovely deep bars with live bands and loads of Chelsea-set-come-surfer wannabys all pretending theyve caught the biggest wave that day.

The rooms are great and if youre lucky, like we were you get a view over the front and can catch the atmosphere even when you are kipping.

The food is great, and I love the morning Fry Ups that keep you going all day long chap.

The only problem is there is nowhere to put/wash the wetsuits - so we just left ours on the bonnet of the car to dry out.

The Thatch is deffo 5 star quality and I would recommend to anyone.

Staff are magic - and work far to hard.

Love you Thatch

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J4mesbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    55
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
57
56
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

I love The Thatch. It is not 5 star luxury but it isn't meant to be. I travel down to Croyde 20-25x per year to surf. I stay mainly at The Thatch in the bunk bed room. I love it!!!

Food is great and atmosphere even better. I have been staying here for 6.5 years and it's always been great.

Staff do change alot which is a little annoying because you do get recognised and this makes you feel part of the scene in Croyde. In fact I've never been anywhere where the staff turn over is so bad.

I was unhappy about the old box T.V's they used to have in the rooms and once stayed when the remote was missing. I complained and then stayed three weeks later to find a nice flat screen t.v. That is great customer care.

The only criitism I would say is how much they vary the room rates throughout the year, charging way too much in the summer, not that I surf much then because of very few good days.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surfsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

We have been coming to Croyde for the past 4 years, one of our party for 10yrs. The Thatch is the first place we want to be. The staff are excellent, the food is plentiful, the atmosphere is exceptional, for a small village you are never made to feel unwelcome in The Thatch. When entertainment is on it's the place to be.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestYorkshireGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed at Billy Budds over the May Bank Holiday as we booked late and this was all that was left. We were in Room 12 (double) which was OK (if a little small) but I don’t think we could have managed more than one night to be honest. There was no shower and you can pretty much hear everything from the pub below so don’t come here for peace and quiet! I seem to recall the music stopping at around midnight on the Sunday. Parking was a bit of a lottery as you battle it out with the pub goers but I imagine out of season it would be a lot easier. We only had breakfast, which was nice and plentiful, and they were able to serve this earlier than advertised which was appreciated as my partner had an early horse ride booked out of town. Staff were friendly and helpful. Fine for a night and a base to explore Croyde but not one for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PalinJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

Myself and my boyfriend decided to go away for the night, quite last minuet. We booked to stay at The thatch in croyde as were have eaten there many times before and really Love the location, thought we would give the B & B a try.

Check in was lovely, nice polite staff and very efficiant. We were shown to our room (Which i thought was lovely Customer service). Our room was across the road in The Priory. The room was very nice, even the entrance into the Priory building itself was nice. Breakfast was self service for you cereals, Tea and coffee and cooked breakfast was waiter service.
The atomsphear in the Thatch pub of an eveing was brilliant, nice and lively but not out of hand.
Cant wait to return... Thanks to all the staff for making our stay a great one.. One night was just not enough.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amy180789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

My other half and I spent a long weekend in a room at The Thatch's "Priory". The room was excellent - large and well finished, in a contemporary style. However, the double bed was a little small, and it would perhaps be uncomfortable for those over 6 foot.

Croyde is a well located small village, in beautiful Devon countryside. In addition to The Thatch, there are numerous other pubs and restaurants within a short walking distance. We chose not to eat at The Thatch, other than breakfast, which was OK, although the choice on the breakfast buffet was limited: cereal, but no fruit. However, whatever we asked for, the staff were obliging and quick.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12345Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

£10 for 3 slices of cheese, two slices of bread, a pot of chutney & one apple - this was dressed up as a "Special cheese platter" - there was nothing special about it. And it took half an hour to assemble & serve!

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank michebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
1.3 km away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
5.1 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
4.8 km away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.7 km away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
5.1 km away
Europa Park
Europa Park
#10 of 15 in Woolacombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thatch

Property: The Thatch
Address: Croyde, Braunton, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Croyde
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Thatch Hotel Croyde
Thatch Croyde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing