We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
17
4
4
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
4
4
6
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 40 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was very apprehensive about staying here, having read a few negative reviews on here. I can't comment on whether or not they're fair, but I can say that we had a brilliant time. There were six of us in total, and they didn't ask us for a behaviour bond, or object to our large frame tent. We got a warm welcome from one of the owners, who was very smiley all weekend.

The staff were hugely helpful and friendly, and sorted us out with board hire, advice on tide times and board sizes and just generally went out of their way to be accommodating.

The campsite itself is perfectly located for the beach, and is immaculate. We heard people playing music, saw them kicking a ball around or playing frisbee, and no-one came running out to tell them off as seems to have happened to previous reviewers. Yes, it's a fairly quiet little site, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who wants to stay up all night drinking, but it's a brilliant place to go to fall into bed after a full day of surfing.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The campsite is spotless with great views over the bay. It's in a great location - close to the beach and not too far from the town. The staff are also generally polite and helpful.

However, this all counts for nothing as the camp owner is the rudest person you'll ever likely to meet. You may have read the other reviews and thought they were exaggerated. They're not!

He talks to everyone like a piece of dirt and he wonders why visitor numbers are down. This is not just sour grapes, I've had experience of him at his village site but I thought it would be ok this time around as there was only a small group of us. Never again!

This also seemed to be the general consensus of other visitors on the site. The staff don't seem too keen on him either.

Do yourself a favour. There are other sites in Croyde which are much better than this one. You have been warned.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Badger2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best campsite I have stayed in. The campsite is look after very well all ways clean great showers and toilets great staff always around to help . The best thing about campsite no big groups and no kids and great views to the beach and close and easy walk to town and outher shops

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scooby720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Myself & my boyfriend travelled to mitchums beach site via train and bus. The bus stop is just down the road from the campsite and is very reasonably priced.
We arrived at the campsite and were greated by a very helpful young guy who showed us to our pitch and offered some local information. The pitch was rather small, but this didn't bother us. I have noticed in previous reviews that people have mentioned they don't accept tents that you can stand up in, this wasn't an issue and apparently isn't a site rule anymore.
The campsite is a 2 minute walk from the beach and very close to baggy point a lovely national trust walk.
We found the staff very helpful and chatty, we even got to meet the illusive 'guy' who seemed very nice and not confrontational at all! The site was extremely clean and the showers were great.
The only issue we did have was getting to sleep at night, it's constantly bright because of the lights they keep on throughout the night. We were also disturbed by a generator or something that goes off at random intervals in the night. This is on a neighbouring field so isn't something mitchum's themselves can control. Also the holiday parks down the road are quite noisy but it's mostly easy to ignore and obviously won't be a problem during off peak times.
Croyde and the beach are lovely and woolacombe is only a 5 mile walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daisyebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2013

A group of friends and I spent a weekend here to enjoy the surfing in the area last year on the may bank holiday (not july as stated in the date), the location was perfect and the cleanliness of the site was verry good.

Unfortunately this was over shadowed by the awfull attitude of the owner of the site, who left a sum what bitter taste in all of out mouths.

we were made to pay a 'behaviour bond' of £180 betwene the 6 of us that we had not been previously aware of, an told that if it was not payed we were "welcome to leave the camp immediately" allthough we did get this money back it was not the point, nobody should have to pay £180 without prior agnolegement!

On one ocation our tent pegs had crossed the line of our pitch, instead of making us aware of this, the owner simpley removed them and only gave them back when asked about the issue, and stated that "it must not happen again, you have your allocated pithch and that is it!"

Even the summer staff at the site would look emabarised and apologise for the owners actions.

All in all I certanly will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marcsmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews