We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ruined by owners terrible attitute”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mitchum's Campsites
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Great location, but goodness the person/owner running the site has an absolutely disgusting attitude. He really treated us like rubbish. We left early and checked into surfers paradise. A far superior service. Find another campsite in croyde, plenty of them and all friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

I was very apprehensive about staying here, having read a few negative reviews on here. I can't comment on whether or not they're fair, but I can say that we had a brilliant time. There were six of us in total, and they didn't ask us for a behaviour bond, or object to our large frame tent. We got a warm welcome from one of the owners, who was very smiley all weekend.

The staff were hugely helpful and friendly, and sorted us out with board hire, advice on tide times and board sizes and just generally went out of their way to be accommodating.

The campsite itself is perfectly located for the beach, and is immaculate. We heard people playing music, saw them kicking a ball around or playing frisbee, and no-one came running out to tell them off as seems to have happened to previous reviewers. Yes, it's a fairly quiet little site, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who wants to stay up all night drinking, but it's a brilliant place to go to fall into bed after a full day of surfing.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The campsite is spotless with great views over the bay. It's in a great location - close to the beach and not too far from the town. The staff are also generally polite and helpful.

However, this all counts for nothing as the camp owner is the rudest person you'll ever likely to meet. You may have read the other reviews and thought they were exaggerated. They're not!

He talks to everyone like a piece of dirt and he wonders why visitor numbers are down. This is not just sour grapes, I've had experience of him at his village site but I thought it would be ok this time around as there was only a small group of us. Never again!

This also seemed to be the general consensus of other visitors on the site. The staff don't seem too keen on him either.

Do yourself a favour. There are other sites in Croyde which are much better than this one. You have been warned.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Badger2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best campsite I have stayed in. The campsite is look after very well all ways clean great showers and toilets great staff always around to help . The best thing about campsite no big groups and no kids and great views to the beach and close and easy walk to town and outher shops

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scooby720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Myself & my boyfriend travelled to mitchums beach site via train and bus. The bus stop is just down the road from the campsite and is very reasonably priced.
We arrived at the campsite and were greated by a very helpful young guy who showed us to our pitch and offered some local information. The pitch was rather small, but this didn't bother us. I have noticed in previous reviews that people have mentioned they don't accept tents that you can stand up in, this wasn't an issue and apparently isn't a site rule anymore.
The campsite is a 2 minute walk from the beach and very close to baggy point a lovely national trust walk.
We found the staff very helpful and chatty, we even got to meet the illusive 'guy' who seemed very nice and not confrontational at all! The site was extremely clean and the showers were great.
The only issue we did have was getting to sleep at night, it's constantly bright because of the lights they keep on throughout the night. We were also disturbed by a generator or something that goes off at random intervals in the night. This is on a neighbouring field so isn't something mitchum's themselves can control. Also the holiday parks down the road are quite noisy but it's mostly easy to ignore and obviously won't be a problem during off peak times.
Croyde and the beach are lovely and woolacombe is only a 5 mile walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daisyebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

A group of friends and I spent a weekend here to enjoy the surfing in the area last year on the may bank holiday (not july as stated in the date), the location was perfect and the cleanliness of the site was verry good.

Unfortunately this was over shadowed by the awfull attitude of the owner of the site, who left a sum what bitter taste in all of out mouths.

we were made to pay a 'behaviour bond' of £180 betwene the 6 of us that we had not been previously aware of, an told that if it was not payed we were "welcome to leave the camp immediately" allthough we did get this money back it was not the point, nobody should have to pay £180 without prior agnolegement!

On one ocation our tent pegs had crossed the line of our pitch, instead of making us aware of this, the owner simpley removed them and only gave them back when asked about the issue, and stated that "it must not happen again, you have your allocated pithch and that is it!"

Even the summer staff at the site would look emabarised and apologise for the owners actions.

All in all I certanly will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marcsmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I have been staying on the Mitchum's campsites for 10 years now, we visit at least once every year for a week or a weekend.

We are a mid-30s couple and have been surfing for 10 years. Our priorities when we go surfing are to be able to walk to the sea (15 min from the village campsite, 30 seconds from the beach campsite), to get a good nights sleep so we can surf again the next day, for clean facilities with HOT showers, and to be near some good pubs / places to eat and hang out. Mitchums is perfect for us in all these respects. And Croyde is a beautiful, picturesque village to stay in with almost consistently good surf.

This is the perfect campsite for surfers and couples who want some peace and quiet when they come back to the site, especially at night. It's not a party campsite – there are plenty of other options in the area if you're a bigger group wanting that on the site rather than in the pub.

We've known the team (Guy & Claire) for 10 years now and wouldn't stay elsewhere in Croyde because they have always looked after us so well!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Croyde hotels
0.8 km away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
1.2 km away
Combas Farm
Combas Farm
#1 of 22 in Croyde
153 reviews
0.3 km away
Freshwell Camping
Freshwell Camping
#6 of 10 in Croyde
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitchum's Campsites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchum's Campsites

Address: Moor Lane, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Croyde
Also Known As:
Mitchum`s Campsites Hotel Croyde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing