We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just fishing!”
Review of King Ash Bay Lodge

King Ash Bay Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borroloola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King Ash Bay Lodge
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stopped into King Ash Bay after seeing it on a 4wd touring show. We don't mind fishing but on this trip didn't have a single rod with us. But we stayed 3 nights and absolutely loved it.

We camped in the unpowered section on 'Genny's Flat' which is very spacious. You can be as close or as secluded as you like. We had fantastic views over the water. It is safe from crocs due to the steep embankment.

There is a real community feel, even for a tourist we felt most welcome. Prices are very reasonable, at $22 a night for 2 people. The ammenities were top notch and there is a laundry too.

Groper's Bar and Grill is an awesome outdoor bar featuring great meals, atmosphere and the footy on weekends. It's a good place to compare the daily catch, or the ones that got away! We simply enjoyed the company of others that we met and the laid back lifestyle and feel of the club.

Good fuel available and a decent General store. Highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Absolutely loved the three days we spent here. Camping grounds were very good with heaps of options, Have a good look around before you choose your camp site to get the best spot for your needs. Mozzies were fierce but it's the top end, comes with the territory !
The important part FISHING! The fishing off the bank was amazing we spent one afternoon getting smoked by huge Jew fish that we could just not stop. I was even sight fishing them with soft plastics. Can't wait to get back here one day...

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Caught fish from the bank of the river - had to keep watch for crocs though. The ladies at the Barra bar on pancake day can be a bit nasty if you are slightly left of centre. I copped a death stare when I went for a double dollop of cream aloft the strawberry jam - shan't be doing that again I guess. Another group were almost frog marched back out of the pancake serving area for turning up late - very poor form from a hospitality perspective indeed. So if attending the pancake Sunday you must be on your best behaviour at all times or feel the wrath of these women. Enough focusing on this negative aspect as the place is otherwise brilliant and is a must visit as an outback fishing destination. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

This is an awesome spot, nestled on a pristine waterway in the outback. A Fishermans paradise. There is a few crocs about but not aggressive. The amenities are really clean, the staff are very friendly. The bar opens each night and serves basic but good food. The store is very well stocked.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennifish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Great spot, largely unspoilt, turns into Grey Nomad Central from Mothers Day until around September. Went to pancake cook up on Sunday but was made to feel like a kid back at school with tightly portions rationed out by the ladies and almost scolded when I asked for seconds.
Aside from that It's a great spot located 40k's from Borroloola on the banks of the mighty McArthur river in the wonderful Northern Territory. Birdlife, fishing and crocs were awesome.
Wanted to catch up with some NT people but its been largely taken over by Queenslanders and Victorians so doesn't seem to be much room for the local Territorians which is a shame. Spotted one NT plate at the boat ramp car park full of about 40 cars.

Room Tip: Visit before May, that way you will miss the yearly throng of the Queenslanders, NSW & Vic's...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
6  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Just spent the entire month of August camping on the river side. There is nothing better that waking up in the morning to the river view. This place caters for everyone from campers and caravaners to those who want room accommodation. The area is run by the fishing club and volunteers. The pub/restaurant is open everyday from 5pm for drinks and dinner. Both are reasonably priced with wonderful home style meals served, always with a smile. The fishing is the best there is. If you don't have your own boat, you can hire one or go on a fishing charter.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015 via mobile

What a great place if you like fishing. Camp sites are very dusty but very spread out. Staff are very friendly except the ladies in the Barra bar. Couldn't even cook some pancakes for the kids on free pancake Sunday because we showed up at 9am instead of 8am even though a time was not mentioned on any notice. Poor form ladies and you tried to make us feel like we did something wrong. Apart from that place is great even better if you have a boat, but if not you can hire one for $250 the whole day. Take a drive to bing bong for a fish in the channel flat head, bream and queen fish were caught while we were there.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank dbloem73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to King Ash Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Ash Bay Lodge

Address: Batten Point Road | King Ash Bay, Borroloola, Northern Territory, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Borroloola
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Borroloola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing