We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
8
3
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
3
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishing clubgreat spotcrocsfuelcampgroundcamping4wdsitesamenities
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 13 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely loved the three days we spent here. Camping grounds were very good with heaps of options, Have a good look around before you choose your camp site to get the best spot for your needs. Mozzies were fierce but it's the top end, comes with the territory !
The important part FISHING! The fishing off the bank was amazing we spent one afternoon getting smoked by huge Jew fish that we could just not stop. I was even sight fishing them with soft plastics. Can't wait to get back here one day...

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Caught fish from the bank of the river - had to keep watch for crocs though. The ladies at the Barra bar on pancake day can be a bit nasty if you are slightly left of centre. I copped a death stare when I went for a double dollop of cream aloft the strawberry jam - shan't be doing that again I guess. Another group were almost frog marched back out of the pancake serving area for turning up late - very poor form from a hospitality perspective indeed. So if attending the pancake Sunday you must be on your best behaviour at all times or feel the wrath of these women. Enough focusing on this negative aspect as the place is otherwise brilliant and is a must visit as an outback fishing destination. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

This is an awesome spot, nestled on a pristine waterway in the outback. A Fishermans paradise. There is a few crocs about but not aggressive. The amenities are really clean, the staff are very friendly. The bar opens each night and serves basic but good food. The store is very well stocked.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennifish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2016

Great spot, largely unspoilt, turns into Grey Nomad Central from Mothers Day until around September. Went to pancake cook up on Sunday but was made to feel like a kid back at school with tightly portions rationed out by the ladies and almost scolded when I asked for seconds.
Aside from that It's a great spot located 40k's from Borroloola on the banks of the mighty McArthur river in the wonderful Northern Territory. Birdlife, fishing and crocs were awesome.
Wanted to catch up with some NT people but its been largely taken over by Queenslanders and Victorians so doesn't seem to be much room for the local Territorians which is a shame. Spotted one NT plate at the boat ramp car park full of about 40 cars.

Room Tip: Visit before May, that way you will miss the yearly throng of the Queenslanders, NSW & Vic's plus the fishing is better then
Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
6  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2015

Just spent the entire month of August camping on the river side. There is nothing better that waking up in the morning to the river view. This place caters for everyone from campers and caravaners to those who want room accommodation. The area is run by the fishing club and volunteers. The pub/restaurant is open everyday from 5pm for drinks and dinner. Both are reasonably priced with wonderful home style meals served, always with a smile. The fishing is the best there is. If you don't have your own boat, you can hire one or go on a fishing charter.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews