We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic resort and location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plantation Resort at Rainbow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 5 nights with our young family. Units are modern and clean overlooking the beach.
Everything is within walking distance, a great little byo Italian restaurant next door and shops over the road.
Very kid friendly, DVDs and boardgames available from reception for the rainy days. Staff were friendly and helpful with all requests.
The only small complaint I would have is the bed in the main bedroom is a little small as previously mentioned, but I am 6 ft 5 and used to a king size!!
Will return many times I think!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Plantation Resort at Rainbow
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

I stayed here for a few days in November 2011, and was pleasantly surprised with how nice this place was. The staff were really friendly, the rooms were well appointed and spacious and the grounds were immaculate.

The good things->
- great design & decor, reminded me of the Caribbean
- A+ air conditioning
- A+ pool area
- A+ landscaping and plants/trees
- huge rooms
- big sliding doors that open your entire apartment up to the balcony
- really friendly & helpful staff
- excellent kitchen and BBQ on balcony
- board games and dvds available
- across the street from the beach, you can hear the waves crashing
- surf club across the street - great place for an afternoon drink on the deck
- comfy pillows and bedding
- great spot, awesome beach and laid back, relaxing vibe with lots of adventure type activities close by

Not so good things
- no way to play music - they even lock down the TV av sockets so you can't plug in an ipod, it is strange to have no stereo system provided in such a nice apartment
- the tiles in the apt get dangerously slippery when wet - a serious design flaw for a beach resort
- the beds are too small - double or maybe queen size, they should be king size
- not much of a view from lower levels, get a rooftop room if you want ocean views
- not many good food options locally, bring your own if possible
- the sliding doors between the bathroom and bedroom do not work well, so there's not much privacy and they have pointless glass doors to the toilet that bang the glass on tiles loudly when shut - just an annoying design.
- the fridge is behind a wooden door, annoying to open 2 doors to get to it
- no way to lock the doors from the inside, so if you have small children they will escape if they know how to pull down on a door handle!

Overall this place was awesome and I really recommend it. My gripes are minor and did not impact our stay at all really, apart from the smallish beds which made it tough to get a good nights sleep. Get some King sized beds in there and it'll be close the best self contained apartments I have stayed at here in Australia. It is much better than I expected considering it is connected to a pub and I won't be staying anywhere else in Rainbow Beach again.

Room Tip: Get a rooftop room if you want good ocean views. Take your own music player and food.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrySmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My partner and I spent two weekend nights at the Plantation Resort in a two bedroom apartment in October 2011. The resort is located right on the Rainbow beach and next to Rainbow Beach Hotel and opposite of a small shopping complex.

We arrived their around 2 pm and checked in at our apartment. The lock system was broken in our apartment. The reception lady was very helpful and moved us to another apartment as soon as I reported the problem. We moved to an apartment closer to Rainbow Beach Hotel, and we were worried about late night party noise. But, we did not hear any noise and had a sound sleep.

Everything in the apartment was sparkling clean and all amenities provided. The Jacuzzi was awesome. Also had gas BBQ in the veranda. You can rent DVDs for a gold coin donation from the reception. The resort also had a nice swimming pool.

We were extremely happy with the service and cleanliness of the Resort. Rainbow beach is one of our favourite places and we will be back again at the next available opportunity.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shurid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Myself, partner and sister an her hubby had a fantastic 2 night stay in a 2 bedroon appartment for my birthday. The appartment was spacious and well appointed with all mod cons.The veiws where wonderful. Next time will be for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jud58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Checked in to this delightful resort after reading the reviews. No dissapointment here. Rooftop terrace, clean fully fitted out rooms. Great pool and so warm. The beaches were a delight to walk everyday. Yep we do have the best beaches in the world. Lets not forget the pub meals which were yummy. Thanks for 4 stress free days.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the beach
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed at the plantation for Our 1 year wedding anniversary, I bought a scoopon to use so it was alot cheaper than usual but we were upgraded to a rooftop apartment which was amazing. The rooms were very clean and well equipped, there is nothing I could comPlain about!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miss_mia_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Excellent location with main street on one side and beach the other. Can get a little rowdy with Pub next door but all in all a top place to stay. Whilst pub can a little noisy I was glad it was just next door. Great meals and a top spot to grab a coldie.
All in all I would recommend for families and couples looking for a special getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for beach front as they are away from pub and better views.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rainbow Beach hotels
0.9 km away
Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort
Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort
#4 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
185 reviews
0.6 km away
Debbies Place
Debbies Place
#1 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
422 reviews
0.6 km away
Rainbow Getaway Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Rainbow Beach Resort
Rainbow Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
113 reviews
0.2 km away
Rainbow Sea Resort
Rainbow Sea Resort
#8 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
63 reviews
0.3 km away
Pippies Beachhouse
Pippies Beachhouse
#6 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Resort at Rainbow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Resort at Rainbow

Address: 1 Rainbow Beach Rd, Rainbow Beach, Queensland 4581, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Rainbow Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Rainbow Beach
Price Range: $230 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Plantation Resort at Rainbow 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think Luxury.... Think the Plantation Resort at Rainbow. The perfect place to unwind and relax – the Plantation Resort at Rainbow is a boutique resort making us the perfect destination for a holiday or business conference. Luxuriously furnished apartments, fully self contained – choose from 1, 2 or 3 bedroom apartments all with balcony and terrace apartments with rooftop bbq area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plantation Resort at Rainbow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing