We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visitors not wanted today”

Saltram Cellar Door
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Angaston
Price range: US$25 - US$40
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: No history of the Barossa Valley or Australian wine industry is complete without the mention of Saltram. Saltram has celebrated the tradition and heritage behind the Barossa Valley, making flagship red wines of great style and taste.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Today we drove from Adelaide to Saltram with the plan to enjoy the advertised daily 11 o'clock cellar door tour and lunch with our guest from the UK. After a long drive we arrived at 11:03 and asked if we were too late to join the tour - the women behind the counter was rude and unhelpful, told us there was no tour today and to come back tomorrow. There we were with $120 in our hand, the only car in the car park and the only people in the facility - I am not sure that they wanted visitors today - perhaps ring ahead to see if they are running their advertised daily tour if you are planning on participating

Thank lost2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salters R, Manager at Saltram Cellar Door, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Firstly, we’d like to sincerely apologise that you did not have a great experience at our cellar door and we could not accommodate you on the day. We do run this tour daily and would like for you to contact our cellar door directly so we can make amends with you the next time you’re in the Barossa - cellardoor@saltramwines.com.au.

Secondly, you were right and have made us realise that our website was not clear about the need to book in advance, so we are revising our communication to reflect this.

Your feedback has been very valuable and we thank you for taking the time to let us know.

Kind Regards,
The Saltram Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 235 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2018

This was the best meal we have had at a restaurant for a long time. I had the rib eye cooked to perfection and my wife had the whiting with potato salad which she is still raving about. This followed a charcuterie platter with an interesting selection of local produce. It was also washed down with a pleasant Pepperjack Shiraz.
The restaurant was very busy on a Saturday lunch and this all seemed to be handled professionally by the staff.
A most enjoyable experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janet31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salters R, Manager at Saltram Cellar Door, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Hi,

Thank you for your glowing review of our menu, we will pass this onto our kitchen staff as they will be thrilled to hear it. Easter is always a busy weekend at cellar door and we're glad to hear that our staff looked after you so well. We hope you come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Wine tasting was good fun and great variety. we also had lunch and shared a pizza some chips and has dessert. The good was great and plenty to share for two people with a dessert each

Thank Jess l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salters R, Manager at Saltram Cellar Door, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Hi Jess

Thanks for your lovely review of our cellar door and restaurant. Glad to hear you had fun tasting our wide variety of wines and also that your found our restaurant servings to be generous. We hope you come back for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018

We basically picked this winery for lunch, after tasting a couple of whites settled on the Italian variety.
To us this is just a up market cafe, Paper tablecloths same for the napkins , and slow service whilst 3 females trying to sort out the till, yes they looked at us but so intent at what they where doing , 20 minutes later we had some attention. Food was reasonable Deserts ??? Help yourself from the desert cabinet.No way. Saving grace was the wine.
Should have gone to YALUMBA it was a toss up there or here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank noosasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salters R, Manager at Saltram Cellar Door, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We read all of our customer reviews and will be discussing your comments as a team. It’s incredibly important to us that everyone who steps through our door feels welcome and looked after. Thank you for letting us know about your experience.

Thanks,
The Saltram team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018 via mobile

This was our first visit of the day, it has such a lovely location and we thought we may return for lunch. We checked the menu in the restaurant first, promptly told that they were only offering cake and coffee at that stage, we had said we were looking for lunch later, and then directed to the tasting/cellar door. On perusing the list of wines we could taste, we decided they didn’t match what we wanted, left and no we didn’t return for lunch.

1  Thank Judave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saltram Cellar Door also viewed

Angaston, Barossa Valley
Angaston, Barossa Valley
 
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 
Rowland Flat, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Saltram Cellar Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing