We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
45
58
14
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
58
14
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country pub clare valley front bar pub food old world charm old style hotel building wine list by the glass calamari hand basin country hospitality gourmet weekend main building riesling trail long weekend an overnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 136 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2018

We visited for a Sunday lunch. Staff were friendly and helpful. The food was amazing, fish and chips special tasted like it was straight from the sea. The wine list is great, featuring many local Clare Valley wines by the glass or bottle. We will keep coming back here for meals, highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2018

Visiting the Clare valley to stock up on wine. Wanted a one stop place for the evening where we could relax and unwind with a few drinks and a meal, then walk to bed no driving.
Jagged a beautiful breezy evening to sit out on the verandah and watch the world go by. Hosts were excellent,and very friendly. Drinks were cold, and food was perfect.
Accommodation in Mews was rustic and basic(small),but very nice thanks to a modern AC unit.
Everything we’d hoped for in our overnight stay.
Relaxed, friendly front bar banter,and excellent food.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank brauluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2018

Very welcoming owners and staff. Comfortable if quaint accommodation in lovely little town. Little bit of road noise in front room (mews) but worth staying in this room for the garden area. Good pub food.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mmppd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2018

Our waitress went above and beyond to check that my choices really were Gluten Free. She advised that the chips were cooked with oil used for non-GF food, therefore unsuitable for my needs. She also checked with the chef that the risotto stock was indeed gluten free. The risotto was beautiful, if a little oily. My comments and compliments were conveyed to the chef. My husband loved his calamari. The service was impeccable.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank E8005CRanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2017

Booked an overnight stay on this historic hotel while visiting the Clare Valley wine region. Great little pub with reasonable accommodation. For the place, room price was not bad. Room was clean and serviceable to lay the head down for the evening. Reckon a hand rail in the shower would be helpful for older stayers. The downside was the bed - not the most comfortable and the in room 'continental' breakfast could have done with some decent bread for toast. However, the upside was the owners/staff were obliging and friendly. As evidenced by the numbers in for a feed, the food for dinner was very, very good as well as reasonably priced.

Room tip: Accommodation is off a separate wing with its own service hallway. Rooms basic but clean.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews