We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky little place”
Review of Mr. P's Bistro

Mr. P's Bistro
Ranked #2 of 94 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A longtime Southport institution, one of the top dining spots in town. Low Country-leaning menu. Good wine list
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

Exceptional desserts from kids mint chocolate chip to brownie sundae to strawberry cheesecake. Every was very happy with their selections?

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank kathysF8729EQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 199 of 584 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

Specials change daily although you can't go wrong with something off their menu. Fried green tomatoes are some of the best I've ever had. Specialty peach martini was perfect. Prime rib was excellent. My friend had the Salmon with blue cheese and couldn't stop raving about it.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank babs27514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2016

We are local and have eaten here many times. The decor is underwhelming but any negative ends there. It's hard to go wrong on any selection... We tend to always get the oyster 3/3 app.....crab dip is great....capris salad. ###Note###~~if soft shell crabs are in season....order them...freaking awesome! I tend to lean towards seafood... But have had a great steak too. Listen to the specials before you fall in love with a menu item!
Service is always solid...but they have a few that are top notch!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Foodie4lif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2016

We had the best dinner on our vacation at this restaurant. It's on the pricey side but so worth it. The oyster's on the half shell and Sesame Ahi tuna appetizers were awesome. The Ahi tuna was so good that my kids had an order for dessert, it was that good. Even my 12 year old tried it and loved it. All of our meals, from the filet mignon, salmon, and seafood mix grill dinner were cooked perfect. Our cocktails from the bar were great too. Our waitress was very attentive and personable. Would definitely recommend this place and will definitely go back on our annual visit to Southport, NC.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank renpwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2016

Family owned and operated by multi-generation natives who know how seafood should be prepared and served. Great from Drinks to desserts.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Arthurgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr. P's Bistro also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Mr. P's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing