We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose wisely”
Review of Asheville East KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swannanoa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Asheville East KOA
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Just spent a 4 day weekend there with 6 adults in town for local attractions.
We were fortunate enough to be on the 2 best, biggest, most private, beautiful sites!
Downside to that was the bath house was a very very very very very very long way away! #12 & #13. It would be a great idea if the KOA people are reading this if they drop a couple of porta potties on that side as there are not full hookups and it is quite a hike that was our only downside.
Other than that are experience was awesome the sites were beautiful the lake was pretty all day, Campground was clean and staff was friendly without being intrusive. The rest of the sites were teeny-tiny tightly stacked. I would only go back there if I could stay on the same sites.
Bring your tube and your golf cart and you will enjoy the heck out of this place thank you for a wonderful time!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Just217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017

Wife and I checked in on Sunday and we were impressed with the park. On the second day there we were at the pool area I am disabled and use a service dog after spend about an hour there an employee came in and stated we needed to leave the pool deck. I tried to explain the laws with service dogs to the guy he then radioed the office and told whoever that it was a service dog and they said i had to take my dog out of the pool. Due to the pool area being full of people I left. later that evening an front desk employee came to say sorry. I really feel a member of management or the owner should have done this. They need to know ADA service dog laws. we stayed in A-3 by the river. and yes the trains are loud!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jimbrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

We typically stay in KOAs when a state or federal park isn't really an option. This KOA is why. It was overcrowded with way too much to do to call it camping. There were so many toys to rent that it approached an amusement park. Our site was next to a little creek, which was nice.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We had no problems with this KOA except for the train and the noise of the traffic. It is right next to not only a very busy highway, but also a very active train track. My kids loved playing ga-ga ball, and several kids played with them as well. The pool water was so cold the first day no one was in it except for us. The staff was fine. The camp sites are extremely close together. I would never, ever stay there again.

Room Tip: You can't avoid the noise of the train. Even our friends who were father away said it kept them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

We reserved the largest a deluxe patio site. The site was large and easy to get in and out of. The patio was really nice. The whole campground was well kept and seemed to have lots of activities. There were plenty of ducks and geese wandering around the campground. You will hear train whistles at night and in the morning. Definitely will camp there again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We wanted to stay one night in the area to visit Biltmore so we chose this location. It was pretty good. We had a gravel pull through with nice patio and furniture on a nice pad. ( our site was not across the bridge. It was kinda near the RV storage section) Bathroom we saw could definitely be updated but we had our own bathroom so it did not really matter to us. Staff was nice. Kids loved the "gaga" pit ;-). Wifi was good at our site. There was a train nearby, we heard it maybe once before bed. We heard it in the morning as we were packing up so it did not bother us :-)

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We made a last minute decision to go to the Blue Ridge Parkway for Memorial Day weekend. Everyplace seemed full but when calling the Asheville East KOA we found space. It was a fortunate phone call. Although the campground was very full our space was comfortable, convenient to the facilities ( bathroom & shower) and was even lakefront. Plenty of space in the site for our teardrop trailer. Water and electric at no additional cost. Our next two days travelling the Blue Ridge was great - quick access to either north or south and easy return to our campsite.

The staff was helpful and the campground had activities for all ages over the whole weekend. This is not a rustic campground you might find in the state forests or state parks. It is well maintained, well laid out and well managed.

I recommend this as a convenient alternative to holtels for those who hve the capability and interest in camping, from tents through the big motorhomes.

Room Tip: Plan ahead for busy summer weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Asheville East KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheville East KOA

Address: 2708 US 70 Hwy, Swannanoa, NC 28778-9126
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Swannanoa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Swannanoa
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Asheville East Koa Hotel Swannanoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing