We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice KOA close to Biltmore”
Review of Asheville East KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swannanoa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Asheville East KOA
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Stayed at this KOA in a tent & was able to get a site right on the lil lake. It was perfect! We were a short walk from the bathrooms / showers and the site was peaceful & very quiet. We had the usual picnic table & fire ring close to us. Ducks & Geese were out & about but it was not a problem. CG is close to a grocery store and a few miles from the Biltmore. Staff was friendly & helpful. They have Row Boats & Paddle Boats for rent (But it would be nice if really should be cleaned off sometimes as there were spiders and ants everywhere on the boats) They had a nice small pool and playground that we used and enjoyed. They also have the usual gift shop with fire logs for sale

Room Tip: Stay On The Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AdventuresByWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

This is a beautiful campground with two lakes and also a river through the middle, and views of the mountains. Grounds are well kept and there are many grassy areas that are mowed. We especially like the wide trails around the lakes that are mowed on the sides -- it was a lovely place to walk our dogs. Roads and sites are gravel, but quite level. We definitely plan on returning to this park. Reserve early as it books up early for the weekends.

Room Tip: Avoid sections A & B for highway noise. In back by lakes is quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Typical KOA park in many ways - fairly close spots and gravel spaces. It is in a nice setting however with both river and lake spots. Good level spots and all utilities worked ok. Good dog walk and several areas for kids. Good amount of shade. Very close and easy access to Asheville.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mart38655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

One of the few places left to stay during the Eclipse. Managed to get Sunday thru Tuesday morning. Didn't expect much as it was a last moment thing to do. Office Staff was nice, so I don't understand the nasty comments previously. Even the outside workers were friendly and helpful. Granted, your space is limited but our tent fit fine with my van. Nice to see Blue Herons at the waterside. Lots of fish in the water, too, as it's mostly catch and release. If push came to shove, I'd book another stay here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank MKurtBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

I would have to second some of the other reviews on this campground regarding their restrooms.
I used once and vowed to not go back, but instead just use facilities in our travel trailer.
We were in site B9, right across from the dog park which wasn't bad. The only thing I would suggest future campers is to bring an outdoor carpet. It rained quite a bit when we were there and it was just grass and much. Would have been better to at least been gravel.
There are some premiums spots that have slabs with outdoor furniture that would have been nice, but they were booked.
Lots of activities for kids including arcade, pool, playground, ping pong, fishing, etc.

Not horrible, but not really a place I would say, "HEY! Let's go back there."

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deelsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

We've been staying here off and on since 1987. According to our history on the KOA App, we've spent over 60 nights here since 2010. I've never had a problem with staff at the office. The "golf cart guys" are always helpful from the time they help you get your rig backed in till you leave. We were on site B-9 with our Shamrock 183 Hybrid this past weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay as usual. As some have said, some sites are a little tight but in our case we are usually kin to our neighbors (in laws) so it don't matter much. Personally I have never found the shower rooms too crowded but I generally use the one in our rv anyway. The store is well stocked if you have forgotten to pack something or you need to make a minor repair on your RV. The train so many folks have complained about is just a train and it blows its whistle like its supposed to and if you take a little side trip to the Swannanoa Valley Museum in Black Mountain you will learn just how important that set of tracks is to the area.
This campground makes for a great base to fan out and explore all the sights that Western North Carolina has to offer from Mt. Mitchell to Cherokee.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

the women in the office are the most hatefull I have ever seen, especially the little older lady that looks like she wouldn't harm a fly,,, she is the worse smart mouth I have everran across no personality at all

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank 627donnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Asheville East KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheville East KOA

Address: 2708 US 70 Hwy, Swannanoa, NC 28778-9126
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Swannanoa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Swannanoa
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Asheville East Koa Hotel Swannanoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing